We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hike to the falls” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tokopah Falls

Tokopah Falls
Sequoia National Park, Three Rivers, CA
Update attraction details
Type: Waterfalls
Attraction Details
Los Angeles
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A hike to the falls”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

It is a strenuous hike but the view is well worth it. There are a bunch of yellow-bellied marmots that live in the rocks at the falls and are very photogenic. The hardest parts of the hike were the rock falls that had to be traversed. The trip up and back was very scenic. I saw a mama bear and her cub on the way.back down. She has a den in the area and as long as people do not bother her she does not bother with the people. A great sight!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    6
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Clovis, California
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great hike...Accessible for Most”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

Well worth the hike and traversing the trail when it gets a little steep and slippery. The falls at the end are beautiful and I would love to visit again this summer.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wabash, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“beautiful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

a great hike early in the morning when no one else is out. i went alone the second morning and loved it. i ran to the falls and hung around for about 15 minutes and found a great water hole to take a dip in before running back to meet my family for breakfast.

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“very pretty area, best hike we took”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

very pretty area, best hike we took... enought of a climb to feel like we got a little exercise, but not hard at all. pretty path up a canyon area, easy to find and walk on paths

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Felt alot longer than the 1.7 miles posted at the trailhead”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

It says 1.7 miles to the falls but met someone with a GPS on their way back and the clocked over 3 miles and they were only 1/4 of the way back on the trail. It is not a loop trail as someone reviewed. It does start out fairly level but there are lots of rock stairs and spots to scramble over rocks. If you are not in good shape I wouldn't recommend it. It was very hot on some parts of the trail but at the top of the falls you could see snow. It is pretty scenery. Some of the hike is very near to the rushing river and then there are big pine trees and shady areas with ferns and flowers and lots of wildlife. The sign said no dogs allowed however lots of people had little ankle bitters on the trail. Hope they didn't happen upon any bears. It's probably one of the easier trails in the park but by no means for those who are out of shape.

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tokopah Falls also viewed

 
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 

Been to Tokopah Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tokopah Falls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.