We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot to relax.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of River View Restaurant & Lounge

River View Restaurant & Lounge
42323 Sierra Dr, Three Rivers, CA 93271
559-561-2211
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 14 restaurants in Three Rivers
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Derby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“Great spot to relax.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

After a hard day driving into and out of the park, this is a great place to relax with a few ice cold beers. When we walked in the reception we got was very good and within a few minutes we were chatting away with the locals. Inside is A/C and it is quite efficient. The deck /terrace looking out over the river was great. Food is "pub grub" style and good. Pizza $10, bbq burgers $10, Beer was $3.75/bottle and wine was $7/glass. The waitress did a fantastic job handling all of the tables - tshe did talk a lot too!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

60% Recommend
    28
    61
    36
    14
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Crockett
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Perfect place after long day in the park”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We ate dinner here after spending all day in the park. Down home friendly place. When you walk in it does look like a bar but don't let that run you off. Head for the patio. You can see and listen to the river while you unwind after a long day. We shared an order of buffalo wings which were very good. My hamburger was great. My husband had a huge salad that was very good and a beer. He rarely drinks beer out but the atmosphere was so relaxed and inviting he decided to go for it.

Price average for this area and food was freshly cooked. We would definitely return to eat here. Plan on spending some time just soaking in the beautiful scenery and relaxing. You will be glad you did.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Burger great Fried chicken not so much”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Sat outside on deck. Hummingbirds feeding and view was very nice Burger was good but the Fried chicken was greasy and mostly breading. Service very friendly.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Quite good - let down by the service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

The River View Restaurant is, not surprisingly, next to the river and the terrace provides a very pleasant seating area. Inside looks more like a bar than a restaurant, but it's OK.

We were shown to our table by a young lad who took our drinks order, but then we had to wait a long time to order food. It appeared that there was only one person who was allowed to take food orders and that wasn't the guy that seated us. When he did eventually get to us, he was a little flustered although I didn't think it was that busy. Anyway, the wait wasn't a big problem because they had a great band playing that night and we weren't in a hurry.

Food was pretty good - standard fare for this type of place: burgers, fries, salads, ribs, etc.

Overall, not bad and I would have rated it higher if we hadn't had to wait so long to order.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great spot!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

The setting is wonderful on the back patio overlooking the rocky river. It you are here at dusk, you might want to bring your mosquito repellant.
Food was very good. Burger was huge, an obviously hand mad sirloin patty.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed River View Restaurant & Lounge also viewed

 

Been to River View Restaurant & Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage River View Restaurant & Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.