We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A true oasis” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn to your Saves list
Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   39625 Sierra Drive, Three Rivers, CA 93271-9734   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Three Rivers
Certificate of Excellence
Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A true oasis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

On our way from Barstow to Sequoia NP we had a stop in Three Rivers. We planned one night but made it 2 because of the Lazy J Ranch. Very comfortable attached cabins in a serene surrounding. There was a very nice little swimming pool were we spend almost an entire day just relaxing. A complimentary breakfast was served but don't expect to much.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    70
    27
    6
    5
See reviews for
85
76
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston,Tx
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I stopped here for a few days to see the Big Trees and do some hiking and found this gem of a motel. The people who own it take great pride in this place, it is clean,comfortable and reasonable priced. I enjoyed a few days in November and I am sure in warmer times the pool is delightful as are the grounds. All and all a great place to stay

Room Tip: They all seemed nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lunenburg, massachusetts
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We had a great experience staying here for 1 night while seeing Sequoia Park. Checkin was very easy, and they gave great advise on how to spend a day and a half outside as well as a large selection of videos to watch in the room.

The setting was perfect with beautiful scenery, river along the back and about 2 miles from restaurants and 8 miles from park entrance.

There was a play area for the kids and nice looking pool, but too cold for me to get into.

The breakfast was basic but great for us, selection of granola bars, muffins, bagels and fruit. Was perfect to eat on our way into park.

Overall, it was well maintained and looked equivalent or better than any other place we drove past.

Would certainly stay here again and recommend to friends.

Room Tip: Room 14 had 2 separate bedrooms with a bathroom in between, perfect for parents in one room and kids...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annecy, France
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

I liked it. I think another review got it right: it's got a nice vibe. Sure, it's not the most modern but it was clean, functional and quiet. And a nice welcome from the owner. Three Rivers is not humming with excitement in out-of-season October and my eating experience was not fantastic but that's no fault of the Lazy J. The motel is a short stretch out of town so you need to drive to find a restaurant.

Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yokneam, Israel
Level Contributor
125 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

The not so good: It is a bit outdated, breakfast is poor and offered either after 9AM or in the evening before.
We used the second option as we rose early for the park.
The loundry machines were rusty.
The good: Clean room, nice beds, clean property, nice swimming pool, great location and surroundings,
Reception was okay, didn't help too much but was not asked for.
Definitely a good value for the price we paid

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coromandel, New Zealand
Level Contributor
51 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

No motel rooms available so proprietor offered a cottage at motel prices provided we didn't cook. The compendium was full to the brim of helpful interesting history and other information. It took a while to read all the articles provided. Rooms were well appointed, and the grounds exceptional, in an otherwise dry and burnt landscape. Breakfast was available at reception to be taken back to rooms. (lots of healthy options available). Motellier pointed out roadworks in Np could delay our travel and gave good information about best times to arrive at road work area to avoid delay.
Generally a good experience, although morning came and coffe machine wouldn't work in plug in kitchen neither would toaster, I finally found a power point in bedroom that worked to operate these.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

The Lazy J Ranch is a "50s" type roadside motel -- duplex cottages in a peaceful setting with green grass and trees on the south side of town. The rooms are basic and clean, but as others have said, need some serious updating. Towels are very thin. There is a pool, but we didn't try it. The ice machine works -- and in the hot summer temps that's crucial. It comes with prepackaged continental breakfast that is best left in the motel office where you must pick it up the night before. For a good breakfast, made to order, all the variety you may wish to have, go to the We Three Bakery on the north side of town, about the last place as you drive towards Sequoia National Park (beyond the ice cream place which is excellent).

If I were to go back to Three Rivers I'd stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: No idea. We noted that we were in the area to the left as you enter the property. The didn't s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn

Address: 39625 Sierra Drive, Three Rivers, CA 93271-9734
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Three Rivers
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Three Rivers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, BookIt.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions and Orbitz so you can book your Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lazy j Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn Hotel Three Rivers
Lazy j Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.