We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of our favorite places...anywhere!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn

Save Saved
You added Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   39625 Sierra Drive, Three Rivers, CA 93271-9734   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Three Rivers
Santa Rosa, California
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“One of our favorite places...anywhere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Our family has been coming to the Lazy J once or twice a year for almost 30 years. In fact, for several years we held Thanksgiving there, so beautiful and relaxing is the setting. We book one of the double rooms (1 queen in one room; two queens and a sofabed in the other) that are connected by a kitchen. We pile in food, pets, kids and then hole up, hoping for rain. It's a wonderful place to do a whole lot of nothing. The hotel is within easy walking distance of the Kaweah River and, when the sun is out, the view of the Sequoias is breathtaking. This last trip was right after a winter storm and Sequoia National Park was frosted with snow. Three Rivers, especially during non-summer months, is a quiet, one-street town that has really fun places to eat, should you want to go out. This is the perfect family place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    74
    56
    21
    6
    5
See reviews for
73
65
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We stayed here after an early season winter storm disrupted our camping plans at Lodgepole.

The rooms are pretty dated, but adequate. Fridge and microwave were helpful for traveling with kids and picnic supplies. The continental breakfast was not exciting, but not a huge deal.

Out back of the hotel is river access, with a beautiful view of the foothills.

Cabins are only about a 20 minute drive to the Sequoia entrance - rating reflects the convenience factor.

Would stay here again - reasonably priced for this area. Not luxury by any means, but a good home base to explore the foothills area, and the kids really love the open grounds.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

On our way from Barstow to Sequoia NP we had a stop in Three Rivers. We planned one night but made it 2 because of the Lazy J Ranch. Very comfortable attached cabins in a serene surrounding. There was a very nice little swimming pool were we spend almost an entire day just relaxing. A complimentary breakfast was served but don't expect to much.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston,Tx
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I stopped here for a few days to see the Big Trees and do some hiking and found this gem of a motel. The people who own it take great pride in this place, it is clean,comfortable and reasonable priced. I enjoyed a few days in November and I am sure in warmer times the pool is delightful as are the grounds. All and all a great place to stay

Room Tip: They all seemed nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lunenburg, massachusetts
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We had a great experience staying here for 1 night while seeing Sequoia Park. Checkin was very easy, and they gave great advise on how to spend a day and a half outside as well as a large selection of videos to watch in the room.

The setting was perfect with beautiful scenery, river along the back and about 2 miles from restaurants and 8 miles from park entrance.

There was a play area for the kids and nice looking pool, but too cold for me to get into.

The breakfast was basic but great for us, selection of granola bars, muffins, bagels and fruit. Was perfect to eat on our way into park.

Overall, it was well maintained and looked equivalent or better than any other place we drove past.

Would certainly stay here again and recommend to friends.

Room Tip: Room 14 had 2 separate bedrooms with a bathroom in between, perfect for parents in one room and kids...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annecy, France
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

I liked it. I think another review got it right: it's got a nice vibe. Sure, it's not the most modern but it was clean, functional and quiet. And a nice welcome from the owner. Three Rivers is not humming with excitement in out-of-season October and my eating experience was not fantastic but that's no fault of the Lazy J. The motel is a short stretch out of town so you need to drive to find a restaurant.

Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yokneam, Israel
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

The not so good: It is a bit outdated, breakfast is poor and offered either after 9AM or in the evening before.
We used the second option as we rose early for the park.
The loundry machines were rusty.
The good: Clean room, nice beds, clean property, nice swimming pool, great location and surroundings,
Reception was okay, didn't help too much but was not asked for.
Definitely a good value for the price we paid

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn

Address: 39625 Sierra Drive, Three Rivers, CA 93271-9734
Location: United States > California > Three Rivers
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Three Rivers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , BookIt.com, Tingo and Agoda so you can book your Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lazy j Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn Hotel Three Rivers
Lazy j Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.