We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another trip to this great hike-this time in the summer” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tokopah Falls

Tokopah Falls
Sequoia National Park, Three Rivers, CA
Improve this listing
Attraction details
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
265 reviews
107 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
“Another trip to this great hike-this time in the summer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

I returned on this hike after 3 years. This time my trip was in summer-the waterfall was not quite as powerful, but it was still beautiful. This time instead of seeing a coyote and marmots, we saw marmots, lizards, deer, and pheasants. This hike is good for families, but it can get crowded because it's right off of Lodgepole campground. It is slightly uphill on the way to the waterfall...but it's mostly a level hike. It's ~1.7ish miles to the waterfall. We took stops at the creek on the way there. Water was so refreshing. I highly recommend this hike. Lodgepole campground has restrooms and a stop for the shuttle.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    11
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
132 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“If you go down into the woods today.....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Our first hike after arriving at Sequoia and just a few minutes along the trail we spotted a bear snacking on the opposite side of the river. We had to stop for a while to watch him and take a few photos. The hike itself is pretty good and the falls when you get there worth looking at. Not too busy which was nice compared to some of the main sights at sequoia

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Falls in the Winter”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

There was plenty of water even in the winter. A nice hike with a scenic view and gentle water sounds. The hike was a perfect pick for to burn some calories right before lunch.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annecy, France
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Falls?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

It was a nice walk in the forest (deer, bears, ...) but unfortunately there was no water in the river, which is a bit of a downer for a waterfall. Never mind, next time come in Spring.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Popular trail but heed the signs and don't go on the rocks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Great easy walk. At the end there is a very clear sign saying GO NO FURTHER. Sadly one family chose to ignore this and a child broke her arm. Luckily for them the Rangers came to the rescue!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tokopah Falls also viewed

 

Been to Tokopah Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tokopah Falls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.