We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, quiet, comfortable.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn

Save Saved
You added Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   39625 Sierra Drive, Three Rivers, CA 93271-9734   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Three Rivers
santa monica
2 reviews
“Beautiful, quiet, comfortable.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

The rooms are clean and comfortable. The grounds are beautiful and spacious. This Inn is perfect for families and welcomes dogs. It's located on a large piece of property but consists of single story rooms and a few cottages so it is far from over crowded. It is family owned and operated. The owners and staff are friendly and ready to help with anything you might need assistance with. Going to Sequoia and/or Kings Canyon? this is the place to stay.

Room Tip: All rooms are wonderful but if you will be staying for a while I recommend a cottage with a kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    73
    54
    21
    6
    5
See reviews for
72
64
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Stayed here for two nights in the 4th of July week 2012. I had made a reservation before by phone, securing by credit card. Staff were friendly on check-in, though the procedure of picking up breakfast supplies peculiar. The reception only opens at 09:00 AM, so if you want to start your day earlier, you need to pick up breakfast for the next day on the evening prior. There were apricots freshly picked by the owner though, that was a nice touch.

The cabins are OK, but the airconditioning is very noisy and not good with the sweltering heat we had. The grounds outside are nice, but in the evenings there are lots of insects. Our kids loved the pool. All in all an OK base to explore the Sequoia park, but the price we paid (Cottage with two beds and sofa sleeper plus full kitchen @ $175 per night plus 10% tax) seemed too high for the quality and somewhat outdated rooms.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arusha, Tanzania
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

We were happily pleased with our 2-night stay here as a family. The rooms were spacious and spotless and had comfortable beds. The rooms were very quiet. They have a large selection of VHS and DVDs for kids and adults + TV/DVD-VHS players in the rooms. They provide a selection of non-perishable breakfast items, which was convenient. The location was beautiful. The pool was warm and clean and great for kids at the end of a hot summer day of hiking. Great value and highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Colorado, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

We had plenty of standard hotels this trip so took a chance on something different. Stayed here after Sequoia all day. Pleasant grounds for walking after all those winding switchbacks down the mountains. Dry pasture between motel and the river. Goats were a curiosity for our dog. Cabin was small but served our purpose for a quiet overnight stay. Other families staying seemed to have fun at the pool. We expected the continental breakfast so no surprise there.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, GA
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights when we went to Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Parks. The motel is very cute and quaint. Reminds me of the motels of the past. The grounds were very attractive and you could walk to the lake. It was very quiet and peaceful at night. We were traveling with a small dog and our adult daughter. We were able to get Room 14 which consisted of 2 small separate bedrooms with an adjoining small bathroom. This setup was great for us! The staff was very friendly. You do need to pick up your continental breakfast the night before since the office doesn't open until 9:00am. The breakfast consisted of your choice of muffins, bagels, juices, fruit, yogurt, etc. The only minor problem we had was a rattling air conditioner, which I didn't report until we checked out.

Room Tip: Ask for room 14 if traveling with older children-separate bedroom with adjoining bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

If you fancy ants in your bathroom, maids entering your room whilst the "Do not disturb" sign is attached to the door and visible, smoke (from barbecue grills near rooms), Disheveled staff, and nonstandard motel arrangement, then this is the place for you. My family and I decided to stay here after much planning, choosing the rustic, old-fashioned, seemingly charming motel over the modern Comfort Inn right down the street. Throughout our stay at the ranch, we regretted our choice more and more. After our first trip to Sequoia National Park, we returned to find that our room had been tidied somewhat, against our wishes, with total disregard of the "Do Not Disturb" sign they themselves provided. Items ARE missing. The lazy J did have many guests attending their motel. The only problem was that most of them weren't human. Be it ants invading the bathrooms, or mosquitoes from the nearby lake (not their fault, but the Lazy J has a deplorable location), the Lazy J is teeming with activity... The pool is o.k., and there is a volleyball net in the courtyard lawn (w/ weathered equipment), but the negatives outweigh the positives by far. Do not stay here.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denbigh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Our reception was friendly and positive. We were amazed to find that our cottage was actually two cottages with an adjoining door. So, we actually had two bedrooms, each with its own tv...and one with fridge and coffee maker. This suited us down to the ground! We had the first cottage as you come into the site (on the right). This gave us our own car park and a fantastic spot for viewing wildlife....rabbits, squirrels, scrub and stellars jays, woodpeckers galore...we spent ages just photographing them.....by the reception office there are humming birds...and still on the grounds, by the lake white herons. The rooms were clean and the beds were good. Our only complaint about the cottage was a very ill fitting air con unit in one room, far beyond its best...held together by duct tape....which seemed to let a lot of water onto the carpet from an unknown source. This was cleared/dried up by the owners...but we never asked where the water had come from....we suspect that watering of the garden by automatic sprinklers had allowed water in through the ill-fitting aircon. This would be very off-putting to a lot of people...however, it DID work, and we were sleeping in the other room and because we were so happy in our cottage with its little covered verandah and with the collect-the evening-before continental breakfast....and with the general appearance of the grounds, we didn't find it worth complaining further. The Americas Best Value inn toiletries were good and included mouth wash which was replenished daily. So, overall a very positive and enjoyable experience....but our advice would be: please get a new aircon unit in there. Excellent place to visit Sequoia...but we found that if you wanted to get to Kings Canyon you needed a lot more time and possibly go via Fresno. We loved the Mineral King road and drove that to its end point....a full day trip in itself.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn

Address: 39625 Sierra Drive, Three Rivers, CA 93271-9734
Location: United States > California > Three Rivers
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Three Rivers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, BookIt.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Tingo, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lazy j Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn Hotel Three Rivers
Lazy j Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.