We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing and unique Lazy J Ranch .. can't wait to go back!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn to your Saves list
Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   39625 Sierra Drive, Three Rivers, CA 93271-9734   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Three Rivers
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles
1 review
“Amazing and unique Lazy J Ranch .. can't wait to go back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2009

We just got back from our trip to Three Rivers with a small group of classic car enthusiasts staying at the Lazy J Ranch Motel. We had an absolutely fabulous time and can't wait to head back to visit again. Our cabin came with a full kitchen, two double beds and two couches that convert into beds ... large enough for our entire family, but just small enough to feel cozy and romantic for my husband and me. The proprieters of the property could not have been more accomodating, even suggesting some nearby restaurants for breakfast and dinner. We took advantage of the pool, the great lawn area for some bocce ball, and just enjoyed the beautiful scenery that is the Lazy J. The property is quaint and reminiscent of a motel of yesteryear --- quiet, charming, lovely.
The property also has a small farm out back with animals that are happy to have you feed them hay, some motel cats that seem to have the run of the place and are quite friendly, and a beautiful wild turkey that makes you think that you could skip the meat for this coming Thanksgiving in its regards.
We can't wait to go back again for another visit. Thanks again to the Lazy J for a superior trip.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    70
    27
    6
    5
See reviews for
85
76
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tel-Aviv
Level Contributor
68 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2009

We are a family of 5. Being impressed by the high ratings and reviews, we wanted to stay in this hotel for two nights. Although the location of the hotel is good (~10 min driving from the Sequoia park entrance), all of it cries "back to the 60s". The cabin was old and not well maintained. We had only one room in which all five of us had to cram together. There was no dishwasher. When we heat the oven in order to cook, it caused the fire alarm to go off. Operating the stove ventilator did not help. Only switching on the fan in the room stopped the screeching of the fire alarm...
We were surprized to find a warning about guests liability (up to 100$) for leaving unwashed dishes. Also an envelope with a smiley and "Tips. Thank you!" sign surprized us. Have not seen anything like this in another hotel.
We did use the video library in the hotel, and enjoyed watching movies all together.
Also typical: After reserving the dates, I had to phone several times to get a reservation confirmation. "We normally don't do this" was the 1st response. After two more calls, and almost giving up on this, I managed to receive a confirmation.

In short: nice location, nice environment, but more suitable for a couple ready for "back in time" experience.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forlì
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2009

Good place ... quietness, nature ... really near the Sequoia's entrance.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2009

Our stay at the Lazy J was just the right spot for everyone in our group. Our youngest group member was 1 year old and our oldest was 78. There was something for everyone. The kids swam, fished, rode bikes, climbed rocks, hicked, played volleyball and in general just had a great time hanging out and playng in a very safe environment. The shade of the gazebo by the pool with the celing fans was a perfect location for anyone wanting to get out of the sun, but still wanting to be outdoors.We ate our lunches there a few times.
We stayed in cabin 6 and it has a back patio area - just perfect for bbqing and hanging out for a large group.We set up our chairs out there and used the bbqs provided to cook our dinners. There is a tether ball game nearby too.
From behind the cabin you can see the river and we launched the kayak from there and traded riders on the jet ski. The water is calm at that spot, not rushing. Some of our group fished there too.
The rooms are quaint and the kitchens have everything you need. We brought groceries with us and ate all of our meals there. The refrigerator and coffee makers in the cabins are full sized.
We had a great time and we will be back!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2009

We had damage to our house and work was being done over the weekend and decided to stay up in the mountains in Three Rivers. Read reviews here and thought this would be a great place to stay.
Upon arrival the lady who checked us in was friendly. Thought it was a bit odd to pick your prepackaged breakfast selections like muffins and juice and a comment was made about my 7-year old daughter's appetite (which was odd, she is a slender girl and it upset her a bit)., she only got a few basic things, nothing out of order. When we got to our cabin it was all rather old and shabby and in great need of a make over, but so far we could live with it, just would not go back. The next morning we wanted to take a shower and it was covered with ants (hundreds of them, really gross). We let the reception lady (different woman, she appeared to live on the premises) know who was extremely rude and did not want to "interrupt" her husband. We ended up leaving and stayed the remainder of the weekend at the Western Hotel where we had a great time.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2009

Husband, 10 yr old daughter & I enjoyed the Lazy J immensely. Its overall atmosphere felt very homey welcoming and relaxing. The staff was friendly, knowledgeable and accommodating. The two double bed room was well cared for and clean. Maid service was excellent. Amenities such as dorm size fridge, microwave oven, in room coffee pot and standard TV were all a plus. Located just 10 minutes from the southern entrance to the Sequoias National Park we could easily reach any part of the park to do day trips. On the way home, we could stop at local restaurants to dine or bring something back to the room from the local market. The Lazy J provided Weber type grills for our use if we so desired. There was also a great pool for relaxing in the evening.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles,CA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2009

We stayed in cabin 2 with full kitchen, which turned out to be a good choice as there are limited eating options in Three Rivers. The cabin was immaculate and came with it's own a/c and franklinstove fireplace. Close to the pool area and farm animals behind it. Very cool to wake up to the sounds of sheep and the donkeys were very funny! There were cats and wild turkey, and the river behind the property was great to walk to. There is a great view of Moro Rock and mountains.The staff were friendly and cabin was always clean. Definitely a place to relax. There was a TV with limited cable, but had DVD/VCR with movies you could borrow from the lobby. There is internet access via dial-up and our cell phone coverage at the hotel was fine but spotty in Three Rivers. Overall, excellent place to go to relax and visit Sequoia. Be aware however that the entrance to Sequoia via Three Rivers is absolutely gorgeous, but it is a VERY twisty windy 2-lane road climbing from 3000ft ft to 7500ft. Not for the squeamish! We took that road everyday for 3-days, and that was enough! It was nice to come back to the Lazy J after hiking, so it was worth it! Even our 13yr old loved it!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn

Address: 39625 Sierra Drive, Three Rivers, CA 93271-9734
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Three Rivers
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Three Rivers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lazy j Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn Hotel Three Rivers
Lazy j Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.