We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing To Write Home About” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Casa mendoza

Casa mendoza
Sierra Dr, Three Rivers, CA
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 14 Restaurants in Three Rivers
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nothing To Write Home About”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

The wife and I weren't very impressed with either the food or service. That being said, we finished our plates and left a good tip so nothing terrible here just nothing impressive.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

55% Recommend
    5
    16
    11
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
La Canada, California
Top Contributor
428 reviews 428 reviews
243 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 184 cities Reviews in 184 cities
267 helpful votes 267 helpful votes
“Fair food accompanied with horrible service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

It's the only Mexican Restaurant in these parts and we found the food to be quite disappointing. The predinner chips were horrible...dry and far too crunchy. We had nachos that were not like the usual nachos. The chips were laid out in neat order with a dribbling of cheese on them and a dabble of beans...very poor. The quesedilla was filled with tastless cheese. The taquitos were almost OK but lacked anything special.

However, the worst part was the slow service and carelessness of our waitress..she spoke little English and it was hard to communicate with her...at the end of the meal we waited forever for her to return with the check...I finally had to get up and track her down.

They do have a nice outdoor area for dining. The inside area looked far too compact and crowded for a relaxing evening meal.

They do not have margaritas here...no full bar...only beer and wine.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newport beach, ca
Top Contributor
204 reviews 204 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Pretty good food, nice service but a bit slow and forgetful”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

The food was pretty good, a bit greasy, but otherwise tasty and fresh. The salsa was excellent. The servers were all very nice but seemed to lose track of who was waiting to order, who had ordered what, etc. Overall, for a small restaurant in a small town on an obviously slower time table than most areas, it was a pleasant experience.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great food but terrible timing.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We were really disappointed with this restaurant. Everyone said this was a great place and in fact the food was very good for most of the people in our party. It took over an hour for the food to be delivered to our table.
Most of the people in our party had very good food. Mine was terrible- overcooked chicken in a chicken salad. Yikes.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miramichi
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

We ate there twice, it was so good. Not fancy but really good. Fresh guacamole ,salsa and tortilla chips made daily.The meals were generous.I'd eat there again.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casa mendoza also viewed

 

Been to Casa mendoza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa mendoza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.