We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but overall negative experience” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sierra Lodge

Save Saved
You added Sierra Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sierra Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   43175 Sierra Drive, Hwy 198, Three Rivers, CA 93291   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 6 hotels in Three Rivers
Louisville, Kentucky
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good location but overall negative experience”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

My family (4 of us) stayed at the Sierra Lodge in Three Rivers, CA for one night in June 2012. We booked the VIP room (2 bedrooms and it's own parking space!) at a rate of $200 per night. The hotel is only about 6 miles outside the Sequoia National Park so the location was great. The room was outdated ('70's maybe) and I don't believe much had changed since then. The mattresses in the two bedrooms were old and worn out and very squeaky. They had put boards between the mattress and the box springs for support. I noticed this when I was checking for bed bugs (which we didn't find). We did find dead silver fish bugs in the "clean" sheets given to us for the futon in the living room. There were also globe lights in the bath that had a few dozen dead bugs in the bottom of the globes. You are probably getting the picture. The woman working when we checked in was very nice and very helpful. As we were checking out the next morning, my husband suggested quite nicely (I'm not sure I would have been as gentle) that the room needed some attention. The woman at the desk was quite unreceptive to the idea that the room might not have been perfect. She said the room had stayed booked and no one else had "complained". I doubted that the room was continually booked due to the sheer number of bugs and spider webs. I guess it's possible that it is so booked that they simply haven't had time to do a proper cleaning. Anyway, if you've gotten this far, thanks reading. Overall, I can't recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    32
    70
    41
    34
    18
See reviews for
48
69
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buckinghamshire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

The lodge is ok for the odd night stay. It was reasonably clean and the room was a good size with a small balcony area.
We picked the lodge as we wanted somewhere close to the park entrance but with the major roadworks into the park causing delays of up to 1 hour each way we wished we had picked a different location.
The continental breakfast was just about adequate and you wont be getting an early start to your day as its not severed until 8:00.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FAIRFIELD
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We just spent five days at the Sierra Lodge while attending my nephew's wedding. We chose this hotel for its proximity to the wedding venue and to the campground where the rehearsal dinner and a bridal wine shower were held the two nights prior to the wedding. We had read reviews and were well aware of the spiral staircase to our upper floor room (which had a wonderful view of the mountains) and did not have unrealistic expectations. What we found was exceptional hospitality on all levels, from the front desk ladies (especially Michelle, Stacy, Lisa, and Nia), all of the housekeeping staff, and Manager/Owner Dave. We stayed in room C, with a king-sized bed, and were very comfortable. We also had our own assigned covered parking space. An unexpected bonus was a family of acorn woodpeckers who spent a lot of time in the palm tree just outside our window -- my husband is an avid photographer, and really enjoyed capturing their antics. We like staying in "retro" motels, and aside from having to haul our belongings up the spiral staircase, our only real complaint (which could be ameliorated with some velvet curtains) was the light coming in at night from the security lights in the parking lot (the door to the room is a frosted sliding glass door, and does not fully block the light, but it gives plenty of visual privacy). We would definitely stay here again if we travel that way.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are easier for luggage, but the upper view is very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg, Germany
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Our room was clean but the main entrance was a patio sliding door made of milk-glass allowing the morning light to fill the room. The breakfast was orange slices, instant coffee and pre-packaged pastry. Road construction amde the trip to the giant trees over an hour each direction. I recommend staying anywhere between Fresno and the park. Three Rivers, CA has little to offer.

Room Tip: rooms C, D, E and F share a wall with the highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gardner, Kansas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed here our second night in Three Rivers because the Buckeye Tree Lodge (our favorite in Three Rivers) was sold out that night. Our room was ok. It was a pet friendly room but wasn't bad. We had a little fridge and coffee maker. The decor was mountain like with moose/ bear boarders and bedspread. I like the exposed beam ceiling. Made it feel more cabin in the woods like. I guess my only real complaint was there were ants in the bathroom in the morning and we hadn't left any food out or anything. But I guess you can't always control nature. Overall an alright stay with close proximity to Sequoia NP.

Room Tip: FYI "No pets on the furniture".
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

We stayed there for 3 nights, in a family 'cabin'. It was roomy enough but I had thought there were two bedrooms. There was one bedroom with two double beds and another double bed...in the living area. Kind of inconvenient, but we dealt with it. The kitchen stove/oven had not been cleaned and the oven smoked when I used it. The fridge was a mini fridge and the oven was a mini oven. Not what I'd call a full kitchen....but we dealt with it. They are obviously trying to save money as the four of us (3 being women) were only given one roll of toilet paper per day. There was no 'back up' put in the bathroom. And, when we left for the park one day, the hotel staff came in to clean and turned off the AC. Not a big deal, but when we returned the room was stuffy and hot. We're paying quite a large sum to stay there and should not have to return to a sauna. They could have just turned the fan down or the temp up a bit. The breakfast was just sliced oranges, oatmeal packets and danishes. I guess I expected more for my money. But, it was only 2 miles from the park entrance...they've got that going for them!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

We booked this hotel for two nights as it was close to the entrance to Sequoia National Park. The first problem was minor but indicative of what was to follow. The room we were to receive was "on the river side" and technically was correct. The assumption was there would be a view of the river. Couldn't even here it although we knew the river was on our side somewhere. This motel is showing its age. Rooms were quite small and somewhat antiquated, the bathroom in particular. Shower spouts inadequate, no stopper in sink, (they provide a plug), noisy air conditioner, etc. The biggest problem, however, was the bed, a river could have run through it. My wife and I kept crashing in the middle from the slopes on either side. And we were not alone, our friends who accompanied us had the same problems including the bed. The Sierra is definitely a 2-star facility and not worth what we paid ($131 w/tax).

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sierra Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sierra Lodge

Address: 43175 Sierra Drive, Hwy 198, Three Rivers, CA 93291
Location: United States > California > Three Rivers
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 hotels in Three Rivers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sierra Lodge 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Sierra Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sierra Hotel Three Rivers
Sierra Three Rivers

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sierra Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.