We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

““Stayed her 3 times love the place”” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sequoia Riverfront Cabins

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Three Rivers
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sequoia Riverfront Cabins
41541 Sierra Drive, Sequoia Kings Canyon, Three Rivers, CA   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
““Stayed her 3 times love the place””
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

Cant believe people have complained about this hotel! I visited here in march 2012 and i'm booking again for 2014. I visited here with my In-Laws in which we booked a two bedroom cabin which was very spacious with a large deck, dining area and full kitchen (toaster, microwave, utensils, full-sized fridge, oven ), living room, and a loft.
In-laws had smaller cabin with balcony and nice view of the river.
The cabin was so clean, comfortable, all the amenities were provided, the staff was very friendly and accommodating, and we really enjoyed the beautiful river area. It was very nice to be out all day and come back to the peace and quiet of this place . It really felt like a home away from home. The complimentary wi-fi was a huge bonus given that many hotels charge a fee per day.
Overall an excellent hotel and with definitely be booking again and again!!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    2
    2
    1
    4
See reviews for
5
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Portola, California
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

I was excited about our stay but as soon as we entered the cabin our hearts sank.
The pros: The proprietors were responsive to our needs when we called about more bedding and for payments (duh). The sinks in the kitchen and bathroom had been cleaned, as expected. The bedding was clean and the 2 mattresses for the queen beds were comfortable enough.
The cons: The place was FILTHY. The floors had probably not been mopped in years (my kids walked around bare-feet for about 5 mins and my husband in his white socks and the soles turned black!). I am not talking about the dust/gravel we carried in on the floor as we were unloading our car (no door mat). We swept that up.
The curtains in the kitchen were covered in a thick layer of dirt and dust but at least we are not eating off that surface, it only adds to poor air quality. The dinner table was just as dirty as the floor. We wiped it off with a kitchen roll and after 2 wipes it turned black. I am not exaggerating. The friggin' dinner table... from where people eat.
The cabin is rented out as accommodating 10 people. Now, this is where it gets tricky. There were 4 ceramic cups in the house (for 10 people!!), 2 plastic cups and 3 old, nasty plastic wine glasses. There were 7 dinner plates, 4 bowls and 4 deep dishes. We had to take turns.
The futon, where people were supposed to sit and sleep, was covered in food stains and food crumbs. I tried wiping it off (with a washcloth, as there was nothing else available) and the washcloth turned black. Again, it was so filthy it probably hasn't been cleaned in years.
The bathroom was interesting; the plug in the bathtub was broken and so the bathtub wouldn't drain properly. The toilet flap was broken (once you flushed, the toilet tank would drain non-stop until you rattled the flush-handle several times), the old trash wicker-basket next to the toilet stunk of urine (who the hell puts porous wicker next to a toilet?!), the bath tub was nasty, the window sills were full of dust, dirt and dead flies, the towels had a funky smell and all the walls and ceiling in the bathroom were covered in dead flies and dirt stains and what looked like fungus.
The outside deck was filthy, dusty and rodent-droppings were around. (I am a health-inspector and am quite familiar with rat-droppings). The outside furniture was so filthy we couldn't sit on it before cleaning it.
We have rented a lot of vacation rentals through the years, and we also have our own vacation rental. This is by far the dirtiest, most poorly equipped one so far. And to think of the money we paid for this is outrageous.
We actually left the cabin cleaner than we received it.
Yes the location is great, but there are plenty of other options in 3 Rivers. Go to them, not this one.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SRFC41541, Manager at Sequoia Riverfront Cabins, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a thorough review of your experience.
First off, I’m truly glad that you enjoyed the location, comfortable beds and good service from our staff.
Would you had stated this issues to our staff during your stay, we would have done everything possible to fix the problems or to get you a new cabin. We take any problem very seriously and use the small size of our operation to our guests advantage by giving each one individual attention.
The fact that our housekeeper missed some spots and not taking enough cups and bowel from Panettiere is unacceptable, and I am sorry for that.

