We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicely kept” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn to your Saves list
Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   39625 Sierra Drive, Three Rivers, CA 93271-9734   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Three Rivers
Certificate of Excellence
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Nicely kept”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

Not as generic as the other motel in town. Well maintained but certainly not chic. Kind of a rustic 70s look. Very clean! Pool is not fantastic and you should really plan on going elsewhere for breakfast.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    73
    28
    7
    5
See reviews for
89
77
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rosedale, Maryland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

My brother and I stayed here while visiting Sequoia National Park and Kings Canyon. We booked through hotels.com and ended up with a 'cottage'. The place had all the essentials, 2 beds, kitchen, and bathroom. There was also a window unit air conditioner. An added perk was the TVs also had a DVD/VCR and the office had movies to borrow. There was a complimentary breakfast which included fruit, bagels, muffins, snack bars, juices, and coffee. The place also had a pool. The ranch is on a farm that has sheep and goats. The location is minutes away from Sequoia National Park. Three Rivers is a small town. There are like 3 restaurants and a convenience store. I highly recommend you plan ahead and buy things beforehand bc the convenience store is pricey. Overall, we had a great experience and would stay there again.

Room Tip: Get a cottage
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

If you are looking for the "upscale, loaded with amenities" hotel...keep looking. But if what you are seeking is a very nice, clean, comfortable place to stay near the Sequoia Park, this is it!! The cottage we stayed in was spacious, well maintained and equipped with a small kitchenette. when we first arrived and noticed the animals at the rear of the unit we had concerns about the smell. To our surprise there was no odor and the animals were a pleasure to watch. The pool was available although we did not have time to use it. We did take time to sit in front of our cottage and have morning coffee. To me this would be an ideal place to spend several nights and enjoy the beauty of the Sequoia Park. The young lady who handled our check in and out was very nice and accommodated our request. The only negative thing we noticed was the units are equipped with window AC, which was a little noisy. Otherwise good......

Room Tip: Some units are stand alone, while others are like duplex, etc. We chose a stand alone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
281 reviews
280 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

The staff at this motel was exceptionally friendly. The property has a very positive atmosphere. The units, however, are quite old and worn. The beds in #2 were way too old and soft to have a comfortable night.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvilazyj, Manager at Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and for your review of our property. You were correct in stating that those beds needed to be replaced and if fact they and several others were replaced just after you stayed with us. Sorry that happened after you stayed with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Three Rivers is a very small town with just a handful of restaurants and hotels/motels. We stayed here one night on our way to Sequoia National Park. We loved it. It is a big space with lots of green grass, a nice size pool away from the road, and cute cottage style rooms and cabins to stay in. Beautiful views from all over. Parking is right in front of your cottage door. We were greeted by a nice lady, her daughter and their dog. They had a continental style breakfast that you can take in advance for the next day. It was almost like being on a small farm as they had friendly goats and sheep that you can pet.

We passed the other hotels/motels on our way into the park and we all agreed that this place looked the nicest and the quietest. My teenage girls loved it. Other places had their pool between the parking lot and the main road. Lazy J Ranch is tucked away and we loved the charm of this ranch-style motel. Great value too.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orem, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

This place is GREAT for families. We had a cabin with a full kitchen, 2 double beds and 2 twins at a very affordable rate. It was quiet, had a pool that the kids loved, a grassy area for badminton, volleyball and play, and goats and animals the kids could enjoy. Continental breakfast could be picked up anytime to accommodate our schedules and the staff was very friendly. They had DVDs and VCR tapes to lend at the office and had a very family-friendly selection. Wish we could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: Any would be great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

How this place has gotten great reviews is beyond us....

Do you want the good, the bad or the ugly first?

GOOD: nice staff (nothing stood out), well kept property, grassy area for the kids to play, small jelly bean pool in which our two kids had a blast (because there is nothing much else to do during the 99 degree weather of June in this tiny town), river access was a selling point on the business website but the reality was it that was overgrown and couldn't really be accessed unless you wanted a lethal bite from a rattle snake and a trip by helicopter! The farm was cute, friendly goats, sheep and pigmy's for the kids to pet and a small playground set for the kids (which was metal and too hot to play on)

BAD: outdated rooms, HORRIBLE squishy and bouncy beds, yes I wrote that in caps, and a floppy couch from the late 1980's. We stayed in Room # 4 which had a small kitchenette. The rooms and the beds remind me of one of the motels in some Quentin Tarantino movie...cheap, outdated and bug infested. Yes I said "Bug Infested".

Upon arrival, all four of us, even my 2 year old, had to use our flip flops to kill hundreds of mosquitos, knats and craneflies on the walls and ourselves. It was like a bad dream! In addition to those, there were also small German brown cockroaches in our kitchenette and my son had a quarter size wolf spider try to share his pillow...I have one word for this place: FUMIGATION! Can we call Terminex here people? If I'd wanted to camp, I'd of reserved a camp site up the mountain!

ok here it is....The UGLY: On top of the house keepers leaving a pile of folded sheets for us to make our own bed!! (which was ok I guess, I'm no prude), we also had a gas leak in our room which I reported to the front desk. The attendant told me to "open up the windows and let the room air out" no joke here folks! This, even after I mentioned that there might be a pilot light out somewhere. We smelled propane gas every morning upon waking and every night upon our return. That is simply unacceptable, especially at $135 a night for a total of $450!!

The cool waters of the jelly bean pool was our families only saving grace.

Please do your research and read all the reviews about this place. We were sincerely disappointed because we read such great reviews here and on Google. Needless to say, we will not be returning here and we are planning on writing a letter to the owner as well.

Room Tip: Bring Insecticide and a cot
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Three Rivers
3.6 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#6 of 6 in Three Rivers
3.0 of 5 stars 203 reviews
19.6 mi away
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
#1 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 431 reviews
16.5 mi away
Wuksachi Lodge
Wuksachi Lodge
#3 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 1,480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.6 mi away
John Muir Lodge
John Muir Lodge
#2 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 228 reviews
14.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Exeter Inn & Suites
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn

Address: 39625 Sierra Drive, Three Rivers, CA 93271-9734
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Three Rivers
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Three Rivers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, Priceline, Venere, BookIt.com and Agoda so you can book your Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lazy j Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn Hotel Three Rivers
Lazy j Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.