We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace an quite but with a few reservations” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn

Save Saved
You added Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   39625 Sierra Drive, Three Rivers, CA 93271-9734   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Three Rivers
UK
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Peace an quite but with a few reservations”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights using it as a base for the Sequoia Park and it was very relaxing. Just what we needed after being not he road for 3 full days.

The setting was beautiful. Trees and hills all around and a short walk to the river at the back of the site. The cabins are arranged around a large open space, in the middle of which is a very pleasant swimming pool. The rooms were adequate but would have preferred if they were not semi- detached. you really are on top of each other when sitting outside under the canopy. We were lucky and our intimate neighbours were all very nice

The staff were all very friendly and helpful. However, the only real disappointment was breakfast. Pre-packed dried cereals and / or pre-packed muffins. Some fresh fruit was also available. If you didn't pick up these gourmet delights in the evening, you had to wait until the office opened at 9.30 the next morning.

This was an issue because there is a major problem in the infrastructure around the area, there are not enough restaurants or cafés to support the number of people staying in hotels between here and the 10 minute drive to the park entrance.

Given all the above would still recommended this place for the scenery and the peace and quite.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    74
    55
    21
    6
    5
See reviews for
73
65
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

We were here for 2 nights and it was nice to be in a ranch style setting instead of a usual hotel. Staff were very friendly and helpful with information about Sequoia National Park. The room itself was very clean and bed and pillow were comfy and the whole place felt homey. They provided breakfast and laundry services as well. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Dorado Hills, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

My wife and I reserved a cabin (#4) for 3 days/2 nights for the MLK weekend in January 2014. We were very pleased with the property. It is "old school" but very well maintained and clean. Open spaces, secure. I am concerned about my convertible parked at night at most hotels but I had no worries here at all. We had a detached cottage with parking slot, fully stocked kitchen, table, full size fridge and mico-wave. We had a flat screen TV with DVD player and couch. Wi Fi worked well. Our cottage was to the back furthest from the road. Could not really hear traffic. Could just hear river in the back. They have larger cottages/cabins as well as individual rooms (Duplexes it looked like). We brought our own food and took advantage of the Weber barbecues available (with supplied charcoal and ignition chimneys- all at no charge) which can be wheeled to your unit. Great for cookouts! The two chairs and table just outside the front door in the "yard" for are perfect for taking in the view and air over a favorite beverage or coffee in the morning. Peaceful, relaxing, and quiet. Animal pastures behind. Very friendly owners live on property. Light breakfast (pastries, oatmeal, bagels etc) and DVDs for free use in the rooms are available. Very comfortable beds with down pillows. We did not have pets but heard they are okay.

Felt like we went back in time to the "good old" days. Open, comfortable, relaxing, and welcoming. Terrific value for the money. Definitely will return.

Great location for entrance to Sequoia National Park. Some good bakeries in town on the way. Lots of Europeans staying here on their motor tours.

Room Tip: Call for questions. We preferred cabins in back 1-6. Would pick #4 again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

The cottages and the staff were just what we needed after a long drive from SF. The location couldn't be better; close to both the Sequoia Nation Monument and Kings Canyon. The kitchen had all the cooking supplies we needed; including great cast iron pans! Full size fridge so we were able to shop in Visalia for the long weekend and not worry about shopping after a long day hiking. Staff is wonderfully friendly. Rooms are clean and well presented. I will be coming back!

Room Tip: Rent a cottage if you like to have the flexibility of cooking during your stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

I am so glad I found this cute little charming inn! It's the first inn you will see in Three Rivers. We came here with my mom and dog for the Thanksgiving wkend to visit and hike in Sequoia.
We love their big landscape ranch style as you drive up. They have swings and tetherball for the kids/adults and a goat ranch in the back.
If we ever come back to visit Sequoia, this is a def stay.
The only bad thing is their thin paper towels! Bring your own towels!!!
Breakfast, you pick up at the check in counter. My mom enjoyed the oatmeal packet and fruits. My husband enjoyed their pastries and our dog enjoyed the bananas! =) These were a great touch for our hikes in Sequoia.
There is not much to do at night and not much restaurants either. We drove 45 min to the casino (Tachi Palace) each night for food and gambling.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiken, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

If you're looking for high luxury the Lazy J probably will disappoint you. However, if you are a seeking clean economical, family operated motel, the Lazy J is excellent. We stayed here for 3 nights in July 13 and loved it. We normally prefer upscale but Lazy J was a great place. It's location allows for easy drives into the parks and 3 rivers but keeps you out of the crowds of the park facilities. We'll stay again if we revisit Sequoia, the pool was well kept and enjoyable. The rooms were clean, spacious and overall more than adequate.. The Lazy J is Throwback to the days of Family owned American roadside motels where families can enjoy themselves without overcharges and crowds.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

During our 25-day across the country we stayed 2 nights at the Lazy J. I would say that it was the most restful, relaxing place we stayed. The setting is gorgeous, and the hosts very welcoming. We, also, visited in the off season and didn't get to enjoy all they had to offer, but would definitely return given the opportunity.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn

Address: 39625 Sierra Drive, Three Rivers, CA 93271-9734
Location: United States > California > Three Rivers
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Three Rivers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , BookIt.com, Priceline, Tingo, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lazy j Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn Hotel Three Rivers
Lazy j Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.