We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good SERVICE. The Hotel is Good for what you pay.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sierra Lodge

Save Saved
You added Sierra Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sierra Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   43175 Sierra Drive, Hwy 198, Three Rivers, CA 93291   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 6 hotels in Three Rivers
Glendale
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good SERVICE. The Hotel is Good for what you pay.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

The shower worked, had hot water, the conditioner was fine, had a great sleep. You even get breakfast if you want in the lobby. Internet was below average or at least mine was like that, i barely could load tripadviser, it is for free. Close to places for chain rentals.

Room Tip: I booked th. expedia
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    23
    59
    38
    26
    17
See reviews for
51
71
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore area, MD
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Stayed here 2 nights in early October. Here is what I saw as the pros and cons (full review to follow):

PROS: location close to Sequoia National Park; excellent service; mini-fridge; clean room; separate heater in bathroom;

CONS: no place to eat dinner on-site; parking was awkward; continental breakfast not served until 8 AM; external spiral staircase was difficult to navigate with luggage; our room was next to highway (noisy);

We had reserved ahead of time on-line and arrived on a Weds evening around 7:45 PM. The woman at the front desk could not have been more friendly and helpful - checking us in quickly, walking us to our room and pointing out our parking space, giving us helpful information about local eating establishments. The next day we spoke with another employee who was very helpful with directions to the local market and taking our postcards to mail for us. Cannot say enough nice things about the people there.

We headed out to dinner - eating establishments are at least a mile away, but several are located along the main highway and easy to find. Back to the hotel to park and unpack; our parking space was underneath the room, which meant it was covered, which turned out to be nice the next night in the rain, but with a curb along one edge and a column on the other side, I had trouble navigating our on-the-large-side rental car into it. For rooms A-E, a spiral staircase leads up to the balcony that runs across the front of the rooms - it was an experience getting our long duffle bag and other luggage up the spiral staircase. Was even trickier getting down it when it was wet from rain. Other than that, I thought the spiral staircase was quirky in a cute way.

Our room door was a sliding glass door, which I also found quirky and unusual, but not in a bad way. It opened into the main room which contained a double bed, 2 nightstands, small table with 2 chairs, fireplace (I believe you are charged extra if you wish to have a fire, but could have been reading the signs wrong), a dresser with a TV and clock radio located on top and several lamps. There was a small enclave to the side that had a place to hang clothes, a mini-fridge, a coffee maker, and the entrance to the bathroom. The bathroom had a shower stall, sink, counter top with 2 shelves, and a toilet all lined up along one side. On the opposite wall, down near floor level was a heater built into the wall that you could turn on with a timer for 1/2 hour or so - NICE when getting out of the shower. I liked the exposed beams in the main room as they made it feel like a cabin. The concrete block walls in the bathroom took away from that feel and felt utilitarian (institutional). Decor in general was shabby and dated, but hey, we were only here to sleep and I can't see the walls/carpet when it's dark. It was clean, and that is more important to us. We had to unplug a lamp in order to plug in our laptop, and the clock was unplugged with no available outlet to put it in, so in this way the place seemed outdated and in need of an upgrade. There is no cell phone reception here, but free wireless access to the internet is available. Wi-fi worked in our room. There is a pool, but I can't review that because we didn't use it.

We slept OK - it was impossible to get the room completely dark because of the sliding glass door (there are blinds covering it, but they are not the room darkening kind) and there was quite a bit of noise from the highway (rooms A-E are right along the highway, except for a row of palm trees that separate them). But the bed was comfortable, and I wore earplugs.

The next morning, we went to the lobby for the continental breakfast. There were packets of oatmeal with hot water available; danish; mini cinnamon rolls; some fruit; coffee and pink lemonade. There is a small sofa with coffee table and some scattered chairs around the lobby, but most people opted to take their food back to their room to eat it. The 8 AM start time for the breakfast seemed late, but was not too much trouble for us that morning. The next day, however, we wanted an early morning start, so we had to get breakfast on the road.

Overall, we thought the price we paid (about $60 before taxes, etc off-season through Priceline) was a little high for what we got, but it was the cheapest in the area, and we would likely stay here again if we are ever in the area again. We might look into paying a little more for one of the other rooms that is not next to the highway, though.

