We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, cheap Mexican food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa mendoza

Casa mendoza
Sierra Dr, Three Rivers, CA
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 14 Restaurants in Three Rivers
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good, cheap Mexican food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Food, basic, no-frills Mexican food that won't hurt you wallet. Good atmosphere and helpful waitresses.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    18
    12
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Not Good At All”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Stopped in during a trip to the Sequoias. Started with standard chips & salsa which were good but downhill from there. I had a burrito that had huge chunks of meat & peppers drowning in sauce with no flavor. My wife's salad was the weirdest thing I've every seen.. A huge plate of nothing but just dried out chicken with spices thrown on top. We were not impressed.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Misinformed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

When asked if they cooked with lard we were happy the answer was no. After telling the server we were vegetarian and served chips, we asked about the rice and was told it was cooked in chicken broth and then was told the chips (we had eaten) were fried in the same fryer as the chimichangas made with beef. YUCK!!!

Needless to say we paid for our drinks (which should have been comped) and left. Bummer.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greer, SC
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Good Mexican food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

After a horrible dining experience the evening before, we decided to try Casa Mendoza, and it was really good. There is considerable outdoor seating, although we decided to eat inside because we wanted to be out of the sun. The complimentary salsa and chips were delicious. I had shrimp enchiladas and my husband had chicken mole. Both were very tasty and came with great rice and beans. The service was a bit slow, but the place was pretty busy - and our server was very friendly. Reasonably priced as well. Definitely go here rather than the Gateway, a truly awful place.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Three Rivers, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good food but dirty!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

The food is full of flavor but the establishment is dirty. The owners need to make sure the tables, counters, and floor get cleaned!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa mendoza also viewed

 

Been to Casa mendoza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa mendoza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.