We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous River Front Suite in Three Rivers” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The River Jewel Suites

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Three Rivers
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The River Jewel Suites
43325 C Sierra Dr, Three Rivers, CA 93271   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$200 (USD)
San Dimas, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Gorgeous River Front Suite in Three Rivers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the upstairs suite, "Sequoia Gem" and truly enjoyed our 3 night mini vacation. The location of the suites is just breath taking!! The river is literally right in front of you and the sounds of the river at night was such a wonderful way to enjoy a nights sleep. The suite was spot less with a very comfortable king sized bed! The suite was very roomy with charming decor. The kitchenette area was perfect to prepare simple meals and snacks. It is very obvious that the owners Diana and Larry take great pride in their property and have thought of everything to make their suites an enjoyable vacation spot.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
28
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Queens, NY
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

My wife couldn't wait to get back to The River Jewel Suite at the end of the day. National Parks?! Forget them ... take me back to River Jewel Suites! We both wish we had more time there. It all starts with the owners and Diana and Larry are just wonderful.

The house with the two suites is literally on the edge of the River. A few steps down a wonderfully landscaped walkway and you're at the water. There are chairs and lounge chairs and a hammock and a firepit and a ping pong table and beautiful birds and ... the sound of the water working it's way past is such a balm. Is this heaven? No, it's Three Rivers. Keeps your eyes open for Blue Heron on the water ... fishing.

Bikes are provided free of charge.

There's a small kitchenette with refrigerator, microwave, toaster, Mr. Coffee maker, and ... Starbucks coffee to brew! Very nice HDTV.

We had a very short blackout due to storms and the Jules (River Jules - get it?) quickly provided us with battery operated candles!

Oh ... and the phone in the room is analog which means ... it works during an outage. I'm an IT manager so I LOVE old tech that works in a power outage. They also had a powerful flashlight in the room.

If you insist on the owners making your breakfast then know ... they don't. Which is fine by us. You've got a kitchen and the fantastic We Three Bakery & Restaurant across the street that does breakfast impeccably well.

Air conditioning and ceiling fans and ... thick, lush bath towels unlike the bath napkins you get at hotels.

The owners provide an excellent product and we wish them continued success and happiness.

Room Tip: The Sequoia Charm suite upstairs has a very nice patio with chairs and umbrella and BBQ. The only d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

This was a truly great find, 2 apartments beside the river at the back of Diana & Larry's property, we stayed 2 nights in the Kaweah Suite downstairs ( Fabulous twin shower with a view ) and our girls ( 12 + 16 ) stayed in the Sequioa Suite upstairs.After seeing Sequioa National Park, the girls begged to come back to our lodgings early as it was such a magical place.They frolicked in the river ( yes, bring old tennis shoes! ), played ping pong by the river and dozed in the hammock and used the provided bikes to go & have dinner in the nearby we tree bakery. Hubby & me just sat in lounge chairs in the river sharing a good bottle of white. There was nobody else as we had both apartments so it was soo relaxing.Loved the humming birds!
At the time of our stay, there was works going on to build some more apartments, I hope that this will not make it too busy as it is just right at the moment.
Thanks Diane for all!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and had an absolute fabulous time.Setting was magical laying by the side of the river watching the hummingbirds flitting around was awesome-never seen one in the wild before. After a days hiking in the National park it was a joy to come back to somewhere so tranquil to have a swim in the river and down a few cold ones and watch the sun go down and the moon,stars and bats come out of a night. Great modern bathroom with a twin shower, every little detail was seen too, Owners went above and beyond to ensure it was a wonderful stay. Bicycles were available to use and bed was so comfy it was hard to get out of in the morning.Hubby loved waking up early and going out the door straight to sit by the river and read while I slumbered on. I loved all the different seating areas, hubby was partial to the hammock for an afternoon nap.Although there was another apartment upstairs we were never disturbed and it felt like we had the place all to ourselves. a truly remarkable place.

Room Tip: We choose to stay in the downstairs apartment because of the accessibility to the river and the styl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

The old adage of 'location, location, location' could have been written for the River Jewel suites in Three Rivers. It would be difficult to find a more stunning location to spend time in this wonderful part of California. We stayed in the Seuoia Charm apartment on the second floor which was an absolute joy. The room is huge and the quirkiness of the decor just adds to it's charm and we both absolutely loved it. But then you walk out onto the private balcony complete with chair, table, sun lounges, and barbecue and your transported to a whole new world! The river outside is literally yards from your room and is quite simply stunning. Sitting on the balcony in the evening with a glass of wine listening to the river roar down from the mountains just takes you to an altogether more peaceful place! A walk down to the river reveals a number of places on the bank hidden from the house that have tables, chairs and a hammock which are again perfect for relaxing. Breakfast is not included but there is a microwave and fridge provided and local shops nearby to buy provisions. This is truly a magical place and our only regret was that we couldn't stay longer.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

This is an amazing place but it is not a bed and breakfast, i.e. there is no breakfast. What there is , is an enormous room with a great bathroom, and more. The best part however, is outside. If it was only the private patio wtih shaded table and chairs, grill with briquets and tools, and beautiful plantings that would be wonderful but its only the beginning. Paths lead down to four beautiful settings overlooking the rushing Kaweah River. Each with a different view and arrangement of chairs, chaises, a hammock, etc. leading down to rocks in the river that you can climb on to. Each setting is different, secluded, and wonderful. We planned spend the day back in Sequoia but instead spent the entire, restful day at the River Jewel. What a great place.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Room was perfect for us but bed was too soft for wife. Huge shower with picture widow overlooking the river was nice and naughty. Just had to raise the shades when bathing. Bottled water, wine and fruit were very appreciated. The sitting areas for the river experience were the best I have ever had. The roar of the river was unbeliveably relaxing and Larry and Diana wee the perfect hosts. I wished we lived next dooe to them. Left Seqouia early each day just to enjoy the river.

Room Tip: Get the Kaweah room with the large shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The River Jewel Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The River Jewel Suites

Address: 43325 C Sierra Dr, Three Rivers, CA 93271
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Three Rivers
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Three Rivers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the foothills of the Sequoia National Park, in the quaint town of Three Rivers, experience the serenity only nature can provide at The River Jewel Suites. A romantic getaway awaits you in our newly appointed riverfront Suites. Each suite has a kitchenette, California King Sized Bed, and private patio or balcony with amazing river & mountain views. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The River Jewel Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The River Jewel Suites to your Saves list