Room Tip: Rooms A-E are probably their budget rooms, since we tend to go for cheapest, and that's where we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrey, Utah
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We enjoyed our 3-night stay here as it was next to Sequoia and convenient traveling in and out of the park. The room was clean and had a comfortable bed. It is an older property and properly maintained. The staff was very friendly, however we were surprised that they don't unlock the lobby and serve breakfast until 8:00 a.m., which seems a bit late for most travelers wanting to start their day. The in-room Internet service was slow. We were able to take advantage of a seasonal rate and were satisfied with our stay.

Room Tip: Try to get a ground level room as the spiral stairs were difficult with luggage. We were driving ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We booked on the way to Sequoia National Park. We paid $150.00 US plus tax. The hotel's write up seemed good. At registration the woman was very nice. It went downhill after that. The room is very old ---furniture, like they were picked up from people's garbage; the air conditioning was loud; the carpet was worn and not clean, the stove was old- had not seen one like this in decades;it was not pleasant sleeping in the room - it was like staying at the old aunt's who was set in her ways and too old to clean properly...remember I paid $150.00. Breakfast was a joke...packaged oatmeal with a lot of sugar..I asked if they had the one without sugar... she said they had and it is not kept at the breakfast table ...for people with diabetes.translates we do not trust our guests...no milk just coffee-mate..water for tea was warm...the pastry was bought small things..I do not eat those things...Breakfast is too late 8am...By the time we got to the We three restaurant to have a proper breakfast and to get to the park we had lost most of the morning...so there was no benefit to staying at this lousy place. When leaving the area we observed there were some hotel/motels in the area ...I am sure those places would have been better...This place was the worst place I had stayed for my whole trip and it was the most expensive... I would not recommend this place.

Room Tip: Do not bother with this place. Try another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Quirky, inexpensive, clean older motel in excellent location with extremely friendly staff. Covered parking for certain rooms make it motorcycle and car friendly. Free wifi and the place is built like a bunker- solid. Access to our second floor room was via an exterior spiral staircase. The sliding glass door does not filter out the exterior light so it looks like morning in your room all night. Bed was ok, we had brought our own pillows so we slept fine. Coffee and danish provided. Our room had coffee pot and mini fridge.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, TX
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Wow. Okay, I picked this place because it was close to Yosemite and would provide a quick exit for us to get to the park vs. staying somewhere further away. The gamble DID NOT pay off. The place is kitschy, but not in a good way. It is bordering on run down, and at $85 a night in the off season, it is not worth it. Knowing what I know now, I would not have even paid $40 a night for this place. Parking is treacherous (parking lot is small and oddly designed). The rooms are small (like made for little people). Shower is similar to an RV sized shower. The bed ... OMG, the bed was horrendous. It was sinking so bad in the middle that I could barely stand to lay on it. I ended up trying to sleep in one of the chairs at one point during the night, but the chairs in the room were rickety wicker type chairs with vinyl seats. Horribly uncomfortable. There are only like two electrical outlets in the room which are filled with lamps, the wall AC unit, and the TV. You have to unplug something to plug in a charger or laptop. They serve breakfast (pastries and oatmeal) way too late in the morning, especially considering people are trying to get an early start for the park. The town has very little to offer in terms of dining, especially during the off season. Heck, the little grocery store doesn't even open until 10 A.M. on weekends. I would avoid this place and this town and maybe stay in Visalia or even Exeter. This place is in dire need of a makeover, or at least some decent maintenance and a little TLC. What a disappointment and a shame.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

After visiting Kings Canyon and Sequio park excellent place to stay at end of dayExcellent views from balcony peaceful very tranquil setting Cannot fault it apart from no evening meals available had to drive..Would recommend here.All you need when you are on a two week road trip

Room Tip: Looked for accpomodation after a day in Kings Canyon and Sequio Park we found this accomomodation...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sierra Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sierra Lodge

Address: 43175 Sierra Drive, Hwy 198, Three Rivers, CA 93291
Location: United States > California > Three Rivers
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 hotels in Three Rivers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sierra Lodge 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Sierra Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sierra Hotel Three Rivers
Sierra Three Rivers

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sierra Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.