We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beyond Heaven on Earth” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rio Sierra Riverhouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Rio Sierra Riverhouse to your Saves list
Rio Sierra Riverhouse
2.0 of 5 Inn   |   41997 Sierra Dr, Three Rivers, CA 93271   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 10 Three Rivers B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles
1 review
“Beyond Heaven on Earth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2009

This place is just beyond imagination. Mars, the property manager is by far the best I have seen so far and I rent houses a lot these days.
Living at the property was even better than the national park. There is a bonfire every night, BBQ grills available. There is on BBQ grill very close to the river. During this time of the year at night there is ankle deep water, its fun to BBQ in the river....
The cabanas are the best place to relax with blankets near fire. We used to come back from the park early to hang out at the property.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    11
    1
    3
    1
See reviews for
35
44
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lakewood, CA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2008

Can't stop thinking about our wonderful stay at the Rio Sierra. Once you step behind the blue gate and enter the property, it's pure beauty! we just cant stop thinking of our lovely weekend. We stayed in the River Studio with a wonderful view of the Kaweah River and have booked the Master Suite for a girls trip in January. Everything was "PERFECT" from the Fire that was lit each night, massage down by the river and not to mention the great conversations we had with Margaret. Just to give you an example, it was our 19th wedding anniversary and i made a comment to my husband about not bringing wine glasses for our wine, once we returned from dinner there were two wine glasses waiting for us in our room, what a thoughtful touch. That's what you'll experience when you stay at the Rio Sierra it's like home away from home. I can go on... and on..., cannot wait to get back there.

We highly recommend retreating to Rio Sierra, you will not be dissapointed!

We send our sincere blessings and much success Margaret!

Angel and Celia

  • Liked — Peaceful, Quiet, Scenery
  • Disliked — Loved everything!
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sierra Madre, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2008

My wife and I took our very first trip to Kings Canyon/Sequoia National Park in July 2008 and after spending a couple of nights in Cedar Grove we took a recommendation from Diana Jules (a realtor in Three Rivers) to stay at a new place in town called the “Rio Sierra Riverhouse”. This charming place was a residence that has been recently converted into a cozy inn that has one of THE best places on the Kaweah River (middle fork). The water in the river was pool temperature (unbelievable) and with the large crystal clear pools in the river to swim in and delightful water falls to watch and listen to it was truly an experience that we had never had at a place of lodging. We loved Three Rivers and Rio Sierra Riverhouse so much we came back a few weeks later over the Labor Day weekend and have now been back two other times and it is only October! I have stayed in all three rooms which are priced for all budget levels and each has its own charm. If you are planning a trip up to see the largest tree in the world, General Sherman, in the Sequoia National Forest you need to spend some time on the river and in the river at the Rio Sierra Riverhouse.

  • Liked — Location on the river
  • Disliked — No ice machine
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2008

We stayed in this boutique beauty for a couple of days and wished we could have stayed longer, just to hang out there and enjoy the space. You can tell that thee rooms have been put together with love for interior design and comfort. The various chairs and cabanas outdoors overlooking the river are inviting to just sit, read a book or stare out at the magnificent surroundings. The campfire by the river tops it all, instead of going out that evening we decided to get some pizza, a bottle of wine and site in the lounge chairs by the fire. Bottom line - if you need to get away, long for nature and beauty, or just want to see the Sequoia park and need a good place to stay, I can highly recommend this place!

Stayed October 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2008

Peaceful, gorgeous, relaxing, luxurious, unique, adventurous, accommodating, romantic....if you're looking for any of these adjectives to describe your next getaway, look no further. You have found just the right spot. The Rio Sierra Riverhouse is the most amazing place I've ever stayed and I've stayed many places. As a "picky" guest, I can say that this place doesn't miss a beat and never had me asking for anything. It is all just right within your grasp. The Rio Sierra Riverhouse is perfect for a wide array of guest, no matter what your reason is for visiting Three Rivers. You can stay here just to enjoy the clean and peaceful accommodations in between trips to the Sequoia National Park, which is only a short six mile drive up the road. You can stay here and never leave the property. You can lay all day inside one of the adorable cabanas, reading a book and listening to the river. For those who love to actually get in the water, like myself, feel free. This location has one of the best swimming holes you can find on the river. Jump right in and splash around to cool down, then climb right out and sun bathe on a large rock. You will feel at one with nature in a way that is almost impossible to find these days. During the seasons where the river is flowing strong, be sure to ask the friendly and helpful staff where the calmest place to swim is, as the currents can be strong upstream. I highly recommend a room with the river view because you can crack your window at night and have the river put you right to sleep! No matter what your motivation for traveling to Three Rivers, this is the place to stay. You won't be disappointed!

  • Liked — Every little detail! The DVD Player and the cable tv were a nice added bonus to the room.
  • Disliked — There isn't one thing I can think of to complain about...which is rare!
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
schmidtable
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2008

As a former Concierge at The Four Seasons hotel this is my idea of five star accomodations in this little town of Three Rivers. The owner is there to accomodate and she covers every detail. She keeps this property spotless and each room is clean and so so cool and has everything you need. There is no kitchen but the small fridge is clean and new as is the microwave and all the toiletries are there for you. I checked every place in town and I will never stay anywhere else!!!!! The river is right in front of you, the cabanas are cool and even have rattan carpets and the coolest beach chars and lanterns. We had massages down by the river and even the masseuse was perfect. There is even a grass area under a shade tree and a lovely firepit that she lights every night and of course Margeret brings out the smores for everyone.....I cannot think of one thing that was negative about this property or our stay........STAY AT THE RIO SIERRA :)

  • Liked — It's location, its style, its cleanliness and the owner!!!!
  • Disliked — we liked it all.....
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Rio Sierra Riverhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rio Sierra Riverhouse

Address: 41997 Sierra Dr, Three Rivers, CA 93271
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Three Rivers
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Three Rivers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Rio Sierra Riverhouse 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rio Sierra Riverhouse is a landmark riverfront property in California's Sierra foothills. We're located located 6 miles from Sequoia National Park. Five comfortable rental units are each furnished with refrigerator, coffeemaker, microwave, TV, telephone, and wireless internet access.Outside, guests enjoy access to a scenic river beach and, in summer, the town's locally famous swimming hole, known as Slicky.Pull up a beach chair. Hang out in a cabana.Come Stay on the River. Let Nature Do the Rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Rio Sierra Riverhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rio Sierra Riverhouse Hotel Three Rivers

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rio Sierra Riverhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.