We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for families or couples” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn to your Saves list
Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   39625 Sierra Drive, Three Rivers, CA 93271-9734   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Winter Savings-Save 15%
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Three Rivers
Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great for families or couples”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

The Lazy J was a perfect combination of comfortable and unique. The ranch component consisted of three goats and two sheep in fenced paddocks...fun for the kids to have animals! The rooms are basically duplex cabin with a fridge and microwave, comfortable chairs for reading,etc. The rooms were spotless. My only minor complaint was that they used too much air freshener when they cleaned daily. The property was well maintained with a swing set for the kids, lots of grass to run around on and a well maintained small pool, perfect after a day of hiking.
The river accessed by walking behind the motel (better poolsforswimming) or driving to the recreation area about 1/4 mile down the road is spectacular filled with huge boulders, surrounded by the hills. Breakfasts were pretty basic, but there were lots of choices, including fresh fruit and granola bars. Why stay at a chain motel when you can stay with friendly local folks at the Lazy J.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    66
    26
    6
    5
See reviews for
80
72
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lodi, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

The room was smallish with dowdy 70's-ish furnishings. The beds are terrible! The promised breakfast consisted of packaged muffins and danishes that we had to pick up the night before. Not sure why they advertise river access as there was none. Lazy J is the furthest hotel in Three Rivers from the Sequoia and if I were to do this again I would try staying at the (closer to the park and more modern) Comfort Inn.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

What an amazing performance from a family owned business! Really well done and I can't wait to come back with my family.

Truth be told, I was here with my family about 25 years ago. The place has been updated has all of the features that I remembered and loved.

The good...
The location is perfect. Very close to Sequoia. Very close to town. Right on the river. Yes, ON the river. Great hiking, great swimming (for those who are comfortable), great pool. Lovely playground for the kids with volleyball and tether ball.

BBQ's available for grilling. In fact, this creates a really nice sense of community here as many families sit on their porches sharing food and drinks.

Pool is clean and warm. This was wonderful after the drive.

The rooms could not have been cleaner if they tried. Some have complained about the signs indicating that each guest needs to clean up after him or herself with respect to the dishes...There is good reason for this. If you don't do it, because of the heat, ants will invade and make a mess for everyone. Seriously, grow up and do your own dishes.

Highlight, however, is the staff and owners. When they found out that I enjoy baking cookies, they made sure that I had a brand new cookie sheet. Seriously! What amazing service that made me and my family feel right at home.

The goats, sheep, dogs, and cats were simply amazing. My kids even got to feed them (with special permission of course...the animals are on strict diets and the owners were amazingly accommodating).

The bad...
This was actually my bad as I can't blame the hotel...it took a while for the a/c to cool the room because when I turned on the fan, I didn't activate the cooling unit. I can't blame the hotel for having bad directions...this was entirely my fault ("step one: turn on fan. step two: turn on cooling unit." For those of you keeping score at home, if you stop after step one, the room won't get cool.)

The ugly...
Nothing ugly...great stay, great staff, great experience with the owners. Wonderful!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

The Lazy J was such a comforting, easy, relaxing place to stay. Everyone we met from the staff, owner, owner's family to the guests were such a pleasure to visit with. There were people staying there that were having a family reunion and it was perfect for that. Vollyball and horse shoes and the pool and bbq's. It was a charming place and we fell in love with it. Our bed was so comfortable and wonderful to sink into after a day of hiking and swimming. Our in-room fridge held our pints of ice cream from Reimers candy and ice cream perfectly! The grounds were lovely, the rooms clean and comfortable. Couldn't ask for more.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel Valley, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

The grounds of the hotel are really lovely (pool, landscaping, next to the river, some farm animals, etc.) and our room was clean, had AC, and provided everything we needed including a nice-sized bathroom. Staff was friendly and gave us a good introduction to dining options in Three Rivers. Side Note: dining options are pretty limited around here. Our only complaint was the mattresses were lumpy and need to be replaced, at least in our unit. All in all, we spent most of our time hiking in the parks and not on-site, so we wished the beds were more comfortable, but we enjoyed it nonetheless. Great for all kinds of travelers!

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NH seacoast
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

What a quaint location at the base of Sequoia National Forest. Stayed with my daughter and we loved it! We had a cabin which while basic, had everything we needed and was sparkling clean. The views are priceless and the innkeepers are charming. Can't wait to go back to the area.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2011

Stopped at this motel style hotel after an awfull stay in Fresno. Found it to be very clean and peacefull with views of the hills. This is one of the best motels that we have stopped at so far on our trip - although it is also one of the more pricey as well. We had a large King room with reasonably modern decor. Some small aspects a little on the under maintained side but not enough to be a problem. Internet access is fast and reliable. Breakfast however lets this hotel down, - it consists of very cheap products and coffee is almost undrinkable - for the price of the room I think the breakfast is very poor. Previous review mentions the walk to the river - make sure you stay to the path around the field at the rear of the property - dont turn right onto the adjacent field otherwise you will end up on a sort of marsh land that goes no where. NIce for a short evening stroll. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn

Address: 39625 Sierra Drive, Three Rivers, CA 93271-9734
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Three Rivers
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Three Rivers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Agoda, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lazy j Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn Hotel Three Rivers
Lazy j Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.