We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful and relaxing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn to your Saves list
Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   39625 Sierra Drive, Three Rivers, CA 93271-9734   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay & Save 15%
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Three Rivers
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Peaceful and relaxing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2011

Stopped at this motel style hotel after an awfull stay in Fresno. Found it to be very clean and peacefull with views of the hills. This is one of the best motels that we have stopped at so far on our trip - although it is also one of the more pricey as well. We had a large King room with reasonably modern decor. Some small aspects a little on the under maintained side but not enough to be a problem. Internet access is fast and reliable. Breakfast however lets this hotel down, - it consists of very cheap products and coffee is almost undrinkable - for the price of the room I think the breakfast is very poor. Previous review mentions the walk to the river - make sure you stay to the path around the field at the rear of the property - dont turn right onto the adjacent field otherwise you will end up on a sort of marsh land that goes no where. NIce for a short evening stroll. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank polymol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2011

we came for the night...and stayed three. the owners were really friendly and helpful, the setting and grounds are fabulous, the area is fascinating.
there's a lot of wildlife round here - it's part of the charm (hummingbirds feeding at hte motel office window!) but it got into the room despite the window screens. Nothing venomous but there were a lot of flying insects distracting us, and the maid service was the one turn-off. Dead insects on the window sill that stayed there the whole three days, and the ice hopper was green with algae.
but if you're looking for a rural retreat with all that that implies, this is heavenly.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suedeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
104 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2011

From the outside, this quaint looking group of cottages and apartments is just lovely- a very comfortable looking place with a nice pool and well maintained grassy area right in the center of the small community. A beautiful hillside and grassy fields provide nice scenery as well. However, once you are inside of the rooms you realize that the owners, who live on the property, do not put much money into maintaining the place. Our room had both plumbing and A/C issues (the A/C basically didn't work and the toilet barely flushes) and the towels provided are the thin ones similar to the ones you see in the Dollar Stores. The hotel is convenient to many restaurants within a short drive but nothing really within walking distance. Most disturbing to us was the advertisement of "access to river" promoted by the owners of this hotel- they provide a hand drawn map that supposedly shows you how to access the river behind the hotel. Wrong. What you can access is a field of waist high grass filled with ticks with ankle level barbed wire hidden throughout the field. I explored this field for half an hour finding no obvious trails to the river- although there of dozens of trails in the grass made by other guests wandering around this field looking for the river access. We were there three days and I observed several other guests wandering around this grassy field in circles looking for a trail that doesn't exist, at least not in April. Not sure why they like to advertise that feature.
Overall, an adequate hotel for a short stay, but nothing spectacular.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank brw115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxnard, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2011

My boyfriend booked Lazy J's online because it looked to be near the river...We were very pleased to find out that the river is walking distance from the Motel...We fell in love with Lazy J's because of it's tranquility, peaceful atmosphere, friendly customer service & amazing views! We ended booking a second night after visiting the Sequoia National Park because the other lodges did not seem as comfy & cozy as Lazy J's....We were given an upgrade and had the most amazing weekend there! I recommend this to any couple who wants to getaway from the city & away from all the noise...Lazy J's is perfect for a couple's getaway....We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara0116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvilazyj, Owner at Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, April 27, 2011
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temple City, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2011

Checked in on a Friday afternoon. Very quick and friendly service. The rooms were reserved and were ready. There is a one time charge of $10.00 for dogs.
We booked a regular hotel room. It was complete with coffee maker, microwave oven, flat screen television and dvd/vcr player. The main office had a good selection of movies to borrow. The room had a king sized bed and a comfortable easy chair and table. Very nice amenities. The patio had four chairs and a table.
I loved the onsite goats and sheep; so did the dog. The grounds were wonderful to stroll on. There is river access from the property.
The continental breakfast is fine: you take it to your room after checking in. Free wi-fi worked, too.

Room Tip: Rooms with full kitchen are available.
See more room tips
Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank tripit10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvilazyj, Owner at Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, April 27, 2011
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We try to provide our guests with a comfortable stay in a beautiful setting at a reasonable price. We appreciate your comments and feedback and thank you for taking the time to review our property. We appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hollywood, california
Level Contributor
164 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2010

We've been staying in this great collection of cabins ever since the cabins in Sequoia were removed from the park several years ago. It is an hours drive up to the Giant Forest from the Lazy J, but the journey is part of the experience...it's interesting to see the different ecological zones you pass through on the way up to Giant Forest...and when you crest the hill, take a right to Crescent Meadow for some wonderful hikes with the whole family.
The Flying J offers so much in the way of amenities...pool, kitchenettes (the restaurants in 3 Rivers suck!), miles of riverfront hiking, cable...and until recently no cell service, something I treasure. We're headed up for the Thanksgiving weekend...there's snow in the park...and killer dining down at the Vintage Press in Visalia. Looking forward to some long walks down to Lake Kaweah as well. Great place to unplug and relax.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hollywoodjaxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvilazyj, Owner at Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, January 28, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We appreciate your comments and feedback. We strive to provide you with the best lodging experience possible at the most reasonable rates and we appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2010

Comfortable and clean. Fairly basic though it had other outdoor facilities which I did not use. Internet connection reliably worked when I sat on the bench outside the office. You collect your breakfast from the motel office by 9pm. The choice was limited - no cereals apart from some rather nasty oatmeal mixes, though, given the room rate, not unexpected. I suggest you buy some cereal and milk in advance elsewhere. My main question is whether it is the best option for seeing the two main sights. The motel as close as you will get to the General Sherman giant sequoia, though even then it is about an hour away up a tortuous road. However Kings Canyon is much further. It takes about two and half hours to the end of the canyon beyond Cedar Grove (take route away from the mountains), so a motel on the road in from Fresno to Squaw Valley (not THE Squaw Valley!) would be much closer. Although you would miss out on the General Sherman, there is another group of giant sequoias in from the park entrance (General Grant Grove). While not quite as big as the General Sherman, I recall the General Grant is about the third biggest and so might be an adequate substitute. This would allow both sights to be covered on the same day. The Mexican restaurant, Serranos, is not recommended.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jmcc150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvilazyj, Owner at Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, January 28, 2011
Thank you for your comments we appreciate the time you took to write your review. Your comments help us to provide you with the best accomodations possible and the best rates
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Three Rivers
3.6 mi away
Sierra Lodge
Sierra Lodge
#5 of 6 in Three Rivers
3.0 of 5 stars 228 reviews
22.6 mi away
John Muir Lodge
John Muir Lodge
#2 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 283 reviews
19.6 mi away
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
Montecito Sequoia Lodge
#1 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 mi away
Wuksachi Lodge
Wuksachi Lodge
#3 of 4 in Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 1,671 reviews
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Sequoia Kings Canyon
0.0 mi away
Western Holiday Lodge Three Rivers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn

Address: 39625 Sierra Drive, Three Rivers, CA 93271-9734
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Three Rivers
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Three Rivers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lazy j Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn Hotel Three Rivers
Lazy j Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing