We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, but don't expect too much” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sequoia Motel in Three Rivers

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Sequoia Motel in Three Rivers to your Saves list
Sequoia Motel in Three Rivers
43000 Sierra Drive (Hwy 198), P.O.Box 145, Three Rivers, CA 93271   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Call for Specials!
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Three Rivers
California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good location, but don't expect too much”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2007

My family stayed here for one night and chose it because of its location close to the entrance of Sequoia National Park. Before making our reservation, I read the reviews on Trip Advisor and checked out its own website as well. I have to agree with some of the other reviews in that its website is nicer than the actual property is in reality.
The "cabins" are actually little mobile homes. Our cabin was decorated nice enough ... a bird nests theme ... but it could have been cleaner. There were spider webs (with spiders) in many corners and the shower wasn't as clean as I would have liked. Also, the shower was very low, so while it was fine for children, adults have to crouch down or else hit your head on the shower ceiling. Toiletries were limited to a little bar of very drying soap - no shampoo, lotion, etc. Not even a box of tissue. The coffee service wasn't so great either - just a dusty little coffee maker with 2 pouches of "Cafe Parisienne" coffee.
There was an air conditioner in the room which blew cool air, not cold, but enough to make it comfortable. The t.v. was fine - good reception. Of our two beds, one was comfortable and the other one was hard as rock. It was quiet at night, so no complaints about noise. We were able to park our car right outside the cabin which was convenient.
We didn't use it, but the pool looked clean and if we had stayed longer, I'm sure we would have tried it out. Chris in the office was friendly. I only spoke with her briefly to get the key and pay for the room.
Overall, I'd say the motel is decent, but for over $100 a night, I expect a bit more. Three nights later we stayed in a place in Pismo Beach for only $30 more and got pure luxury (see Mission Inn of Pismo, if interested). But in this area, you are a bit limited in choices. I'd check around some other places first before staying here again.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Uncleanliness, bathroom and no amenities (toiletries, breakfast)
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    31
    19
    9
    7
See reviews for
23
28
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Cruz Mountains, California
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2007

Cute room. Clean. AC. Nice pool and grounds. Quiet. Woman who checked us in was welcoming and friendly.

  • Liked — Cute and clean
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2007

My husband and I got married across the street at the White Horse Inn, so we booked a couple of cabins at the Sequoia Motel for us and some of our friends. The cabins were small and rustic but well furnished and taken care of. The kitchenette in our cabin had all the utensils and dishes we needed to use the BBQ that was right outside. The motel was also well situated for our day trip into the national forest.

Overall, we all enjoyed our stay.

Oh, and our night time visitors (coons) enjoyed our BBQ as well.

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2006

When we visit Tlhree Rivers, we always head for the Sequoia Motel. It's an older motel, but the rooms are very clean and charmingly decorated, the landscape is delightful, the sparkling cool pool so refreshing, and the owners so friendly and accomodating. It's a real "homey" feeling that you don't get at most motels.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2006

My friends and I spent two nights at the Sequoia Motel in Three Rivers, California. We attended the annual Studio Art Tour that the community sponsors. Our motel room was clean, comfortable and convienent. The manager, Chris Schlossin, was friendly, kind and helpful. The community has the unique charm of being a place where people dare to do what they love to do. The nature and the river are lovely.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2006

We recently stayed at the smallest cabin at Sequoia Motel for two nights. What a great getaway to the beauty of nature complete with the sounds of the rushing river! We really enjoyed this site as the pool and grounds are not overflowing with tourists as there are only a few rooms and cabins available for rental. Perfect for the quiet/secluded getaway.

We live just an hour away and choose to stay here as we were in a wedding across the street at the White Horse Inn. It was fabulous to go up and relax and enjoy the area and the pool prior to and after the event. So glad we stayed two nights!

We really appreciated the "customer service" we received. The owners were great to suggest yummy nearby places to eat, and "don't miss breakfast at . . ." :) the owners and staff are very friendly and most accomodating . . . they make you feel right at home.

The next time we have an event to go to at the White Horse Inn we will definitely stay at one of the Sequioa Motel cabins again! Add an extra night and make a great getaway of it!

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle upon tyne england uk
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2006

Very nice motel, made all the more pleasant by the owner who really put herself out for us. Our room was clean, tidy and pretty and not badly priced at all. Chris the owner even brought along a bag of grapefruit from the trees in the garden. This was a real treat for me as I'd never tasted fresh grapefruit before and they were wonderful. I'd be more than happy to stay here again and recommended it to several people we met later during our tour.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sequoia Motel in Three Rivers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sequoia Motel in Three Rivers

Address: 43000 Sierra Drive (Hwy 198), P.O.Box 145, Three Rivers, CA 93271
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Three Rivers
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Three Rivers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming combination of motel rooms and cabins. Just 4 miles form the gate of Sequoia Park. Come relax and enjoy the flower gardens and swimming pool after a great day of exploring Three Rivers and Sequoia Kings Canyon National Park. Tom and Chris make every effort to make your stay a memorable one. Sequoia Motel is featured in the French travel guidebook 'Le Guide du Routard'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Sequoia Motel in Three Rivers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sequoia Motel In 3 Rivers
Sequoia Motel In Three Rivers Hotel Three Rivers
Sequoia Hotel Three Rivers
Sequoia Motel Three Rivers

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sequoia Motel in Three Rivers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.