We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel on the Outside, Lacking on the Inside” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn to your Saves list
Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   39625 Sierra Drive, Three Rivers, CA 93271-9734   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2+ Nights - Save 20%
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Three Rivers
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Charlotte, NC
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel on the Outside, Lacking on the Inside”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2011

From the outside, this quaint looking group of cottages and apartments is just lovely- a very comfortable looking place with a nice pool and well maintained grassy area right in the center of the small community. A beautiful hillside and grassy fields provide nice scenery as well. However, once you are inside of the rooms you realize that the owners, who live on the property, do not put much money into maintaining the place. Our room had both plumbing and A/C issues (the A/C basically didn't work and the toilet barely flushes) and the towels provided are the thin ones similar to the ones you see in the Dollar Stores. The hotel is convenient to many restaurants within a short drive but nothing really within walking distance. Most disturbing to us was the advertisement of "access to river" promoted by the owners of this hotel- they provide a hand drawn map that supposedly shows you how to access the river behind the hotel. Wrong. What you can access is a field of waist high grass filled with ticks with ankle level barbed wire hidden throughout the field. I explored this field for half an hour finding no obvious trails to the river- although there of dozens of trails in the grass made by other guests wandering around this field looking for the river access. We were there three days and I observed several other guests wandering around this grassy field in circles looking for a trail that doesn't exist, at least not in April. Not sure why they like to advertise that feature.
Overall, an adequate hotel for a short stay, but nothing spectacular.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    69
    26
    6
    5
See reviews for
83
74
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxnard, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2011

My boyfriend booked Lazy J's online because it looked to be near the river...We were very pleased to find out that the river is walking distance from the Motel...We fell in love with Lazy J's because of it's tranquility, peaceful atmosphere, friendly customer service & amazing views! We ended booking a second night after visiting the Sequoia National Park because the other lodges did not seem as comfy & cozy as Lazy J's....We were given an upgrade and had the most amazing weekend there! I recommend this to any couple who wants to getaway from the city & away from all the noise...Lazy J's is perfect for a couple's getaway....We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvilazyj, Owner at Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, April 27, 2011
We appreciate your taking the time to review our property and are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We strive to provide our guests with clean and comfortable rooms in a beautiful foothills setting. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temple City, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2011

Checked in on a Friday afternoon. Very quick and friendly service. The rooms were reserved and were ready. There is a one time charge of $10.00 for dogs.
We booked a regular hotel room. It was complete with coffee maker, microwave oven, flat screen television and dvd/vcr player. The main office had a good selection of movies to borrow. The room had a king sized bed and a comfortable easy chair and table. Very nice amenities. The patio had four chairs and a table.
I loved the onsite goats and sheep; so did the dog. The grounds were wonderful to stroll on. There is river access from the property.
The continental breakfast is fine: you take it to your room after checking in. Free wi-fi worked, too.

Room Tip: Rooms with full kitchen are available.
See more room tips
Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvilazyj, Owner at Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, April 27, 2011
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We try to provide our guests with a comfortable stay in a beautiful setting at a reasonable price. We appreciate your comments and feedback and thank you for taking the time to review our property. We appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hollywood, california
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2010

We've been staying in this great collection of cabins ever since the cabins in Sequoia were removed from the park several years ago. It is an hours drive up to the Giant Forest from the Lazy J, but the journey is part of the experience...it's interesting to see the different ecological zones you pass through on the way up to Giant Forest...and when you crest the hill, take a right to Crescent Meadow for some wonderful hikes with the whole family.
The Flying J offers so much in the way of amenities...pool, kitchenettes (the restaurants in 3 Rivers suck!), miles of riverfront hiking, cable...and until recently no cell service, something I treasure. We're headed up for the Thanksgiving weekend...there's snow in the park...and killer dining down at the Vintage Press in Visalia. Looking forward to some long walks down to Lake Kaweah as well. Great place to unplug and relax.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvilazyj, Owner at Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, January 28, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We appreciate your comments and feedback. We strive to provide you with the best lodging experience possible at the most reasonable rates and we appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2010

Comfortable and clean. Fairly basic though it had other outdoor facilities which I did not use. Internet connection reliably worked when I sat on the bench outside the office. You collect your breakfast from the motel office by 9pm. The choice was limited - no cereals apart from some rather nasty oatmeal mixes, though, given the room rate, not unexpected. I suggest you buy some cereal and milk in advance elsewhere. My main question is whether it is the best option for seeing the two main sights. The motel as close as you will get to the General Sherman giant sequoia, though even then it is about an hour away up a tortuous road. However Kings Canyon is much further. It takes about two and half hours to the end of the canyon beyond Cedar Grove (take route away from the mountains), so a motel on the road in from Fresno to Squaw Valley (not THE Squaw Valley!) would be much closer. Although you would miss out on the General Sherman, there is another group of giant sequoias in from the park entrance (General Grant Grove). While not quite as big as the General Sherman, I recall the General Grant is about the third biggest and so might be an adequate substitute. This would allow both sights to be covered on the same day. The Mexican restaurant, Serranos, is not recommended.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvilazyj, Owner at Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, January 28, 2011
Thank you for your comments we appreciate the time you took to write your review. Your comments help us to provide you with the best accomodations possible and the best rates
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crondall
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2010

This is a well run group of cabins just off the highway on the road to Sequoia. Check in was very helpful and friendly and you get a serve yourself take away breakfast in the price. Rate was reasonable but cabin space was limited compared with other places we stayed. It did have a well equipped kitchen and place was well clean and tidy. The pool and grounds were nice too!
Would certainly recommend as a stopover.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvilazyj, Owner at Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, January 28, 2011
Thank you for your review we appreciate your business and want to provide you with the finest accomodations possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Gabriel, California, USA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2010

My family has stayed at Lazy J Ranch Motel for over 20+ years. Nestled at the base of the Sequoia National Park and just outside of Visalia, this retreat offers an escape from the city life with pastoral settings of ranch fields and the breathtaking grand sights of the Sierra Nevada Mountains. Cottages surround the perimeter of the property and several have kitchenettes which have been a haven for my family to enjoy after days spent on the Kaweah Lake or hiking in the Sequoias. Although we have stayed at other nearby motels, none offer the cozy package of amenities such as access to BBQs, picnic tables, movies and a large pool. The staff has always been pleasant, knowledgeable and considerate. I would highly recommend this place as a first option to experience a wilderness hideaway.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvilazyj, Owner at Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, January 28, 2011
We appreciate your taking the time to review our property. We at the Lazy J want to provide you with the best lodging experience possible and we hope to see you again in the near future. Thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn

Address: 39625 Sierra Drive, Three Rivers, CA 93271-9734
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Three Rivers
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Three Rivers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, BookIt.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lazy j Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn Hotel Three Rivers
Lazy j Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lazy J Ranch-Americas Best Value Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.