We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to Sequoia National Park entrance” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sierra Lodge

Save Saved
You added Sierra Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sierra Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   43175 Sierra Drive, Hwy 198, Three Rivers, CA 93291   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 6 hotels in Three Rivers
Torrey, Utah
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Close to Sequoia National Park entrance”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We enjoyed our 3-night stay here as it was next to Sequoia and convenient traveling in and out of the park. The room was clean and had a comfortable bed. It is an older property and properly maintained. The staff was very friendly, however we were surprised that they don't unlock the lobby and serve breakfast until 8:00 a.m., which seems a bit late for most travelers wanting to start their day. The in-room Internet service was slow. We were able to take advantage of a seasonal rate and were satisfied with our stay.

Room Tip: Try to get a ground level room as the spiral stairs were difficult with luggage. We were driving ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    32
    69
    41
    34
    18
See reviews for
48
68
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We booked on the way to Sequoia National Park. We paid $150.00 US plus tax. The hotel's write up seemed good. At registration the woman was very nice. It went downhill after that. The room is very old ---furniture, like they were picked up from people's garbage; the air conditioning was loud; the carpet was worn and not clean, the stove was old- had not seen one like this in decades;it was not pleasant sleeping in the room - it was like staying at the old aunt's who was set in her ways and too old to clean properly...remember I paid $150.00. Breakfast was a joke...packaged oatmeal with a lot of sugar..I asked if they had the one without sugar... she said they had and it is not kept at the breakfast table ...for people with diabetes.translates we do not trust our guests...no milk just coffee-mate..water for tea was warm...the pastry was bought small things..I do not eat those things...Breakfast is too late 8am...By the time we got to the We three restaurant to have a proper breakfast and to get to the park we had lost most of the morning...so there was no benefit to staying at this lousy place. When leaving the area we observed there were some hotel/motels in the area ...I am sure those places would have been better...This place was the worst place I had stayed for my whole trip and it was the most expensive... I would not recommend this place.

Room Tip: Do not bother with this place. Try another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Quirky, inexpensive, clean older motel in excellent location with extremely friendly staff. Covered parking for certain rooms make it motorcycle and car friendly. Free wifi and the place is built like a bunker- solid. Access to our second floor room was via an exterior spiral staircase. The sliding glass door does not filter out the exterior light so it looks like morning in your room all night. Bed was ok, we had brought our own pillows so we slept fine. Coffee and danish provided. Our room had coffee pot and mini fridge.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, TX
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Wow. Okay, I picked this place because it was close to Yosemite and would provide a quick exit for us to get to the park vs. staying somewhere further away. The gamble DID NOT pay off. The place is kitschy, but not in a good way. It is bordering on run down, and at $85 a night in the off season, it is not worth it. Knowing what I know now, I would not have even paid $40 a night for this place. Parking is treacherous (parking lot is small and oddly designed). The rooms are small (like made for little people). Shower is similar to an RV sized shower. The bed ... OMG, the bed was horrendous. It was sinking so bad in the middle that I could barely stand to lay on it. I ended up trying to sleep in one of the chairs at one point during the night, but the chairs in the room were rickety wicker type chairs with vinyl seats. Horribly uncomfortable. There are only like two electrical outlets in the room which are filled with lamps, the wall AC unit, and the TV. You have to unplug something to plug in a charger or laptop. They serve breakfast (pastries and oatmeal) way too late in the morning, especially considering people are trying to get an early start for the park. The town has very little to offer in terms of dining, especially during the off season. Heck, the little grocery store doesn't even open until 10 A.M. on weekends. I would avoid this place and this town and maybe stay in Visalia or even Exeter. This place is in dire need of a makeover, or at least some decent maintenance and a little TLC. What a disappointment and a shame.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

After visiting Kings Canyon and Sequio park excellent place to stay at end of dayExcellent views from balcony peaceful very tranquil setting Cannot fault it apart from no evening meals available had to drive..Would recommend here.All you need when you are on a two week road trip

Room Tip: Looked for accpomodation after a day in Kings Canyon and Sequio Park we found this accomomodation...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broomfield, Colorado
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The location was great! We took hwy 198 from Fresno and the drive was beautiful around dusk.
Sierra Lodge is conveniently close to the south park entrance.
The good:
Location
Pool
Clean
Spotty wifi (better than no wifi)
Pretty quiet for being on the road
Oatmeal and pastries for breakfast, but not served until 8am. We didn't hang around that long, we ate at the We Three diner down the road instead.
Retro, in an interesting way
You park your car pretty much under your room. After you climb a metal spiral staircase, you enter your room though your groovy sliding glass door! They had rooms with doors in the opposite building but this was how ours was set up. We had a fireplace (unclear if you can have a fire), mini fridge, coffee pot. Room had a small tub-shower (see photo). Sitting area with table.
The bad:
THE BED. It was a queen but the mattress was so ancient that it sagged in the middle. It seemed like we were rolling into the center.
The carpet was worn near the bathroom door and I kept stepping on the tacks in the tack strip
**The water issue** I happened to be flipping through the table binder with hotel and local info and found a notice that the lodge had not met its water treatment requirement due to turbidity. There was no date on the document. There was not signage near the bathroom tap. The room was provided with 2 bottles of water. When my husband asked the desk girl, literally a teenager, about it, she said she drinks the water and nothing has happened to her. Turbidity has to do with cloudiness in the water. There was no further info other than the one document that I have included as a photo. I looked up some info since, but maybe the owner would like to comment. The lack of concern for this issue turned me off.
Draw your own conclusion here. We were provided with bottled water. The room was okay for an econodation and proximity to the park, but not a very good night's sleep.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claremont, California
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

If you are planning on using the South entrance to the park through Visalia, Three Rivers is a good place to stay the night and head up into the park the next day. The Sierra Lodge was dated and old but clean. It served its purpose. The lady at the front counter was very nice. The cost was in the $80 range for a room with a King bed. There is a pool. I had read up on where to grab a bite to eat and we ended up at Sierra Subs and Salads for a lite dinner. We had the muffuletta sandwich and it was great. For breakfast, we went to the We Three Bakery about a block or two up the road and it was very good. I could smell the freshly baked cinnamon rolls as we drove up.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sierra Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sierra Lodge

Address: 43175 Sierra Drive, Hwy 198, Three Rivers, CA 93291
Location: United States > California > Three Rivers
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 hotels in Three Rivers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sierra Lodge 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Sierra Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sierra Hotel Three Rivers
Sierra Three Rivers

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sierra Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.