We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So glad we stayed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn

Save Saved
You added Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   39625 Sierra Drive, Three Rivers, CA 93271-9734   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Three Rivers
Surrey
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“So glad we stayed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

Came here randomly on a trip. Could not have been more perfect. We only stayed one night and did not realise we were supposed to pick up breakfast in the evening. But actully it didn't really matter as this was not a priority.

Pool is lovely and lots of toys and balls and kit to keep people amused. The best view ever out the back of our cabin towards the mountains.

When the kids slept in the morning we walked down to the river and along to a recreation area. It was amazingly lovely.

Do visit here if you are passing.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    73
    54
    21
    6
    5
See reviews for
72
64
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We stayed at the Lazy J Ranch for 3 days in July 2013. It was so relaxing that we wished we could have stayed longer. Our cottage had one bedroom, a living room and kitchen. The bedroom had 2 double beds. Although the accommodations are somewhat outdated, it was clean and comfortable. We enjoyed relaxing by the pool after hiking in Sequoia National Park. Folks visiting this hotel should take the time to take the short walk to the river behind the ranch. There are stunning views and my kids enjoyed climbing on the rocks. They advertise that breakfast is included. They don't open until 9 am so they encourage folks to get their breakfast the night before. I found the pre-packaged muffins unappetizing and the selection of other breakfast items was poor. I would suggest buying cereal and milk and making your own breakfast if staying here. There is a nice grocery store nearby.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

The rooms is clean and nice, the staff is friendly. Nice grounds with swimming pool and swings/slides. The grassy area is nice to play balls or just sit under the trees. They are part of the Americas Best Value Inn, and join the "Value Club" will save you some money on room rates. The breakfast is just ok, but you can basically go in and grab stuff (fruit, granola bars, packaged rolls and muffins, cans of juice) all throughout the day and it makes good snack food when you go hiking in Sequoia. We forgot our camera battery charger and battery plugged in on the wall. They found it, mailed it to us, and we got it the next day. Great customer service!! We'll definitely stay there again when we go to Sequoia!!

Room Tip: Join the "Value Club" before you make the reservation and you will get a discount.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cypress, Texas
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

The hotel is located in a beautiful country setting and the rooms are "small cabins" spread out along the property. The room is pretty simple, in a spartan way, but it is clean and have the basics. You will have small bathroom, mini fridge, AC unit stuck on the wall (unbelievably noisy), heater, cheap toiletry, a small coffee maker (located on the... bathroom!) and not very comfy beds.

The hotel is close to the Sequoia National Park Entrance (30-min way by car) and has a small but clean pool.

The Internet connection in the room is not available and the management really does not care in getting it working. There is no buffet breakfast: it is a grab-n-go system, made of plain dated bagels, bananas, granola bars and similar cheap stuff.

I believe paying US $ 160 a night (and I made the reservation 6 months in advance!) paid IN ADVANCE is not worth it at all. There must be better options around.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

Quaint, older place to stay when you visit Sequoia National Park. There are 18 cabins arranged around a central grassy area with a nice pool. Just like the 50's, you park right in front of your cabin. We stayed in cabin 12, and everything seemed to work. Comfy bed, microwave with a dial, small dorm refrigerator. Very loud A/C. As others have reported, "breakfast" is packaged snacks, and you have to pick it up after 9:00 am (when the office opens) or before 9:00 pm the night before.

Verizon cell and 4g worked in the cabin, but wifi did not. Cell did not work in "downtown" Three Rivers or the park.

There are a couple of more modern motels in Three Rivers, but if you are looking for something quaint and at least a little old fashioned at the end of the road (which Three Rivers pretty much is), then I would suggest a stay at the Lazy J.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

Friendly staff, old decor and toilet in bad shape. It ran all night, nothing i could fix quickly. Pool is nice but towels are a bit old, especially thinking about how good american towels normally are.
The breakfast in the mornig is a joke, for 150 dollars a night i think it is not particularly acceptable.

I would however recommend staying if driving by for no particular reason.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enfield, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Stayed 2 nights to see sequoia Natl Park. Property is just a few scenic miles from the park entrance. It is a number of small attractive buildings around a central pool. Facility offer BBQ grills and nice grass courtyard and is run by inside family. Breakfast is only packaged goods and fruit but room has microwave and frig to prepare your own. One of the best features of the property is the river behind it with a well-worn trail to reach the swim-able and warm river in an easy 5 minutes scenic walk. The other great feature is the coin operated laundry.

Our room (#10 in the large, meaning 6-unit, building) was tidy and reasonably spacious and clean. It had a through-wall air conditioning unit which cooled the room adequately. I would recommend staying here if you are going to visit sequoia national park... A good combination of location and features. New sequoia national park... Only go there if you love big trees - not much else to see.

Room Tip: You choose from small freestanding brick units (1 and 2 rooms) or the multi-unit building. Either s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn

Address: 39625 Sierra Drive, Three Rivers, CA 93271-9734
Location: United States > California > Three Rivers
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Three Rivers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, BookIt.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Tingo, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lazy j Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn Hotel Three Rivers
Lazy j Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.