We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mediocre Accomodations” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sequoia Motel in Three Rivers

Save Saved
You added Sequoia Motel in Three Rivers to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sequoia Motel in Three Rivers
43000 Sierra Drive (Hwy 198), P.O.Box 145, Three Rivers, CA 93271   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 6 hotels in Three Rivers
California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Mediocre Accomodations”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2010

Stayed here over Thanksgiving weekend in 2009 at $100/night. Total rip-off but wife really wanted to visit Sequoia. The location is great from park entrance but the motel is old and room furnishings, etc. date back to late 70's or early 80's. Was disappointed with accommodations but at this time of year, this is the rate. Could hear the intermittent road noise from Highway 198 but otherwise slept okay. There is an outdoor (uncovered) pool, which was full of leaves and dirt, and a small picnic area. Would stay again (or recommend) for $30-$49 a night but not $100.

There isn’t a great variety of eateries in 3 Rivers but do recommend ‘We Three Bakery’ for breakfast (despite the poor reviews) and Serrano’s Mexican (slow service but decent food).

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    23
    25
    16
    9
    7
See reviews for
22
24
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Schenectady
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2010

We were on a one week tour of CA from San Luis Obispo to Sequoia to Monterey, San Francisco and down Highway 1 to L.A. So unfortunately we were only able to spend one night "in the mountains". But it was well worth it. Sequoia Natl Park is just beautiful and breath taking, the 3 Rivers Motel is clean, quiet and cool with very friendly and helpful hosts. I am hoping to come back again some day, but it's a long way from Upstate NY.

Thanks to Chris and her husband for personalized and competent service and making our stay memorable.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2010

Arriving from Bakersfield we wanting to say near the southern entrance to Sequoia NP for convience. Choices were limited especially in our price range. This motel was a little more expensive than I wanted to pay but close to entrance.We stayed here for two nights and spent 11/2 days in park and accomplished all we had to do [even got in afew hikes] and see. The pool at the motel was a relief when we returned at night. The recommended spots for breakfast [we 3 Bakery] and dinner [River View Restaurant] were great. We did not have AT&T phone service [only service in area] however the owner of motel let us use her service which was appreciated.
We decided on the second day to return to Three Rivers from Sequoia [Big Stump] by way of HWY 245; it worked out ok but there was no scenic advanatage and it took longer than retracing our steps through the park.
We then travelled on to Oakhurst and Yosemite National Park.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Murieta
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2010

Sequoia Motel is a very special place. It has all the little extras that soothe the body and calm the spirit.

The cabins are very cute and cozy and we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosamond, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2010

Great little motel at the entrance to park. Chris the owner was extremely nice and helpful! She even remember our names! We had a cozy room and our parents stayed in one of the cabins! I will return next time we go to Sequoia!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2010 via mobile

A little tired, but good value and lovely owners. A great pool for the kids. The water there is obviously full of minerals etc as it turned our daughters blonde hair slightly green, but the owners offered baking soda and/or special shampoo to help so this did not put us off using it again. The Cowboy room was fun and our daughter loved it.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannes, France
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2010

We spent one night in this motel, after a hot day in sequoia. It was nice, calm and we appreciated it after the crowds in other places. The boss is cool, too !

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sequoia Motel in Three Rivers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sequoia Motel in Three Rivers

Address: 43000 Sierra Drive (Hwy 198), P.O.Box 145, Three Rivers, CA 93271
Location: United States > California > Three Rivers
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 hotels in Three Rivers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming combination of motel rooms and cabins. Just 4 miles form the gate of Sequoia Park. Come relax and enjoy the flower gardens and swimming pool after a great day of exploring Three Rivers and Sequoia Kings Canyon National Park. Tom and Chris make every effort to make your stay a memorable one. Sequoia Motel is featured in the French travel guidebook 'Le Guide du Routard'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Sequoia Motel in Three Rivers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sequoia Motel In Three Rivers Hotel Three Rivers
Sequoia Motel In 3 Rivers
Sequoia Hotel Three Rivers
Sequoia Motel Three Rivers

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sequoia Motel in Three Rivers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.