We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Frank Root & crew are the only ones I would go down the raging river with!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kaweah Whitewater Adventures

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Kaweah Whitewater Adventures
Mtn. Road 349, Three Rivers, CA 93271
800.229.8658
Website
Improve this listing
three rivers
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Frank Root & crew are the only ones I would go down the raging river with!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

Exciting and potential for danger like any good Indiana Jones adventure! Just make sure you are traveling the river with local white water rescue expert Frank Root. I would recommend Kaweah River Whitewater!!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    1
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dyer, IN
Level Contributor
114 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“A must do activity in three rivers!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

Our group of 9 enjoyed a morning on the river. Frank was an excellent guide -very patient and explained the route for our 2 kayakers in the group. He had some fun games for the kids to play, too.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
71 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Take on the wild side in Three Rivers!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

Kaweah Whitewater Rafters is a must do for those looking for some excitement during your visit to Sequoia National Park. Great way to experience a wild river with great group of professional guides. Keep in mind this is not a Disneyland ride and has real element of danger ....Having said that, Go For It!! You won't regret it!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Fun and Wet Class 3 Trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

When I told the locals at our hotel and Sequoia Tours that my daughter and I were going. Whitewater rafting, their responses were to ask who we were planning to go with...and when they heard, they all unanimously said that they ONLY recommended going with Frank (the owner of Kaweah River Adventures). Usually by late June, the river is low and the trips are ending. This year, our class 3 trip had to walk 2 rapids
that were class 4 due to the water volume. Although high because of continuing snow melt in the mountains, the water temperature was refreshing (mid 50s) on a hot (95 degree) afternoon. Only 2 kids in total rented wet suits, and the rest of us were fine with the big waves and spashes from the other rafts. Our guide Brian was in his 4th year on the river (with more experience elsewhere). A great time on the river, but next time my 12yo says class 4 is more her speed (or is that splash?).

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good fun, a little sketchy in places”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

we had an overall enjoyable time, but there were definitely some issues.

the safety instructions were not totally clear or thorough.

we went in august, when the water is admittedly low. a group of 5 of us had one raft. there were three other group rafts in our flotilla. our raft got stuck on rocks and in mildly dangerous situations several times. the other rafts did not have the same problem.
our guide worked quite hard for us, but didn't have the knowledge of the river or overall experience to keep us all in the boat and off the rocks.

definitely an activity for the adventurous, and not feint of heart (or swimming skill).

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kaweah Whitewater Adventures also viewed

 

Been to Kaweah Whitewater Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kaweah Whitewater Adventures, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.