We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We were very happy here!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn to your Saves list
Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   39625 Sierra Drive, Three Rivers, CA 93271-9734   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Three Rivers
Certificate of Excellence
Denbigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“We were very happy here!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Our reception was friendly and positive. We were amazed to find that our cottage was actually two cottages with an adjoining door. So, we actually had two bedrooms, each with its own tv...and one with fridge and coffee maker. This suited us down to the ground! We had the first cottage as you come into the site (on the right). This gave us our own car park and a fantastic spot for viewing wildlife....rabbits, squirrels, scrub and stellars jays, woodpeckers galore...we spent ages just photographing them.....by the reception office there are humming birds...and still on the grounds, by the lake white herons. The rooms were clean and the beds were good. Our only complaint about the cottage was a very ill fitting air con unit in one room, far beyond its best...held together by duct tape....which seemed to let a lot of water onto the carpet from an unknown source. This was cleared/dried up by the owners...but we never asked where the water had come from....we suspect that watering of the garden by automatic sprinklers had allowed water in through the ill-fitting aircon. This would be very off-putting to a lot of people...however, it DID work, and we were sleeping in the other room and because we were so happy in our cottage with its little covered verandah and with the collect-the evening-before continental breakfast....and with the general appearance of the grounds, we didn't find it worth complaining further. The Americas Best Value inn toiletries were good and included mouth wash which was replenished daily. So, overall a very positive and enjoyable experience....but our advice would be: please get a new aircon unit in there. Excellent place to visit Sequoia...but we found that if you wanted to get to Kings Canyon you needed a lot more time and possibly go via Fresno. We loved the Mineral King road and drove that to its end point....a full day trip in itself.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    78
    29
    8
    5
See reviews for
97
77
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Level Contributor
51 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

This is an older style motel with a laid back slower pace. The first thing you'll notice is the Adirondack style chairs in front of the rooms. Folks are outside having a beverage or coffee in the Am and enjoying life. Its quiet. Despite being near CA-4 very little traffic and you can hear the birds chirping in the morning very clearly. Nice open area and a kids playground area with swings and slide. We checked into cabin 5 and it has two queen beds and a pull out couch so can sleep up to 5. There is a nice kitchen which is fully equipped (no salt and pepper though)

Some rooms are attached but cabins 1-5 are small little houses.

We used the pool which is unheated but in July it was 95 degrees F during the day so this was not an issue. It is a nice pool with 3 foot depth up to 9 feet. we enjoyed the pool a few times. It was used by a lot of the folks. but never too crowed. Most times we had it to ourselves.

Behind cabin 5 is a horseshoe pit and tether ball we used both it was great fun. They also have BBQ grills you can use if you want. Some of the cabins have picnic benches in the back. There is a corral with sheep and goats. Nice touch and makes it very farm like. You can walk to the river and several folks from the motel were fishing.

The kitchen has a small table for 4. We went to the village market about 3 minutes away for food and cooked. Nice respite from all the restaurant eating on this trip. Need to clean dishes before you check out.

We stayed here as all the lodging at sequoia was sold out. It was a good choice. Its about an hour to the trees. They are majestic. They are repairing the road there and the road opens on at the top of the hour for about 10 minutes. On the way down it opens on the quarter hour (say 10:15)

There were a few spiders in the rooms corners but nothing of concern to us. Didn't bother us. The showers were great with lots of pressure. They have a top heater also which would be nice in cooler weather. Nice towels and good service daily. Coffeemaker and coffee for Am.

The owners are German and spoke fluent German to a few guest right ahead of me in the checkout line. They have a great DVD and VHS movies in the office for checkout. Kids loved this. The Breakfast is continental and they open at 9am but gave a nice offer to take the food to the room for preparation if you get up before 9am (which is most people)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
160 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

By the time we arrived at Lazy J, we needed to wash clothes. The posted times were 12-9 pm. I was able to finish my load by 9 pm, but the clothes were still wet because the dryer is awful. The dryer is rusted and disgusting, but we found out that it also doesn't do the job. We had to lay our clothes out all over the room to dry which gave our family of 4 no room to walk around. The clothes were still wet in the morning, but we couldn't use the dryer again before noon which of course was after check out time. Oh, you may see danishes out when you check in so if you want breakfast, get them then. Otherwise, they are gone in the morning and no one is there when you turn in the keys. As others have stated, bugs are a problem. Make sure you spray yourself before bed or, like my son, you will wake up with bites all over you .

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

I took a solo trip to Sequoia National Park and book this hotel on a last minute basis. Indeed I was overcharged for the two-night stay. Unfortunately my stay was not pleasant as other travelers had indicated. There was a slight odor in the room when I first walked in. Secondly, there were many uninvited guests (small critters) on the bed and on the wall. I was not able to address this issue to the staffs because apparently their office hours were from 9am-9pm. Needless to say, I slept on the uncomfortable chair. I had no intentions whatsoever to sleep anywhere near the bed. I was supposed to check out on Friday morning however I could not stay here an extra night. I left immediately after my planned visit to Sequoia on Thursday evening. On a brighter note, the location was advertised "within minutes from Sequoia/ Kings Canyon". That was the ONLY reason why I chose this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buellton, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

The Lazy J Ranch Motel is truly an escape from the stress of every day life. My family and I have been coming here for years and I would recommend it to anyone looking for a great place to spend with friends and family. The location is beautiful, you can walk to Lake Kaweah in minutes and look up at the snow capped Mountains, I loved coming here as a child, and now my own children count down the days until we can go hang out at The Lazy J. The owners and staff are great people who are very welcoming, accomodating and take great pride in providing a fun family enviornment. If you are headed to the Sequoias, take an additional day and stay at the Lazy J!! If not.....go out of your way to experience Three Rivers and all it has to offer.

Room Tip: No need for a fitness center. There are plenty of places to walk and hike by the river and Lake Kaw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

we stayed here one night after visiting sequoia national park. very friendly owner (with a very friendly office cat, 3 super-friendly Labradors, sheeps & goats.) nice and clean room with 2 king size beds. 5 minute walk to the lake where you can go swimming. there is also a pool that seems very nice too. 3 minute drive to restaurants to dine in the evening.
I loved it here. Very quiet & relaxing!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

Short vacation to Sequoia/Kings Canyon. When we checked in Jason was very helpful with input on park roads and local places to eat.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Three Rivers
3.6 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#6 of 6 in Three Rivers
3.0 of 5 stars 211 reviews
19.6 mi away
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
#1 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 444 reviews
16.5 mi away
Wuksachi Lodge
Wuksachi Lodge
#3 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 1,536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.6 mi away
John Muir Lodge
John Muir Lodge
#2 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 251 reviews
14.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Exeter Inn & Suites
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn

Address: 39625 Sierra Drive, Three Rivers, CA 93271-9734
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Three Rivers
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Three Rivers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lazy j Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn Hotel Three Rivers
Lazy j Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.