We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Basic Hotel convenient to the park” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sierra Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sierra Lodge to your Saves list
Sierra Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   43175 Sierra Drive, Hwy 198, Three Rivers, CA 93291   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Three Rivers
MD
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Clean, Basic Hotel convenient to the park”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

The lodge is old and dated, but it is a clean basic hotel convenient to the park. The bathroom was re-modeled so that was good - the rest of the room was older. Has a frig in the room and provided bottle water. Breakfast (included) consist of patries, coffee (no OJ), oatmeal, and one kind of fruit.
No cell phone signal, so good that they provided Free WiFi.
The bed wasn't so comfortable though. But the lodge is fine for a basic, clean accomodation. The staff were nice and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    67
    45
    30
    19
See reviews for
59
79
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Broglie, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

This place is the worst hotel I ever stayed in my life !
First : the price, so expensive, for example, you can stay in a Palace in Las Vegas for the same price.
Second : So noisy, you can hear everything happening around.
Third : the hotel is open only fom 8 AM to 8 PM
4 : No Breakfast, a poor coffee machine at the reception, no seats.
5 : the most important, the hotel is so dirty, it is unbelievable, towels, pillows, floor, walls.
We decide to leave the hotel earlier the morning after a horrible night and we meet 3 families doing the same thing.
Avoid this hotel, the worst place near Sequoia Park !!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2011

The lodge could do with a revamp as it looks tired and dated both inside and outside. However it is clean and comfortable! The location is great for visiting the Sequoia National Park and its inexpensive. My two children went in the swimming pool which was smaller than we expected, but it didn't matter as they were the only ones using it.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2011

it is very near to the park, beautiful location, very nice and big room, pastries in the morning, nice frendly staff,
we recommend this nice place

Room Tip: Room C
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2011

We originally booked this place so we could get as close to Yosemite Wednesday night, cut down the 5 hour trip to 3 1/2, and explore Sequoia national park at the same time. We arrived at 10:30 p.m. Wed and woke up Thursday morning ready to see the park.

The hotel is nice, with a surprisingly big floorplan for a room at this price ($70). There was a big king bed, a wood burning fireplace, a dinning table, closet, etc. The room was clean. The toilet was leaking at the base, however, this was minimal and was our only complaint about the room.

The staircase leading up to the rooms was....interesting. It was even more interesting carrying our luggage up the steps as it's VERY narrow and since it is metal, can be icy in winter or when it rains (which it did the day we checked out).

The hotel is 4 miles from the entrance of the park take into consideration that the Giant Forest (Sequoia's big draw for many) is still another 17 miles, including road work area that closes sometimes, so plan accordingly.

All in all this was an amazing place for the price and would recommend it if you were in the mood of a day or two in Sequoia National Park. The staff is friendly, and breakfast was nice.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2011

Me and my girlfriend stayed a couple of nights here whilst visiting Sequoia National Park. In terms of location, it is ideal - just a few miles down the road from the entrance, which matters because the drive to the top of the park to see the sights such as the General Sherman Tree takes about 45 minutes.

The guest area and rooms themselves are really kitsch, full of 50's style Americana - moose heads, ye olde pictures, shag rugs, paintings of bears and deers - you get the idea. Personally, I loved it, and found it really good fun, but it might not be to everyone's taste. I found the owners to be really nice, friendly and helpful hosts, with good local knowledge - they recommend the River View bar down the road, which served up the best steak I've had yet in the US!

Contrary to what others have said, the wi-fi does work fine, and is a good solid 10-20meg connection, and is entirely free. I also really appreciated the free (strong) coffee and pastries each morning, it was a nice touch.

The rooms were a good size, homely and comfortable, with a big fridge and fun decor. My only complaint would be that the lack of double glazing, combined with the busy road outside, does make it a tad noisy - but then, that's what ear plugs are for right! Anyway, after a day hiking in the forest, you sleep fine whatever, so don't listen to the critics, this is a fun good value good location place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2011

After driving through terential rain and 100 mile long traffic jam, we were desperate for a relaxing nice hotel. We got it. I believe it was the manager that saw to us when we arrived at 10pm. Really nice guy, chatted to him for a while, then were shown where we would be staying.
We were gutted the weather was so bad as a swim in the outdoor pool would have been heaven, the views from there were so nice.
Our room was great, we loved it. Clean, warm and having another heater in the bathroom was a saviour as it was quite chilly when we were there!
After reading other peoples reviews, a lot talk about it being outdated. But to us, it just doesn't matter, it added to our experience and I'd happily stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sierra Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sierra Lodge

Address: 43175 Sierra Drive, Hwy 198, Three Rivers, CA 93291
Location: United States > California > Three Rivers
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Three Rivers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sierra Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, EasyToBook, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sierra Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sierra Hotel Three Rivers
Sierra Three Rivers

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sierra Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.