We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Mexican food, great prices!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa mendoza

Casa mendoza
Sierra Dr, Three Rivers, CA
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 13 restaurants in Three Rivers
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Delicious Mexican food, great prices!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Wow, what a find! Yummy food, great prices. We had the chipotle burrito and albondiga soup. Will come again when passing through Three Rivers!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

57% Recommend
    5
    15
    9
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great Mexican Food and Great Service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Recently, we were in Three Rivers for 2 nights. Although there were a few restaurants in Three Rivers to choose from, we decided to try Cafe Mendoza. The first night. we were not disappointed. The chips were fantastic, crunchy and slightly seasoned. The salsa, well I guess we liked it because they had to keep refilling our salsa bowls (jokingly giving us a hard time). It too, was fantastic! The waitress was as friendly as can be. She noticed that we were drinking a lot of water (spent all day hiking in Sequoia), again, joked a bit with us, then brought a pitcher of water to the table. The food was great! I had the tacos while the others had the enchiladas. None of us were disappointed! Well, needless to say, we decided to eat there again! Same thing, great food and service. They had remembered us from the night before (possibly because of all the salsa and water they had to bring over to our table....ha). Although we had a different waitress, she was just as nice as the one we had the night before. One thing we did find out was that they do not offer desert. Our waitress the second night, to humor us and knowing that we wanted desert, gave us one piece of wrapped candy....as desert........one piece for the whole table. That is the kind of service one would appreciate, and we did! They made us feel welcome, like we had been going there for years! I would highly recommend this place to any and all! We will be back.....FOR SURE!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nothing To Write Home About”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

The wife and I weren't very impressed with either the food or service. That being said, we finished our plates and left a good tip so nothing terrible here just nothing impressive.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Canada, California
Top Contributor
414 reviews 414 reviews
235 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 182 cities Reviews in 182 cities
251 helpful votes 251 helpful votes
“Fair food accompanied with horrible service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

It's the only Mexican Restaurant in these parts and we found the food to be quite disappointing. The predinner chips were horrible...dry and far too crunchy. We had nachos that were not like the usual nachos. The chips were laid out in neat order with a dribbling of cheese on them and a dabble of beans...very poor. The quesedilla was filled with tastless cheese. The taquitos were almost OK but lacked anything special.

However, the worst part was the slow service and carelessness of our waitress..she spoke little English and it was hard to communicate with her...at the end of the meal we waited forever for her to return with the check...I finally had to get up and track her down.

They do have a nice outdoor area for dining. The inside area looked far too compact and crowded for a relaxing evening meal.

They do not have margaritas here...no full bar...only beer and wine.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newport beach, ca
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Pretty good food, nice service but a bit slow and forgetful”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

The food was pretty good, a bit greasy, but otherwise tasty and fresh. The salsa was excellent. The servers were all very nice but seemed to lose track of who was waiting to order, who had ordered what, etc. Overall, for a small restaurant in a small town on an obviously slower time table than most areas, it was a pleasant experience.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Casa mendoza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa mendoza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.