We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint, friendly, clean, affordable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn to your Saves list
Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   39625 Sierra Drive, Three Rivers, CA 93271-9734   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Three Rivers
NH seacoast
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Quaint, friendly, clean, affordable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

What a quaint location at the base of Sequoia National Forest. Stayed with my daughter and we loved it! We had a cabin which while basic, had everything we needed and was sparkling clean. The views are priceless and the innkeepers are charming. Can't wait to go back to the area.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    65
    25
    6
    5
See reviews for
79
69
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2011

Stopped at this motel style hotel after an awfull stay in Fresno. Found it to be very clean and peacefull with views of the hills. This is one of the best motels that we have stopped at so far on our trip - although it is also one of the more pricey as well. We had a large King room with reasonably modern decor. Some small aspects a little on the under maintained side but not enough to be a problem. Internet access is fast and reliable. Breakfast however lets this hotel down, - it consists of very cheap products and coffee is almost undrinkable - for the price of the room I think the breakfast is very poor. Previous review mentions the walk to the river - make sure you stay to the path around the field at the rear of the property - dont turn right onto the adjacent field otherwise you will end up on a sort of marsh land that goes no where. NIce for a short evening stroll. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2011

we came for the night...and stayed three. the owners were really friendly and helpful, the setting and grounds are fabulous, the area is fascinating.
there's a lot of wildlife round here - it's part of the charm (hummingbirds feeding at hte motel office window!) but it got into the room despite the window screens. Nothing venomous but there were a lot of flying insects distracting us, and the maid service was the one turn-off. Dead insects on the window sill that stayed there the whole three days, and the ice hopper was green with algae.
but if you're looking for a rural retreat with all that that implies, this is heavenly.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2011

From the outside, this quaint looking group of cottages and apartments is just lovely- a very comfortable looking place with a nice pool and well maintained grassy area right in the center of the small community. A beautiful hillside and grassy fields provide nice scenery as well. However, once you are inside of the rooms you realize that the owners, who live on the property, do not put much money into maintaining the place. Our room had both plumbing and A/C issues (the A/C basically didn't work and the toilet barely flushes) and the towels provided are the thin ones similar to the ones you see in the Dollar Stores. The hotel is convenient to many restaurants within a short drive but nothing really within walking distance. Most disturbing to us was the advertisement of "access to river" promoted by the owners of this hotel- they provide a hand drawn map that supposedly shows you how to access the river behind the hotel. Wrong. What you can access is a field of waist high grass filled with ticks with ankle level barbed wire hidden throughout the field. I explored this field for half an hour finding no obvious trails to the river- although there of dozens of trails in the grass made by other guests wandering around this field looking for the river access. We were there three days and I observed several other guests wandering around this grassy field in circles looking for a trail that doesn't exist, at least not in April. Not sure why they like to advertise that feature.
Overall, an adequate hotel for a short stay, but nothing spectacular.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxnard, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2011

My boyfriend booked Lazy J's online because it looked to be near the river...We were very pleased to find out that the river is walking distance from the Motel...We fell in love with Lazy J's because of it's tranquility, peaceful atmosphere, friendly customer service & amazing views! We ended booking a second night after visiting the Sequoia National Park because the other lodges did not seem as comfy & cozy as Lazy J's....We were given an upgrade and had the most amazing weekend there! I recommend this to any couple who wants to getaway from the city & away from all the noise...Lazy J's is perfect for a couple's getaway....We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvilazyj, Owner at Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, April 27, 2011
We appreciate your taking the time to review our property and are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We strive to provide our guests with clean and comfortable rooms in a beautiful foothills setting. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temple City, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2011

Checked in on a Friday afternoon. Very quick and friendly service. The rooms were reserved and were ready. There is a one time charge of $10.00 for dogs.
We booked a regular hotel room. It was complete with coffee maker, microwave oven, flat screen television and dvd/vcr player. The main office had a good selection of movies to borrow. The room had a king sized bed and a comfortable easy chair and table. Very nice amenities. The patio had four chairs and a table.
I loved the onsite goats and sheep; so did the dog. The grounds were wonderful to stroll on. There is river access from the property.
The continental breakfast is fine: you take it to your room after checking in. Free wi-fi worked, too.

Room Tip: Rooms with full kitchen are available.
See more room tips
Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvilazyj, Owner at Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, April 27, 2011
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We try to provide our guests with a comfortable stay in a beautiful setting at a reasonable price. We appreciate your comments and feedback and thank you for taking the time to review our property. We appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hollywood, california
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2010

We've been staying in this great collection of cabins ever since the cabins in Sequoia were removed from the park several years ago. It is an hours drive up to the Giant Forest from the Lazy J, but the journey is part of the experience...it's interesting to see the different ecological zones you pass through on the way up to Giant Forest...and when you crest the hill, take a right to Crescent Meadow for some wonderful hikes with the whole family.
The Flying J offers so much in the way of amenities...pool, kitchenettes (the restaurants in 3 Rivers suck!), miles of riverfront hiking, cable...and until recently no cell service, something I treasure. We're headed up for the Thanksgiving weekend...there's snow in the park...and killer dining down at the Vintage Press in Visalia. Looking forward to some long walks down to Lake Kaweah as well. Great place to unplug and relax.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvilazyj, Owner at Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, January 28, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We appreciate your comments and feedback. We strive to provide you with the best lodging experience possible at the most reasonable rates and we appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn

Address: 39625 Sierra Drive, Three Rivers, CA 93271-9734
Location: United States > California > Three Rivers
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Three Rivers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lazy j Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn Hotel Three Rivers
Lazy j Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.