We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location, mediocre food” 2 of 5 stars
Review of River View Restaurant & Lounge

River View Restaurant & Lounge
42323 Sierra Dr, Three Rivers, CA 93271
559-561-2211
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 14 Restaurants in Three Rivers
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Newport, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
“Nice location, mediocre food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

One word to describe the food: mediocre
Now the details:
Biggest issue here was that nothing tasted fresh. Loaded jacket potatoes were no way on earth loaded. Even in European terms it was a very small portion almost child's portion. It was also supposed to come with sour cream with chives but this wasn't on the plate.
The three rivers burger, oh man, for that price ($16) I was expecting home made gourmet patties. I am 99% sure that they were out of a packet possibly bought in a supermarket. It just didn't taste fresh and wasn't enjoyable.
Chips (fries) were soggy, greasy and floppy.
The lady who served us was very pleasant but we didn't want to kick up a fuss so we didn't say anything. They need to organise training for the kitchen staff ASAP.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    68
    40
    15
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Slow service & cold food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

We wanted to try another restaurant in our 2. Night at three rivers. It was unfortunately not a good decision. Our food was cold. We didn't eat it all then at the end it was more expensive than the other restaurant. Maybe instead of grilled chicken we should ve gotten burger. The service was slow but friendly.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere and View”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

I loved it in here. At first it feels like it might be a bit spit n sawdust but actually it was very pleasant with loads of character. There were proper big old boys with hats and moustaches lined up at the bar, but they didn't bat an eyelid when my friend ordered a diet beer which I thought was very decent of them. I'm not sure they're aiming to suit every tourist who walks through the door as it seemed to be a place where many local people come to enjoy themselves and catch up with their friends. That's probably why I liked it so much. It's definitely got a good bar atmosphere.
Without exception the staff were very friendly and the food was delicious though saying that, we didn't order anything too fancy - just fried chicken and chips with slaw which is exactly what we craved!
The setting of this place is the really special thing. The sound of water rushing over the rocks, is enough to settle you after a long day trawling round Sequoia Park.
I'm wondering if some of the negative reviews come from people who need to just slow down a little and remember they're on holiday? ;-)

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maywood, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Tasty but slow”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

This place is more of a bar with sandwiches. It has nice views and a deck overlooking the river. It is very casual. I had a French dip sandwich that was tasty and good beef, but served on dinky buns. The service was very, very slow.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baton rouge
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Big Burger...great view...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

good service, big burger, fair prices...sit on the balcony out back and enjoy the river flowing by...blessings

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed River View Restaurant & Lounge also viewed

 

Been to River View Restaurant & Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage River View Restaurant & Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.