We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable, relaxing place in a beautiful setting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn

Save Saved
You added Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   39625 Sierra Drive, Three Rivers, CA 93271-9734   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Three Rivers
Los Angeles,CA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Very comfortable, relaxing place in a beautiful setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2009

We stayed in cabin 2 with full kitchen, which turned out to be a good choice as there are limited eating options in Three Rivers. The cabin was immaculate and came with it's own a/c and franklinstove fireplace. Close to the pool area and farm animals behind it. Very cool to wake up to the sounds of sheep and the donkeys were very funny! There were cats and wild turkey, and the river behind the property was great to walk to. There is a great view of Moro Rock and mountains.The staff were friendly and cabin was always clean. Definitely a place to relax. There was a TV with limited cable, but had DVD/VCR with movies you could borrow from the lobby. There is internet access via dial-up and our cell phone coverage at the hotel was fine but spotty in Three Rivers. Overall, excellent place to go to relax and visit Sequoia. Be aware however that the entrance to Sequoia via Three Rivers is absolutely gorgeous, but it is a VERY twisty windy 2-lane road climbing from 3000ft ft to 7500ft. Not for the squeamish! We took that road everyday for 3-days, and that was enough! It was nice to come back to the Lazy J after hiking, so it was worth it! Even our 13yr old loved it!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    75
    58
    22
    6
    5
See reviews for
76
65
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indiana
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2009

My wife and I stayed at this property in mid-May and had no complaints-but no high accolades either. We found most of the reviews posted either excessively glowing, or excessively negative.

The Lazy J is a nicely maintained, quiet, vintage motel within a convenient drive of Sequoia NP. The grounds are very nice and the rooms are spotlessly clean. There is an very good pool. The furnishings are a bit tired and the towels a bit thin, but all in all, this is a good stay in Three Rivers-and fairly priced for a tourist destination.

If you accept it for this, no more, no less, you will be pleased with the accomodations.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2009

My husband and I stayed here for just one night, and wished it had been longer. We paid about £70 for the night and it was definitely worth it. The rooms are arranged as little lodges around a lovely grassed area with a swimming pool, and it's right next to the river which you can stroll over to, with great views. We dealt with two women on the reception desk who were both very friendly and polite. The continental breakfast could be taken to your room the night before and was really nice. There are DVDs in the reception area to borrow for the night. The rooms are a good size and have a fridge and microwave and a gas fire.

The Lazy J Ranch feels very peaceful and relaxing, and it is so close to the entrance to the Sequoia national park, which has to be the most amazing place we've ever been to. We even preferred it to Yosemite.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coronado
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2008

This is a wonderful place to stay! I checked in with my three children and my dog. The cabin was quaint incredibly clean, quiet and comfortable. with a great view of the surrounding mountains. The grounds are extensive, with a pool, a badminton court, a tether ball, the wonderful petting zoo and plenty of places to stroll. The ladies who handle the office were friendly and knowledgeable. We intended this to be a way station for Sequoia, but this is such a great place on its own that my kids just wanted to hang out here.

  • Liked — Clean!!!
  • Disliked — I loved everything.
  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2008

After blowing through Three Rivers the previous weekend on a road trip i decided to take my wife there for the weekend. I researched all the hotels in the town and compared that to my memory of the place.

Lazy J Ranch was number one pick on Trip Advisor so we booked. We arrived late Saturday night and found our keys ready. The room was very clean and perfectly fine. I've stayed in much worse 3* hotels and this is listed as a 2*. The grounds have a swimming pool and lots of other outdoor areas. The bed was big and comfortable and the room was cozy.

The hotel has lots of wild, semi wild, and domesticated cats roaming about. We're both cat lovers so we had one of the cats stay with us during the thunderstorm that went through the night.

We found the staff to be incredably cheerful and friendly and had an excellent over-all experience. I would highly recommend staying here if you are intending to stay in Three Rivers or visit Sequoia National Park.

  • Liked — Cats
  • Disliked — Rain
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2008

My husband and I needed just a place to sleep, so that we could get into Sequoia in the morning. We feel like we stumbled on a gem. We called a couple of days ahead of time, got a room, even negotiated a small discount, and had a great experience. Besides the normal in room appliances our SPOTLESS room had a king bed, a gas fireplace, microwave, frig, DVD player, plenty of light, nice heating and a roomy and brand new looking bathroom! We were very, very pleased! We were greeted by cute local cats too. The office person was very friendly and made sure that we got our continental breakfast items in the evening since we were planning to leave before the office opened at 9:00am. It's so clean and fresh, and really really cute too. Not your normal square box with rooms. Very charming. We highly recommend the Lazy J Ranch / America's Best Value Inn!

  • Liked — Clean, clean, clean and charming cottages & rooms. Not the normal square box!
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2008

Finding economical lodging near any of California's national parks is quite the challenge in the high season of early to mid August. I was quite happy to find not just that, but lodging that was comfortable and fit with my goal of getting away from my typically fast-paced and stressful life.

The Lazy J sits at the edge of Three Rivers, a nice little town lying along side the snaking Kaweah River. Immediately around it the land has been kept semi-wild, and there's easy walking access to the nearby river. The only noise comes from the occasional car or truck going by on the two-lane highway. The motel is small - maybe 20 rooms - so the grounds themselves are quiet as well.

My room was simple but comfortable. Maybe it was due to spending all of my days hiking around Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Parks, but I slept soundly every night in a comfortable bed. There was plenty of room to spread out my gear, and in-room refrigerator was nice to have to help keep my daily drinking water cold.

The staff is friendly, and the office is stocked with loaner videos if you want to watch something in your room, which includes a DVD/VCR combo.

A couple small glitches: the remote for my TV didn't work. Not that I was there to watch TV, but it was still an annoyance. If you want anything from the continental breakfast, you either can't get going early or have to plan ahead the night before, because the office where items like bagels, breakfast bars and instant oatmeal are kept isn't open till 9 a.m.

But those things are pretty minor. Comfortable lodgings, quiet setting and a good rate are exactly what the doctor ordered for lodging at the doorstep to some of California's finest and most stunning scenery.

  • Liked — Quiet location
  • Disliked — Minor technical glitches
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn

Address: 39625 Sierra Drive, Three Rivers, CA 93271-9734
Location: United States > California > Three Rivers
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Three Rivers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , BookIt.com, Tingo and Priceline so you can book your Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lazy j Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn Hotel Three Rivers
Lazy j Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.