We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely spot but very inappropriate art for families” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Bellevue Guesthouse

Save Saved
You added Residence Bellevue Guesthouse to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Residence Bellevue Guesthouse
2.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   45317 Mineral King Road, Three Rivers, CA 93271   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
3-night special
Ranked #4 of 10 Three Rivers B&B and Inns
London
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Lovely spot but very inappropriate art for families”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Having read the other reviews, I am slighly baffled. Yes, the hosts were hospitable and the breakfasts were great. The spot is beautiful although at the end of a long and twisty gravel road; not great to drive in the dark. But my kids were very unconfortable in the place thanks to the artwork. One bedroom was filled with pictures of naked women; the second had two books on a sexual theme, prominently displayed. The communal room had a fairly graphic sculpture.This might be fine for honeymooners but not for a family stay. This is a pricey b&b - we paid $300 a night - and my family couldn't wait to get away.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BellevueGuesthouse, Owner at Residence Bellevue Guesthouse, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Hi Less,
Sorry learning from you after you left, that you and your family has not been comfortable during your stay with us. Wondering why you did not tell us about your discomfort during your stay. We are asking our guest every day if everything is comfortable. We could have removed the pictures and the sculpture etc, no problem for us. By the way, the ”fairly graphic sculpture” is a very rare copy of Rodin’s art, displayed in the famous Rodin Museum in Paris.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    5
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
25
33
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Our hosts Ossie and Eva were marvelously welcoming and kind, making us feel right at home and making sure we had absolutely everything we needed. The rooms were lovely and sitting out on the patio in the evening looking at the stars was sublime. The B&B is situated beautifully on a high ridge just outside the entrance to the park and makes for a terrific starting point (especially after the marvelous breakfast of homemade pastries and delicous fresh fruit and eggs and rich dark coffee). On our entire trip through California (six weeks) this was the warmest and loveliest place we stayed!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Best place we have been during our four week round trip.
The location is nice and kind of secluded, surrounded by nature and far from noisy roads. The beds are comfortable, the rooms are very clean and A/C worked good. The bathroom is also very clean and is stocked with a lot of amenities.
Every day we could not wait sitting by night on the deck, watching the stars and listening to the sound of the running river and the cricket’s concerts. The breakfast was every day a surprise. It was delicious and prepared with love and care. It was served on the deck, no crowd spoiled our morning peace. Our hosts (Ozzy & Eva) were experienced to provide needed assistance and advice. Definitely we would like to stay again at Bellevue Guesthouse.

Room Tip: no difference, all rooms are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We stayed at Residence Bellevue Guesthouse in Three Rivers, CA while visiting Sequoia National Park. This is a pretty property on expansive land with a river running through it. It is a B&B owned and operated by Ozzie and Eva (husband and wife). They live on the first floor of the house and rent out the second floor which contains 2 bedrooms, with one Queen bed each, the living area which contains a futon, and one bathroom. They make sure only to rent to one party at a time so there are no discomforts with having to share a bathroom with strangers. This is a very good set up for larger groups (up to 6 guests, I believe) traveling together. Ozzie and Eva are very hospitable and friendly and provide well beyond the pre-packaged baked goods you typically see falling under the 'Continental Breakfast' category.

The biggest problem we had was the temperature in the room. We traveled at the end of June as a heat spike was occurring. The second story did not cool off to a comfortable temperature at night and we did not sleep much or comfortably the entire night (this would probably not be a concern in winter/spring/fall, but in summer with almost 100 degree days, the AC needed to be turned on to cool off the upstairs where the guest rooms are located). Earlier in the evening I brought up my concern but was assured it would cool off as the evening progressed. Unfortunately the cooling was not sufficient enough to ease the heat on the second floor and by the time we realized we were going to have a difficult night's sleep I did not think the owners were still up and did not want to disturb them. On some level, I kept hoping things would cool off as it got later. We tried cranking up the ceiling fans in each room to high speed (hoping to find the better room to sleep in), but that just caused them to rattle and clank wildly making it pointless to try and keep them on.