Our goal is to give you such a great experience that you keep coming back.
Again, thank you for taking the time to write and we are looking forward to hosting you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Perfect place to stay! If you decide to go to Sequoia National Park or King's canyon.
The room was cute with a vaulted ceiling and very nice view of the river.
Nice small balcony on river side of cabin, good layout for cooking.Sitting area by the water was nice. Close to river and country atmosphere were quiet and relaxing.
Lots of birds different kind ,quails ,deer also saw a bobcat.My son caught three fish barbecued it, was good. He can't wait to go back again!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

My family of 5 plus my parents stayed here in July. I was a little worried beforehand because of the reviews on this site and others so I emailed Rose with lots of questions about a month before our trip. Rose was very helpful and alleviated all of my concerns. We stayed in the largest of the cabins which sleeps 10 - 2 rooms on the ground floor with a queen bed in each, a queen/full size futon in the living room and two bunkbeds in an overhead loft. You pick up the key to the cabin at the Kaweah General Store and the large cabin is located literally just down the street. It was very clean inside and seemed very well stocked with towels, pillows, blankets and dishes/ kitchen appliances. There were even little packs of coffee and mini shampoos and soaps -- just like at a hotel. Rose let me know there was no maid service and that was fine for us. You are advised not to drink the water from the taps, so we were provided 2 gallons of water that were already cooled inside the refrigerator. Rose said we could get more if needed from the store, but we didn't run out. The Kaweah River is located just a few feet from the back of the cabin. It was a great view! At the time we were there, the river was too rapid for my kids to jump in but it was still nice to be so close. The backyard also had a badminton/volleyball net, barbecue grill and lots of deck chairs. A closet also contained a washer and dryer, but we didn't use so not sure if they were operational.

We brought most of our food with us but also made a trip to the Village Market which is located within walking distance from the cabin. There we picked up perishibles like milk and ground beef. I also need to mention that the cabin had 2 a/c wall units which kept the temperature inside very, very comfortable and cool.

The cabin was within 5 miles to the entrance to the park so that was very convenient. Lake Kaweah is also very close but it didn't seem to have a designated beach or picnic area. Mostly we saw lots of boats at the marina area and some swimmers off the boat launch areas. I wasn't comfortable letting my young kids go swimming there so we didn't visit the Lake.

The only real drawbacks for us were that the cabin is located right off the main street of Three Rivers so traffic noise was an issue one night. Also, on the website, the cabin description says there is a half bathroom in the loft with a sink and toilet. There isn't. So one bathroom for 7 people was a challenge. Also on the website, it mentions a rec room for guests. But this bigger cabin is not located near the other smaller cabins so we never saw that rec room.

Other than those minor things, we really enjoyed our stay and will recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Make sure you communicate with Rose to ensure you will have everything you need/expect
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California / San Pedro
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

SEQUOIA RIVERFRONT CABINS. Three Rivers, CA on the Kaweah river, below the entrance to Sequoia National Park, a few are rustic "old fashioned" cabins ( # 1 - 2 & 3 ) not yet rebuilt and some are newly built cabins all located on the river in a rustic rural wild setting. (no paved parking lot) I would have been happy in the old cabins. Our friends where in old # 3. We had newly rebuilt # 5. Our room was brand new, small, tight & clean & adequate. A nice window on the river side that we left open all night. We had a Queen bed. Flat screen TV on wall if you need it. My wife did not like the pedestal sink in bath. No place to put anything! I took a night stand and put it in the bathroom for her. Tile and wood floors. Could use a small carpet to get sand off of feet! All rooms had chairs & tables behind them on river side. Some rooms had Barbeques. A common area room with microwave, treadmill etc. A common area fire pit & chairs with a supply of fire wood on a patio overlooking river. (bring Lighter fluid and paper & mabye a hatchet?), Picnic tables, A very nice rustic get away to nature. Especially if you are former Idahoan's who live in LA like we do. Some decent restaurants are nearby. I will review a Mexican place called "Serrano's" down river and a River side Diner / Bar called "River View" upriver separately. Note: It is located just outside the entrance to Sequoia National Park. Lots of white water rafters going by as we sat outside here and at the "River View Restaurant & Lounge (Sports bar menu). We enjoyed the sound of the river, watching the rafters go by and the spring bloom. Cost was $97.90 a night double occupancy Queen bed on 06.07.2011. Three Rivers, Ca was a great overnight stop on our journey to Fish Camp at the south entrance to Yosemite! The web site is, ( Sequoiarivercabins.com ) Check in is at the Kaweah General Store. NOTE: Check your room key number. They gave me the wrong keys and it is a bit of a drive back to the store. Also, be sure and ask for your free room bag ice and bottled water for drinking available at the General store. The room water in Bath is river water and should probably not be drank. I was not told this at checking. This is not a fancy place! It is a bit rustic with well worn grounds. We liked it.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the new cabins.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2010

Our family stayed here while visiting Sequoia National Park recently. I have mixed emotions about the cabins.

