We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant, not perfect” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sequoia RV Ranch

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Three Rivers
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sequoia RV Ranch
Save
You added Sequoia RV Ranch to your Saves list
43490 North Fork Drive, Three Rivers, CA 93271   |  
Hotel amenities
St. Augustine
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Pleasant, not perfect”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

My husband booked this site for our 17 foot conversion van, en route from Las Vegas to Sequoias and Kings Canyon National Parks. The park was barely full, riverfront as mentioned ( though not our site ), and backed up to a trailer home park, where the bathrooms are centrally located and showers are charged for . We were surprised to find that the night before, a storm had knocked over some trees that took out the power to the entire facility. When we arrived around 6 PM, there was no power ( no showers, no flushing toilets, etc.) while this might not have been a problem for most big rigs, in a small camper with no shower, no toilet, this was a concern. Little did we know that the electric service men would be standing over our campsite with their massive, loud trucks, and flashing lights at 12 AM!!! When I reported this to the office lady as I checked in the next day, she was relatively unapologetic. We were still charged for the first night even though we could not plug in. I understand it is not their fault but I still feel as though they could have done something to compensate for our discomfort. The one redeeming fact was the maintenance man was a true delight. After babysitting the electric crew all night, The next morning he hand-Drew us a map to Grants grove, in Kings Canyon, after calling to see what roads were open without the use of chains. We hade an amazing time at the national park and overall enjoyed our stay in that part of California. My one lasting complaint is that THEY CHARGE YOU FOR SHOWERS!!!! Do they charge you to take a shower at a hotel?!? NO!!! Then why, after paying for a spot, do they charge you ( 1.00 for 8 min.) to shower? Absolutely ridiculous. Up the rate 2$ a person, and don't charge for showers. It's stilly, pointless, and the reason we will never return.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hapi2travel, Owner at Sequoia RV Ranch, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Thank you for posting your review. Unfortunately, your stay coincided with the loss of two of our beautiful trees that downed our electric lines. We had our manager and our electricity provider working into the wee hours of the morning to try to get the system up and running. I'm sure if your visit was at any other time your experience would have been much different and we apologize for the inconvenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    28
    11
    2
    0
See reviews for
34
16
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
NSW
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

We were looking for a night before heading to sequoia and sequoia rv ranch was the spot.

Jen assisted us with our booking and we had a nice back in on the river front with table and chairs and fire pit.
Neighbours were close but not on top of us.
Our wifi was a bit patchy....

We used the swimming hole to cool off when we arrived - it was fun but SO cold!!
We bought wood and it was delivered to our rv promptly!

The amenities were clean but you had to pay 25c for showers.
The owner took time out to help us with directions and give us alternative suggestions to see sequoias - we didn't realise we couldn't drive our 32ft rv into the park to see the trees- oops !

We had great neighbours and had a fun time at sequoia rv ranch- thanks for a fun time!

Room Tip: Get a river frontage spot! Frogs and owls with the sound of the river will lull you to sleep!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hapi2travel, Owner at Sequoia RV Ranch, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
We are so glad that you enjoyed your camping experience with us. We generally have a very strong WIFI signal, but if other campers are over-taxiing the system, it may weaken the signal somewhat (notice our last review response about the strong WIFI signal ). You braved the swimming hole, which is very refreshing in the summer, chilly this time of year, but always fun.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visalia, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

The staff was friendly and helpful. We had a grassy, level, pull thru site with a picnic table and fire pit. Water, electricity, sewer and cable tv were all fine, but wifi was very slow. We stayed here in a 40' motorhome. There are only a few spaces in the park that will accommodate us, turns were pretty tight. There are lots of shade trees, but that also makes maneuvering around them a little tight, The park was quiet and very scenic. We didn't use the bath/washrooms. We would definitely stay here again, we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hapi2travel, Owner at Sequoia RV Ranch, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
So happy to hear that you enjoyed your camping experience and for taking the time to let us know. We are also pleased that our staff was hospitable, they do go out of their way to make sure our campers enjoy their stay. We have worked hard to provide spots that accommodate larger rigs (pull-thrus and trimming back trees) without taking away from the beauty of the park. We do hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Las Vegas, NV
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

Serious though, I was pleasantly surprised of what was described on their webpage was actually available for real ! . Clean RV spots, close to the stream (back in right above it). Cable actually worked, Wifi was strong enough to pull in Hulu. Friendly staff.

