We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hike...Accessible for Most” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tokopah Falls

Tokopah Falls
Sequoia National Park, Three Rivers, CA
Improve this listing
Type: Waterfalls
Attraction Details
Clovis, California
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Great hike...Accessible for Most”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

Well worth the hike and traversing the trail when it gets a little steep and slippery. The falls at the end are beautiful and I would love to visit again this summer.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    8
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wabash, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“beautiful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

a great hike early in the morning when no one else is out. i went alone the second morning and loved it. i ran to the falls and hung around for about 15 minutes and found a great water hole to take a dip in before running back to meet my family for breakfast.

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“very pretty area, best hike we took”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

very pretty area, best hike we took... enought of a climb to feel like we got a little exercise, but not hard at all. pretty path up a canyon area, easy to find and walk on paths

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Felt alot longer than the 1.7 miles posted at the trailhead”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

It says 1.7 miles to the falls but met someone with a GPS on their way back and the clocked over 3 miles and they were only 1/4 of the way back on the trail. It is not a loop trail as someone reviewed. It does start out fairly level but there are lots of rock stairs and spots to scramble over rocks. If you are not in good shape I wouldn't recommend it. It was very hot on some parts of the trail but at the top of the falls you could see snow. It is pretty scenery. Some of the hike is very near to the rushing river and then there are big pine trees and shady areas with ferns and flowers and lots of wildlife. The sign said no dogs allowed however lots of people had little ankle bitters on the trail. Hope they didn't happen upon any bears. It's probably one of the easier trails in the park but by no means for those who are out of shape.

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Amazing short hike with lots of wildlife”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

We went with our 2 and half year old daughter early june. It was a wonderful short and easy(not so easy when we had to carry our little one) with lots of wildlife to see on the way to the Topokah falls. We saw a medium sized Black bear and a brown one. It was right on the trail. We also saw some deer. There were these beaver like animals at the end of the hike. The hike had so much to offer. Parts of the hike were very close to the river with beautiful views of the Tokopah falls. Lots of wildlife. THe last 0.2 miles was rocky and there was snow which made it a little slippery and we had to be careful with our kid. At the falls, our daughter loved the mist from the falls. ALl in all a wonderful hike.

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tokopah Falls also viewed

 
Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Park, CA
 

Been to Tokopah Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tokopah Falls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Tokopah Falls to your Saves list