We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Bad” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sierra Lodge

Save Saved
You added Sierra Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Sierra Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   43175 Sierra Drive, Hwy 198, Three Rivers, CA 93291   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 6 hotels in Three Rivers
Gardner, Kansas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Not Bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed here our second night in Three Rivers because the Buckeye Tree Lodge (our favorite in Three Rivers) was sold out that night. Our room was ok. It was a pet friendly room but wasn't bad. We had a little fridge and coffee maker. The decor was mountain like with moose/ bear boarders and bedspread. I like the exposed beam ceiling. Made it feel more cabin in the woods like. I guess my only real complaint was there were ants in the bathroom in the morning and we hadn't left any food out or anything. But I guess you can't always control nature. Overall an alright stay with close proximity to Sequoia NP.

Room Tip: FYI "No pets on the furniture".
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    29
    65
    38
    30
    17
See reviews for
43
62
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

We stayed there for 3 nights, in a family 'cabin'. It was roomy enough but I had thought there were two bedrooms. There was one bedroom with two double beds and another double bed...in the living area. Kind of inconvenient, but we dealt with it. The kitchen stove/oven had not been cleaned and the oven smoked when I used it. The fridge was a mini fridge and the oven was a mini oven. Not what I'd call a full kitchen....but we dealt with it. They are obviously trying to save money as the four of us (3 being women) were only given one roll of toilet paper per day. There was no 'back up' put in the bathroom. And, when we left for the park one day, the hotel staff came in to clean and turned off the AC. Not a big deal, but when we returned the room was stuffy and hot. We're paying quite a large sum to stay there and should not have to return to a sauna. They could have just turned the fan down or the temp up a bit. The breakfast was just sliced oranges, oatmeal packets and danishes. I guess I expected more for my money. But, it was only 2 miles from the park entrance...they've got that going for them!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

We booked this hotel for two nights as it was close to the entrance to Sequoia National Park. The first problem was minor but indicative of what was to follow. The room we were to receive was "on the river side" and technically was correct. The assumption was there would be a view of the river. Couldn't even here it although we knew the river was on our side somewhere. This motel is showing its age. Rooms were quite small and somewhat antiquated, the bathroom in particular. Shower spouts inadequate, no stopper in sink, (they provide a plug), noisy air conditioner, etc. The biggest problem, however, was the bed, a river could have run through it. My wife and I kept crashing in the middle from the slopes on either side. And we were not alone, our friends who accompanied us had the same problems including the bed. The Sierra is definitely a 2-star facility and not worth what we paid ($131 w/tax).

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

Good value, very close to south entrance of Sequoia National Park. Old buildings but kinda funky. Nice receptionist. Got a nail in my foot from the carpet but sadly, the manager did not seem too concerned. Otherwise, happy with experience.

Room Tip: Ask if the room you are booking has a view (some do) and if it is on the main or second floor. Not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IOWA
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

We chose Sierra Lodge for it's location near Sequoia National Park. The attendant at the front desk was very friendly and check in went quickly. We were given two rooms over the office area. The room was rustic in feel (what do you expect in a National Park area) but clean with a comfortable bed, a mini frig, and a COFFEEMAKER. The decor made us feel like we were in a hunting lodge as did the mounted heads in the office. The balcony approach to our rooms had chairs and small tables which provided a relaxing place for us to unwind with a cold one and have some snacks. The room air conditioner provided a very comfortable sleeping atmosphere. Our bathroom, while dated, was clean with thicker than expected towels. The continental breakfast was perfect for me. The pastries, while bakery made, were tasty and of good variety and the coffee (while not Starbucks which I dislike anyway) was pleasurable and plentiful. The 8 AM serving time may be a drawback for some, but worked well for those of us who weren't in a hurry on our vacation. Compared to the budget breaking cost of similar accommodations we stayed in at Yosemite, the Sierra Lodge was very acceptible. If you want 5 Star hotel accommodations, try the Comfort Suites or Marriott in Visalia, but if it's comfortable, affordable, charming accommodations you seek, try the Sierra Lodge.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

Sierra Lodge is a little older than some other motels and is small but it is a very comfortable place to stay and the people running it are extremely friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whittier, CA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

They had a great staff, but this place just seemed very outdated, felt as though I was trapped in the 70's.

This place is great if you just need a place to sleep while visiting the Sequoias.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sierra Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sierra Lodge

Also Known As:
Sierra Hotel
Sierra Hotel Three Rivers
Sierra Three Rivers
Address: 43175 Sierra Drive, Hwy 198, Three Rivers, CA 93291
Location: United States > California > Three Rivers
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 hotels in Three Rivers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sierra Lodge 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Sierra Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sierra Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.