Here are the good things about our stay:
1. The location is very close to the park entrance. It's an easy jaunt into the park in the morning before the crowds arrive.
2. The cabins are right on a river, so the view out the back window is gorgeous. The kids splashed around on the riverbanks and had a blast.
3. The deluxe cabin was great for a family. It has a bedroom downstairs with a king sized bed and a loft upstairs that could sleep four more. Lots of room! It also has a kitchen, so you could prepare your breakfast and pack picnic lunches for your day out. (Be sure to take a lunch. I never saw any food in the park.) And it had Direct TV, so there are lots of channels to choose from when you're winding down at night.
4. They have a common area that has a pool table, foosball table, and some gym equipment. Again, very old and dirty. But the kids had fun learning how to play pool.
5. The guy that took care of the property was really nice and helpful.

Now, the bad parts:
1. The cabin was FILTHY! There was a layer of dust on everything and cob webs in every corner. When you walked around barefoot, you could feel the dirt on the floor. Yuck! It seemed like no one had used the cabin in a very long time.
2. The bugs were out of control! As soon as something spilled on the kitchen counter, there were ants on it. I had to continually dump the trash outside, so we didn't have a full blown infestation. And every time the front door opened, flies would come in. You couldn't get in and out fast enough to keep them from getting in the cabin.
3. The cabin is RIGHT on the highway. We opened our window to listen to the peaceful sound of the river, but those sounds were drowned out by all of the street noise.
4. The price was very expensive for the quality of the property. We stayed in a similar setting near Yosemite on the same trip. The price was LESS than this one and the cabin and grounds were immaculate!
5. Check in is about a mile down the road at the General Store. So be sure to stop there first or you will have to go back through town to get your key. It's an unusual set up that was confusing after a long day on the road.

So, as you can see, there are good and bad things about this cabins. If I go back to Sequoia, I will look around and see what other options are around the park.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tournai
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2010 via mobile

Mess up your reservation , don't answer phone or Email ( too Busy) ,make you waste your time and ruin everything ( because then everywhere it's booked). Avoid and don't trust .Don't worry , they'll tell you that they are very sorry , they can.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sequoia Riverfront Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sequoia Riverfront Cabins

Also Known As:
Sequoia Riverfront Cabins Hotel
Sequoia Riverfront Cabins Hotel Three Rivers
Address: 41541 Sierra Drive, Sequoia Kings Canyon, Three Rivers, CA
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Three Rivers
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Specialty lodging in Three Rivers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have various cabins that sleep from 2 persons up to 10 persons. All cabins are located on the river, offering river and mountain views.We are located on Highway 198,6 Miles from the entrance to the Sequoia National Park in Three Rivers, CA. The Sequoia Riverfront Cabins is only minutes from Kings Canyon National Park, Lake Kaweah, and the Giant Forest Museum. Just a short drive will take you to Sequoia College, and area shopping..., private access to the back yard and the river.Mini Cabin(#3):One room, featuring one double size bed, small seating area, TV, A/C, refrigerator, microwave and private bath,Small outdoor seating with BBQ.Standard Cabin(4,5):One room, featuring one queen size bed, small seating area, TV, A/C, refrigerator, microwave and private bath, Small outdoor seating with BBQ.Cabin with kitchen(#2):Our small cabin with kitchen features one room only with one queen size bed, a small seating area, TV, A/C, attached kitchen with small dining table. Small outdoor seating with BBQ.Cabins with kitchen and balcony 4 beds ( 6,7,8,9 )These cabins are larger and do have additional a private balcony and a small bedroom upstairs with one dbl. bed and two single beds. Sleeps max. 6 pers.These cabins feature a downstairs living area with one bed (queen or king sized). There is also a seating area, satellite TV (premiere satellite), A/C and private balcony or large wooden deck (#9)Attached is a kitchen and a dining table. Private bath with shower. There is also a loft with one double sized bed and two single beds suited for 4 persons . Outdoor seating with BBQ .Cabin-Suite (#1) for 4 persons:Charming suite, futuring one bed room with one queen bed and a large living room with comfortable seating areas, including pull-out sleeper sofa, TV, VCR, A/C, attached kitchen and dining table. Small deck with BBQ, and seating.Large Family Cabin (# 10) for 10 persons : Two-Bed Room River Front Cabin with private back yard and loft .This cabin is our largest river front cabin, it accommodates up to 10 people.There are two bedrooms located in the main floor with one queen sized bed in each bedroom. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sequoia Riverfront Cabins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Sequoia Riverfront Cabins to your Saves list