We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quant and friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn

Save Saved
You added Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   39625 Sierra Drive, Three Rivers, CA 93271-9734   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Three Rivers
Enfield, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Quant and friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Stayed 2 nights to see sequoia Natl Park. Property is just a few scenic miles from the park entrance. It is a number of small attractive buildings around a central pool. Facility offer BBQ grills and nice grass courtyard and is run by inside family. Breakfast is only packaged goods and fruit but room has microwave and frig to prepare your own. One of the best features of the property is the river behind it with a well-worn trail to reach the swim-able and warm river in an easy 5 minutes scenic walk. The other great feature is the coin operated laundry.

Our room (#10 in the large, meaning 6-unit, building) was tidy and reasonably spacious and clean. It had a through-wall air conditioning unit which cooled the room adequately. I would recommend staying here if you are going to visit sequoia national park... A good combination of location and features. New sequoia national park... Only go there if you love big trees - not much else to see.

Room Tip: You choose from small freestanding brick units (1 and 2 rooms) or the multi-unit building. Either s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    75
    59
    22
    6
    5
See reviews for
77
65
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We stayed here the day we left Sequoia Natl Park to break up the drive to the Southern Califonian coast and were very pleasantly surprized. The reception was very friendly and all relevant information was provided, including a great dinner recommendation (River View Cafe with great burgers). The motel has nice, old fashioned rooms all facing the drive/garden with a nice and very clean pool as well as playground/volleyball pitch. Our two kids really had a great time and enjoyed a good run around/swim.

Only point of criticism would be the airconditioning - the daytime temperature was around 100 F and the night quite warm, however the airco was so noisy that we had to switch it off - that resulted in not the greatest sleep.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun City Center, Fl
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We enjoyed our stay when we visited Sequoia. It is not far from the entrance of the park. The grounds are very pretty, the beds were comfy and the room nice and clean. Breakfast is served in the office with means to bring it back to your room. There is a small laundry on the premises which we used for a nominal fee. Office personnel were helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
az
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Lovely find! Cool oasis. Had a 2 room suite that fronted the road. No road noise. REFRESHING pool at the end of a long hot drive. Pizza in town is overated. Had a picnic on the property. Friendly staff. Clean room. Micro\Refrig.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

The Lazy J Ranch is old but clean. Nothing to write home about but nothing to complain about either. Check-in was easy and staff was friendly. It's an easy drive to the Sequoia National Park entrance.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

This place was a real gem of a find! It's a working sheep ranch, under the beautiful backdrop of the Sierra Nevada range at the base of Sequoia National Park, that just happens to do a motel business. Each unit is it's own little cottage, and the place is family-run. It has a very down home feel, like an intimate resort from the 50's with it's kidney-shaped pool, and gazebo that overlooks it. The family who runs it is very nice, and this is overall the best kept secret in the realm of lodging in this area! It is part of the "America's Best Value Inns" club, but does not feel commercial in any way. It's just sweet and very, very relaxing. I wish we could've stayed another night!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

My family and I stayed at the Lazy J for our Fourth of July vacation. The rooms are clean and comfortable. Ours had a kitchen, with all of the necessary tools provided. The Weber Bar-B-Que they provided was put to good use on our back patio. Our dog "Scruffy" was very much at home in our room and roaming their expansive lawn. The hotel is situated within walking distance to the river. This is our 15th year staying at the Lazy J. We feel right at home.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a kitchenette. (#'s 1-5)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn

Address: 39625 Sierra Drive, Three Rivers, CA 93271-9734
Location: United States > California > Three Rivers
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Three Rivers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , BookIt.com, Tingo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lazy j Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn Hotel Three Rivers
Lazy j Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.