We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Stay for a little Getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn

Save Saved
You added Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   39625 Sierra Drive, Three Rivers, CA 93271-9734   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Three Rivers
Orange, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Perfect Stay for a little Getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

I am so glad I found this cute little charming inn! It's the first inn you will see in Three Rivers. We came here with my mom and dog for the Thanksgiving wkend to visit and hike in Sequoia.
We love their big landscape ranch style as you drive up. They have swings and tetherball for the kids/adults and a goat ranch in the back.
If we ever come back to visit Sequoia, this is a def stay.
The only bad thing is their thin paper towels! Bring your own towels!!!
Breakfast, you pick up at the check in counter. My mom enjoyed the oatmeal packet and fruits. My husband enjoyed their pastries and our dog enjoyed the bananas! =) These were a great touch for our hikes in Sequoia.
There is not much to do at night and not much restaurants either. We drove 45 min to the casino (Tachi Palace) each night for food and gambling.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    73
    55
    21
    6
    5
See reviews for
72
65
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aiken, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

If you're looking for high luxury the Lazy J probably will disappoint you. However, if you are a seeking clean economical, family operated motel, the Lazy J is excellent. We stayed here for 3 nights in July 13 and loved it. We normally prefer upscale but Lazy J was a great place. It's location allows for easy drives into the parks and 3 rivers but keeps you out of the crowds of the park facilities. We'll stay again if we revisit Sequoia, the pool was well kept and enjoyable. The rooms were clean, spacious and overall more than adequate.. The Lazy J is Throwback to the days of Family owned American roadside motels where families can enjoy themselves without overcharges and crowds.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

During our 25-day across the country we stayed 2 nights at the Lazy J. I would say that it was the most restful, relaxing place we stayed. The setting is gorgeous, and the hosts very welcoming. We, also, visited in the off season and didn't get to enjoy all they had to offer, but would definitely return given the opportunity.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Habra, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

My husband and I stopped here for two days and loved it. The owners are very nice and friendly. There is a river/stream to walk to and fish. They have a pool, bbq's that you can use, horse shoes and tether ball. The room was nice and comfortable. Several restuarants in Three Rivers. Also there are several other places close by to fish at too. If you want a nice, quiet place to relax this would be it.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

It isn't a five star hotel but it is clean and the people are friendly. I loved the fireplace in the room and the sheep and goats. I would definitely return. We visited in the off season so we didn't get to enjoy all they had to offer but it looks like you could have fun.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, CO
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

As many other reviewers have said, the Lazy J is not a modern hotel chain. The bedding as a little old and faded, but the bed was not uncomfortable. The price is excellent for a room so close to the park. The owners are very nice and welcoming and the wi-fi was free with strong reception. The breakfast left a lot to be desired, but I was expecting that and brought my own. The shower in our cabin was horrible, barely a trickle, but we got clean!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

The best experience you can have while supporting a local business. My husband and I drove to several Inns past the Lazy J and decided to come back for the price, friendly service, & cute looking cottages. We arrived in the evening with no reservations and were glad they gave us a map for eateries and other lodging. You can stay at Comfort Inn & Suites anywhere. Why not experience a ranch unique to Three Rivers. Loved the animals, full moon view, DVD selection, and breakfast snacks. Highly recommended for the simple & adventurous.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn

Address: 39625 Sierra Drive, Three Rivers, CA 93271-9734
Location: United States > California > Three Rivers
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Three Rivers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , BookIt.com, Priceline, Tingo, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lazy j Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn Hotel Three Rivers
Lazy j Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.