Pros:
-Picturesque property
-Hospitable husband and wife owner/operators
-Good for families/groups
-Close to main gates of Sequoia National Park
-Wireless internet at good speed since you are not competing with the same number of bandwidth chewers as you would at a hotel

Cons:
-The second story (where guest rooms are located) gets, and stays, hot with hotter temps
-Noisy and rattling ceiling fan in both bedrooms when turned to high speed
-Did not feel as comfortable to move around as freely as in a hotel room knowing we were in someone's home (this was more a personal concern than anything done by the homeowners)
-No access to AC made it one heck of a 'hot box' of a night
-Can be a difficult gravelly drive up from the main road depending on your vehicle
-I would not recommend for a romantic weekend
-No TV that I could find, but I did not spend much looking

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BellevueGuesthouse, Owner at Residence Bellevue Guesthouse, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Sorry to learn that you have not been comfortable during your stay with us.
We wish, you would have had mentioned your discomfort to us when you have been here. Actually you chose having no A/C, to keep airflow only. But we could have put the A/C on, no problem for us. Even when we asked you, like we are asking all of our guest, if you are comfortable, if slept well etc., you did not say anything, you appeared to us as being very happy.
Our guests and their comfort are important to us. We are available for them all the time, ready to help, to solve any problems, if requested.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lille
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Best place we have been during our 3 weeks round trip: Super good location, quiet and secluded setting on a large wooded property, but only a few minutes away to town and to entrance to Sequoia National Park. Spectacular views and nice surroundings, romantic and cozy house and rooms, comfortable beds, delicious breakfast, very friendly and helpful hosts. Ozzy speaks French, what also was a big plus for us.

Room Tip: there are only 2 guests rooms. All rooms are nice and all are upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for four nights. Ozzie and Eva was spectacular hosts. They made sure we were comfortable and had everything we needed for a relaxing stay. The house is so comfortable. We enjoyed fabulous breakfasts outside on the deck with the sounds of the birds and the river and the view of the mountains with Moro Rock right in front of us. The location is so conveniently close to the National Park. Ozzie and Eva were very helpful with ideas of things to do when we had finished visiting the park-for this trip. They both are so interesting. We enjoyed many conversations with them. I would highly recommend staying here and can't wait until I get back there.

Room Tip: Both rooms are nearly identical. Either is just fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Conway, New Hampshire, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

This is a lovely mountainside home. The owners of the home live on the property and are very gracious hosts. The coffee & breakfast were delicious, healthy, and natural. Ozzy & Eva are a welcoming couple with much information and many experiences to share. Ozzy is as unique as his many peices of artwork & exotic handcrafted collections that decorate the house. The sauna was fantastic and the outdoor hot-tub was a nice treat after a long hike. The hosts live downstairs, and you will have your choice of two upstairs bedrooms. The bathroom is clean, fully supplied with toiletries and robes. Bedroom cozy, with a window towards the river, which I loved the sound of at night. The upstairs also has a large knotty pine sitting area with windows that open up to the front yard. Ozzy supplied music for breakfast and had a woodstove burning downstairs at night. The entrance to the sequoia park is a few minutes away by car. The hosts even supplied us with chains for our vehicle when the park was requiring them due to high elevation snow. It was a short, unique stay.. one I will never forget.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Bellevue Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Bellevue Guesthouse

Address: 45317 Mineral King Road, Three Rivers, CA 93271
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Three Rivers
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Three Rivers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Residence Bellevue Guesthouse 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secluded and romantic mountain property on 5 wooded acres, at the end of a private road, about 2.5 miles from southern entrance of Sequoia National Park. Featuring: Total of 2 bedrooms and one studio with a futon for max. 6 persons. One full bath with comb. tub/shower. The guest rooms are located in the upper level of the house. To keep the place quiet and private for our guests, we do host only one party at the same time - no sharing bathroom with others. Available also a large wooden deck with breathtaking mountain and river views and several outdoor seating areas.An outdoor Jacuzzi and an outdoor Sauna are also available for guests, at an additional fee.Limited free wireless internet is available at request.Children older than 10 years of age are welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your Residence Bellevue Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Bellevue Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.