We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truely a Jewel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The River Jewel Suites

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Three Rivers
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The River Jewel Suites
Save Saved
You added The River Jewel Suites to your Saves list
43325 C Sierra Dr, Three Rivers, CA 93271   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$200 (USD)
Ranked #1 of 10 Three Rivers B&B and Inns
Lake Charles, LA
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Truely a Jewel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We loved this property and am so glad we ended our trip here. But people should know that the road construction in Sequoia is something you have to deal with if you stay in Three Rivers. It makes the trip into the heart of the park about an hour and 15 minutes, IF you time it just right. Be sure to check into this and plan accordingly. That being said, The River Jewel is close to perfect. We stayed in the Kaweah Suite, which is on the ground floor. Diana or Larry will tour you around the property, which is 3 beautiful acres right on the river. The sound of the river is lovely and there are sitting areas, a hammock, gorgeous rocks you can walk out on and chairs right in the river for just cooling your feet. It was VERY hot in September, over 100 degrees in the afternoon, but much cooler in Sequoia. In the evening, however it cools off into the 60's and we sat outside, listening to the river, enjoying our excellent food from Sierra Subs, and watching a beautiful sunset with the hummingbirds as company.

The suite itself is lovely, looks brand new, lots of room. There is TV, telephone, everything you need other than an ironing board and iron. The small kitchen area has a sink, small refrigerator, microwave, and a coffee maker with Starbucks coffee provided. More nice touches are fresh fruit, 4 bottles of water, paper towels, dish soap, etc. There are dishes, utensils, wine glasses provided as well. There are even beach towels for river swimming. I really could have stayed a week in this lovely place. What a nice break from crowds and noise!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
34
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

I am joining a chorus of praise and rejoicing for the beautiful River Jewel Suites at Three Rivers. Diane and Larry are the owners...and are very hospitable, relaxed and helpful. Thankyou to them both for their generosity of spirit and time.
We had the suite on the ground floor...and we extended ourselves out to the back area with ease and much preferred to be on ground level. Fabulous in every way...with the river for swimming in summer as a beautiful and much needed option...it was very hot when we were there. BBQ facilities also avail.
A really clean and luxurious feel...just beautiful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights in the Kaweah suite (the downstairs unit). King size bed, double shower heads in the bathroom, two outdoor eating tables and chairs and a selection of tables/chairs overlooking the river.
Suite was beautifully presented and exceptionally clean.
We had humming birds hovering outside and ducks shooting the rapids in the river.
It was a great location about 6 miles from Sequoia Park Entrance. The local Village Market store had everything you could want and very good fruit and vegetables. The Mexican cafe across from the Village Market was a good place to eat and there was a bank across the road which was good because the property only takes cash.
Only small problem was the airconditioning in the unit upstairs going on and off during the night.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

After 4 weeks touring the USA, this was the perfect spot to spend our last afternoon - cooling off in the lovely river just outside the back door. The rooms were spacious and beautifully done out, and the garden down to the river is nicely landscaped. There are not many eating options in Three Rivers - we had a take-out pizza and salad by the river in the evening which was perfect.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welland, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

My girlfriend and I spent only 1 night in the Sequoia Charm room and it was the best night we spent on our vacation. We arrived at 2:00 and were planning on going to Sequoia National Park but changed our minds. We decided to go to town and get a few bottles of wine and some food and laid around all day on the river banks and in the river. The place has the most amazing views of the river and the room was immaculate. I loved the decor so much I am designing my basement in my home to reflect the same type of style. I would have recommended the place to all of my friends and would not hesitate to return!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

My husband and I just spent Memorial Day Weekend at The River Jewel in the Kaweah Suite. A short drive from Sequoia National Park (beautiful!). A very comfortable suite (great bed, amazing double-shower). GORGEOUS PROPERTY / BACKYARD! Just to be able to spend our days with a morning hike in the national park, afternoons back at The River Jewel relaxing on the large rocks out in the river, or on lounge chairs under an umbrella on the banks, to grill outdoors for dinner, and enjoy wine/cheese by the fire pit under a gorgeously starry sky - this was a little slice of heaven! We didn't want to leave!

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

This place is perfect !!! The owners are extemely friendly and the room has everything you could need (including your own river just outside!!) We stayed in "Sequoia Charm" and it is so quirky which appealed to me. We would definately come back here and spend longer. The 'We Three Bakery' across the street is a great way to start your day exploring Sequoia/ King's Canyon National Parks.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The River Jewel Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The River Jewel Suites

Address: 43325 C Sierra Dr, Three Rivers, CA 93271
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Three Rivers
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Three Rivers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the foothills of the Sequoia National Park, in the quaint town of Three Rivers, experience the serenity only nature can provide at The River Jewel Suites. A romantic getaway awaits you in our newly appointed riverfront Suites. Each suite has a kitchenette, California King Sized Bed, and private patio or balcony with amazing river & mountain views. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The River Jewel Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.