We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice property but a difficult night's sleep in the heat” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Bellevue Guesthouse

Save Saved
You added Residence Bellevue Guesthouse to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Residence Bellevue Guesthouse
2.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   45317 Mineral King Road, Three Rivers, CA 93271   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
3-night special
Ranked #4 of 10 Three Rivers B&B and Inns
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Nice property but a difficult night's sleep in the heat”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We stayed at Residence Bellevue Guesthouse in Three Rivers, CA while visiting Sequoia National Park. This is a pretty property on expansive land with a river running through it. It is a B&B owned and operated by Ozzie and Eva (husband and wife). They live on the first floor of the house and rent out the second floor which contains 2 bedrooms, with one Queen bed each, the living area which contains a futon, and one bathroom. They make sure only to rent to one party at a time so there are no discomforts with having to share a bathroom with strangers. This is a very good set up for larger groups (up to 6 guests, I believe) traveling together. Ozzie and Eva are very hospitable and friendly and provide well beyond the pre-packaged baked goods you typically see falling under the 'Continental Breakfast' category.

The biggest problem we had was the temperature in the room. We traveled at the end of June as a heat spike was occurring. The second story did not cool off to a comfortable temperature at night and we did not sleep much or comfortably the entire night (this would probably not be a concern in winter/spring/fall, but in summer with almost 100 degree days, the AC needed to be turned on to cool off the upstairs where the guest rooms are located). Earlier in the evening I brought up my concern but was assured it would cool off as the evening progressed. Unfortunately the cooling was not sufficient enough to ease the heat on the second floor and by the time we realized we were going to have a difficult night's sleep I did not think the owners were still up and did not want to disturb them. On some level, I kept hoping things would cool off as it got later. We tried cranking up the ceiling fans in each room to high speed (hoping to find the better room to sleep in), but that just caused them to rattle and clank wildly making it pointless to try and keep them on.

Pros:
-Picturesque property
-Hospitable husband and wife owner/operators
-Good for families/groups
-Close to main gates of Sequoia National Park
-Wireless internet at good speed since you are not competing with the same number of bandwidth chewers as you would at a hotel

Cons:
-The second story (where guest rooms are located) gets, and stays, hot with hotter temps
-Noisy and rattling ceiling fan in both bedrooms when turned to high speed
-Did not feel as comfortable to move around as freely as in a hotel room knowing we were in someone's home (this was more a personal concern than anything done by the homeowners)
-No access to AC made it one heck of a 'hot box' of a night
-Can be a difficult gravelly drive up from the main road depending on your vehicle
-I would not recommend for a romantic weekend
-No TV that I could find, but I did not spend much looking

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BellevueGuesthouse, Owner at Residence Bellevue Guesthouse, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Sorry to learn that you have not been comfortable during your stay with us.
We wish, you would have had mentioned your discomfort to us when you have been here. Actually you chose having no A/C, to keep airflow only. But we could have put the A/C on, no problem for us. Even when we asked you, like we are asking all of our guest, if you are comfortable, if slept well etc., you did not say anything, you appeared to us as being very happy.
Our guests and their comfort are important to us. We are available for them all the time, ready to help, to solve any problems, if requested.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    5
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
25
33
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lille
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Best place we have been during our 3 weeks round trip: Super good location, quiet and secluded setting on a large wooded property, but only a few minutes away to town and to entrance to Sequoia National Park. Spectacular views and nice surroundings, romantic and cozy house and rooms, comfortable beds, delicious breakfast, very friendly and helpful hosts. Ozzy speaks French, what also was a big plus for us.

Room Tip: there are only 2 guests rooms. All rooms are nice and all are upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for four nights. Ozzie and Eva was spectacular hosts. They made sure we were comfortable and had everything we needed for a relaxing stay. The house is so comfortable. We enjoyed fabulous breakfasts outside on the deck with the sounds of the birds and the river and the view of the mountains with Moro Rock right in front of us. The location is so conveniently close to the National Park. Ozzie and Eva were very helpful with ideas of things to do when we had finished visiting the park-for this trip. They both are so interesting. We enjoyed many conversations with them. I would highly recommend staying here and can't wait until I get back there.

Room Tip: Both rooms are nearly identical. Either is just fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Conway, New Hampshire, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

This is a lovely mountainside home. The owners of the home live on the property and are very gracious hosts. The coffee & breakfast were delicious, healthy, and natural. Ozzy & Eva are a welcoming couple with much information and many experiences to share. Ozzy is as unique as his many peices of artwork & exotic handcrafted collections that decorate the house. The sauna was fantastic and the outdoor hot-tub was a nice treat after a long hike. The hosts live downstairs, and you will have your choice of two upstairs bedrooms. The bathroom is clean, fully supplied with toiletries and robes. Bedroom cozy, with a window towards the river, which I loved the sound of at night. The upstairs also has a large knotty pine sitting area with windows that open up to the front yard. Ozzy supplied music for breakfast and had a woodstove burning downstairs at night. The entrance to the sequoia park is a few minutes away by car. The hosts even supplied us with chains for our vehicle when the park was requiring them due to high elevation snow. It was a short, unique stay.. one I will never forget.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dresden, Sachsen, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

My fiance and I stayed here in summer 2012 during our trip of California.
We chose the place for hiking Sequoia and Kings Canyon.