Only problem was a very limited restroom availability. They have 1 (one) restroom at the very end of the RV park and it is small. Other then that, full hookups all worked. One person had a problem with their cable and the cable company came out (Sunday) to fix it ! Price was where it should be for the amenities.

Room Tip: Kinda hidden away, gotta keep a sharp eye out or you'll miss the entrance !
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hapi2travel, Owner at Sequoia RV Ranch, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at Sequoia RV Ranch. We have worked hard to provide good WIFI and cable service for our campers. Thank you for taking the time to provide positive feedback and we are glad that our RV park lived up to your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leona Valley, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

As I was pulling out of the campground heading home I thought to myself I'm going to post a good review on this place, and then I thought NO I don't want more people showing up here!!! But I have to because the staff is so nice and helpful it would not be fair.
We had a very spacious spot next to the river. The place was very quite even over the weekend. No bells or whistles campground just a nice place to kickback and relax. Going back in a few weeks.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hapi2travel, Owner at Sequoia RV Ranch, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
We are so glad you took the time to write about your positive experience at Sequoia RV Ranch. We are also happy to hear that you had an enjoyable and relaxing stay. It's so nice to know that you plan to visit us again which is the best endorsement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Harbor, Washington
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

We came in at night. We weren't expecting flood lamps or anything but maybe some guide lights, a better map, lit up signs, or maybe the leaves blown off the road so we could see it? I know we aren't the only ones who have difficulty coming in at night either because I watched other rigs come in and have to constantly get out of their vehicle to check for turning clearances and overhead branches. We have a 40 ft trailer and had some of the most trouble getting around in this place. There were rocks everywhere. Some were fire pits some were for aesthetics? We were told at reservation that we could pick any site that suited us because of size. Said 22 was one of the bigger pull throughs....sure if we plow through the tree in the middle of the entrance! To add on to that...sites are not exactly numbered. Some are...but the majority are not. Either way the next morning when we went to pay and what not we were told that we have to move because someone is coming into the site that we were at and they have difficulty moving around. Irritated but hey thats what we get right? So we move, go to the park for the day, come back and naturally we have to go check the site we moved out of.....a maybe 40 ft Class A was there....seriously?! Class A's have better turning radius than towables do!!! Lets go ahead and talk about amenities. There aren't any. The bath house is a cozy concrete box, no heat for us lovely winter travelers, 2 shower stalls and 2 toilets. The quantity wasn't an issue. The fact that I had to pay a $1.25 for a 10 minute shower blew my mind. I have never had to pay for a shower. Maybe its a California thing? I was thankful that the water got hot quick though....I needed the heat. All in all the staff was pleasant, wifi was decent and the national park was spectacular.

Room Tip: If you have a larger rig....just go somewhere else. The proximity to the national park is not worth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hapi2travel, Owner at Sequoia RV Ranch, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
We appreciate your feedback and sorry that you encountered some difficulty during your stay. As owners, we will discuss with our staff about the move you had to make to another site. We also own a 5th Wheel and totally understand the difficulty of setting up and having to move to another site and we are sorry that this was the case. It is unfortunate that you had difficulty finding your site. They are numbered, but we understand it might be hard to locate the site at night. Many of our campers don't appreciate having lots of lights in our camping area. We've turned some of them off to accommodate others and enjoy the stars without ambient light. We do fight the leaves during this time of year and we do our best to stay on top of it All to say, many people enjoy the more rustic, by the river and through the woods type of camping which appeals to the majority of our guests. Thank you for positive comment on our staff, we, too feel they are very hospitable and helpful. Glad you enjoyed the National Park, the Sequoias are a treasure and a must see.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

We stayed here last week in our 35 ft RV with tow. Wifi worked great(this is hard to find on the road)! We had a nice pull through spot. The owner went out of his way to call Kings Canyon National Park for me to see if they were still open. He also gave me great recommendations on how to get there and some great hikes.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hapi2travel, Owner at Sequoia RV Ranch, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you so much for your positive comments. We always enjoy hearing great reviews about our RV Park and the staff. Sequoia National Park is a beautiful park and we are glad you had a time to go hike and explore the area and see the big trees. We hope you come visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sequoia RV Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sequoia RV Ranch

Address: 43490 North Fork Drive, Three Rivers, CA 93271
Location: United States > California > Three Rivers
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Three Rivers
Number of rooms: 54
Also Known As:
Sequoia Rv Ranch Hotel Three Rivers

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sequoia RV Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.