We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“horrible food” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Serranos Mexican Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Serranos Mexican Restaurant
40869 Sierra Dr, Three Rivers, CA 93271-9794
559-561-7283
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 13 restaurants in Three Rivers
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Fullerton, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“horrible food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

food was poorly seasoned and there were flies everywhere. I ordered the vegetarian fajita with beans and rice. The vegetables were mostly zucchini and green pepper. The beans were very bland. we continually had to wave our hands over the food to keep the flies away.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

47% Recommend
    16
    26
    25
    10
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tunbridge Wells
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere but slow service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We checked in late in our motel and there was the nearby option of a pizza place and this mexican restaurant. The pizza place looked a bit like a fast food one, so we opted for the Mexican which had a nice patio with string lights and music. Seating was a bit chaotic and no one seemed in charge, but after we had just grabbed some chairs at a table we felt very comfortable. The food turned out to be delicious and was served in large portions, but the service was very slow. Thanks to Amelia, the cute neighbourhood dog who comes and visits the patio apparently every day, we kept ourselves entertained and didn't mind the wait, but don't visit when you are in a hurry.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Nice outdoor dining great Mexican food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

The outdoor dining was very nice, the service was good, food was great, and the prices were just right!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tustin, California
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“A nice surprise in this small tourist town.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Three Rivers is a small, rustic, tourist-oriented town near the entrance to Sequoia National Park. In this kind of setting you tend not to have high expectations of the dining options, of which there are just a handful. So, we were pleasantly surprised at the quality of food we received at Serrano’s.

This seems to be a popular place, with a customer mix of tourists and local residents. There is both an indoor dining area and an outdoor patio, both of which were full this particular evening. The service was courteous and helpful, if a tad slow; the prices were reasonable. My wife was very happy with her grilled chicken tostada, while my albondigas (meatball) soup was perhaps the best I’ve ever had.

Given the combination of food quality and value, this restaurant exceeded our expectations.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Ana, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Better not be in a hurry”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

It was seat yourself and we didn't get a menu for at least 15 minutes. Our drink orders came out pretty fast but she left before we could order our food. So we had to wait at least 20 minutes before we ASKED her to take our order. Once we placed our orders it took just about an hour for everything to come out. I mean two families picked up their kids and left before their food even came because it took so long. I ordered the Chicken Burrito. I was happy with the size of the burrito but the authenticity of it was not there. And flies were EVERYWHERE! The food was decent but not worth the wait. I say give it a shot if you have time to kill.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Serranos Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Serranos Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Serranos Mexican Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.