We had the most wonderful stay here. The Bellevue Guest House is located in the hills of Three Rivers, a few hundred meters from the main street and thus a quiet, secluded place that you have all to yourself. If you stay there you will be the only ones staying there at that time since there are only two rooms available. The are both located in the upper part of the house so that you can be alnoe if you want to. Close to the rooms there is a large bath room and you have places to sit, relax and read a book.

If you go downstairs you have the main living room with a large kitchen and a wonderful patio with the most beatiful view you can imagine of Sequoia National Park and the mountains surrounding Three Rivers. That's also the place whereyou will usually have your breakfast, see the pictures attached to this review. Breakfast is really great, very light and tasty. If you have any wishes the owners, Eva and Ozzy, will try their best to fulfill them, We strongly recommend having the cup cakes / muffins. They are AWESOME!

This is not just a B&B but a truely private, serene place to stay. If you like large, anonymous hotels don't go here. But if you like places that are special and can tell a story Bellevue Guesthouse is for you. The whole house is filled with items Ozzy and Eva have collected over the years and all of them tell a story that the owners will be happy to share. You can also just sit outside, enjoy the view and watch the humming birds which frequently visit the house.

The rooms and beds are really nice. We are light sleepers and had no problems falling asleep quickly - however, be aware that almost everywhere in Three Rivers you will hear the river. We went hiking every day and got all the information we needed. When we visited therewas road work on the way to Sequoia and Eva told us exactly when to drive there to avoid long waiting times, We got all the infromation we needed, including hiking maps and guide books.

The two days we stayed at Bellevue Guesthouse were truely wonderful and we will surely return next time. Thank you, Eva and Ozzy, for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: There are two rooms, you can choose which one you want when you are there. We found both very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

Thoroughly recommend staying here as a base for travelling through the magnificent Sequoia National Park. Ozzie and Eva went out of their way to help us in all aspects of our trip, even to the point of finding a way for us to travel to Three Rivers/ get back to airport, as we arrived without a car. And Eva's breakfasts are truly amazing!

Highly recommended

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

After driving across from Las Vegas it was so nice to get into the mountains and arrive at the quiet and peaceful Bellevue Guesthouse, sit on the balcony, relax with a cup of tea and look at the amazing view of Moro Rock and Sequoia National Park, and then a hummingbird flew up to the tree next to us! Eva and Ozzie are very friendly and helpful hosts with lots of suggestions of thngs to do, we visited Exeter to see the wall murals, Woodlake to see the Arboretum ( and more hummingbirds) Kaweah Post Office - the oldest and smallest still operating post office in the USA, the Art day in Three Rivers. Eva's breakfasts were delicious with something different each day and wonderful fresh fruit. Breakfast was also the time the mother black bear and her cub came looking for acorns. Upstairs we had the bedrooms, lounge and bathroom to ourselves and could wake up to the amazing view of the park. We stayed for a week, and spent most days in Sequoia NP. We saw squirrels, deer, bears and the amazing trees. Some places can be crowded but if you take the walk trails there is no-one about except you and the trees. The best walks for us were Moro Rock, General Sherman Tree and Congress Loop, Crescent Meadow and Big Trees Trails but there are lots more. After all our walking and driving though the park we would stop in Three Rivers to get our dinner then come back and sit on the balcony of Bellevue Guesthouse and watch the sunset.

Room Tip: Both rooms are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Bellevue Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Bellevue Guesthouse

Address: 45317 Mineral King Road, Three Rivers, CA 93271
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Three Rivers
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Three Rivers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Residence Bellevue Guesthouse 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secluded and romantic mountain property on 5 wooded acres, at the end of a private road, about 2.5 miles from southern entrance of Sequoia National Park. Featuring: Total of 2 bedrooms and one studio with a futon for max. 6 persons. One full bath with comb. tub/shower. The guest rooms are located in the upper level of the house. To keep the place quiet and private for our guests, we do host only one party at the same time - no sharing bathroom with others. Available also a large wooden deck with breathtaking mountain and river views and several outdoor seating areas.An outdoor Jacuzzi and an outdoor Sauna are also available for guests, at an additional fee.Limited free wireless internet is available at request.Children older than 10 years of age are welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your Residence Bellevue Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Bellevue Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.