We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location, mediocre food” 2 of 5 stars
Review of River View Restaurant & Lounge

River View Restaurant & Lounge
42323 Sierra Dr, Three Rivers, CA 93271
559-561-2211
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 14 Restaurants in Three Rivers
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
215 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Nice location, mediocre food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

One word to describe the food: mediocre
Now the details:
Biggest issue here was that nothing tasted fresh. Loaded jacket potatoes were no way on earth loaded. Even in European terms it was a very small portion almost child's portion. It was also supposed to come with sour cream with chives but this wasn't on the plate.
The three rivers burger, oh man, for that price ($16) I was expecting home made gourmet patties. I am 99% sure that they were out of a packet possibly bought in a supermarket. It just didn't taste fresh and wasn't enjoyable.
Chips (fries) were soggy, greasy and floppy.
The lady who served us was very pleasant but we didn't want to kick up a fuss so we didn't say anything. They need to organise training for the kitchen staff ASAP.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Musti S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Slow service & cold food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014 via mobile

We wanted to try another restaurant in our 2. Night at three rivers. It was unfortunately not a good decision. Our food was cold. We didn't eat it all then at the end it was more expensive than the other restaurant. Maybe instead of grilled chicken we should ve gotten burger. The service was slow but friendly.

Helpful?
1 Thank Sinem T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere and View”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

I loved it in here. At first it feels like it might be a bit spit n sawdust but actually it was very pleasant with loads of character. There were proper big old boys with hats and moustaches lined up at the bar, but they didn't bat an eyelid when my friend ordered a diet beer which I thought was very decent of them. I'm not sure they're aiming to suit every tourist who walks through the door as it seemed to be a place where many local people come to enjoy themselves and catch up with their friends. That's probably why I liked it so much. It's definitely got a good bar atmosphere.
Without exception the staff were very friendly and the food was delicious though saying that, we didn't order anything too fancy - just fried chicken and chips with slaw which is exactly what we craved!
The setting of this place is the really special thing. The sound of water rushing over the rocks, is enough to settle you after a long day trawling round Sequoia Park.
I'm wondering if some of the negative reviews come from people who need to just slow down a little and remember they're on holiday? ;-)

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank suzieflahs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maywood, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Tasty but slow”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

This place is more of a bar with sandwiches. It has nice views and a deck overlooking the river. It is very casual. I had a French dip sandwich that was tasty and good beef, but served on dinky buns. The service was very, very slow.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baton rouge
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Big Burger...great view...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

good service, big burger, fair prices...sit on the balcony out back and enjoy the river flowing by...blessings

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank ldf123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed River View Restaurant & Lounge also viewed

 

Been to River View Restaurant & Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing