We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Try to imagine it ...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rio Sierra Riverhouse

Save Saved
You added Rio Sierra Riverhouse to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rio Sierra Riverhouse
2.0 of 5 Inn   |   41997 Sierra Dr, Three Rivers, CA 93271   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 10 Three Rivers B&B and Inns
Berkeley, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Try to imagine it ...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

End 2013 we searched the internet for accommodation for our CA trip and visit to Sequoia & Kings NP. We wanted to be in - or at least close - to the park (driving into the park already takes some time). We found the Rio Sierra Riverhouse and we were basically sold based on other reviews and the pictures.
The accommodation, the scenery, swimming in the river, bonfire and the relaxed atmosphere are great! We also had breakfast included, which was a an every day surprise as well.
We felt very welcome by the owner.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    7
    1
    3
    1
See reviews for
34
42
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Van Nuys
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

I love to camp, but I'm tired of the schlepping and the setting up and the taking down. We stayed in the Hideaway at Rio and it was all the joys of camping with no work. We could sit around the campfire, see stars at night, swim in the river (the best!) and be among the trees. Then we could go to sleep or cook a meal in the air conditioned caravan. The best of both worlds. Mars is wonderful. The only thing to be concerned with is the weather. It is hot this time of year.

Room Tip: If you want to be off by yourself and feel like you have your own little campground, choose the Hide...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

It's not without its quirks but I can't imagine a lovelier setting for a B&B/hotel.
It's smack on the river and the water is great for swimming especially given the hot weather.We had the trailer and, whilst a little cramped,provided a superb secluded spot to while away our evenings.
Yes some things don't quite work as they should but nothing critical and you'll happily put up with these and just enjoy the location and some of the nice touches that constantly enhance the stay.
Heartily recommended.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We stayed 3 nights in the self-catering Hideaway RV, detached from the house with lots of outside space fronting the river. The setting is gorgeous and we spent very little time inside, with our own firepit to sit around each evening. The ground and landscaping requires steady footwork, and there are steep steps down from the road.

The RV is oldish but has everything we needed, and the shower and strange flush toilet worked perfectly. It is pretty small inside but with a comfortable bed - we are used to a small motorhome. There is a hob and microwave but no oven; we used the large gas BBQ outside on 2 nights to cook our meal - the other night we had a great takeaway pizza from the Pizza Factory down the road, which did for lunch the next day as well. Eating out of doors is a great pleasure.

We actually cut short one of our two days in Sequoia to spend the afternoon in the grounds as it was so beautiful. As well as challenging rocky rapids for confident swimmers, there is a lovely large deep still pool below with sandy access for swimming - though this is used by lots of locals as well and may not be very safe for small children and you should watch your belongings. The water was not cold at the end of June. There are lots of outdoor chairs and shady spots, and the owners sell refreshments during the day.

The noise of the river lulled us to sleep but is significantly loud. If aircon was needed, that is extremely noisy, but it is quite cool here on June evenings. Management was very friendly but fires have to be out at 10pm; people do keep early nights and we hardly saw anyone about so there was no opportunity to chat.

The road up to Sequoia NP is extremely slow, steep and winding and it does take an hour minimum to get to the big trees, but they are magnificent and their biology fascinating. The 400-step stiff climb up Moro Rock, challenging at that altitude, gives a stunning panorama. Three Rivers is a very quiet little town but is the nearest place outside the park to stay. We would love to go again.

Room Tip: The self-catering Hideaway is a different experience completely from the rest ot the B&B.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

We spent just one night here as part of our 19 day road trip and we were very pleased with the room and overall experience.
We stayed in River Studio and it really was a lovely room with the most comfortable bed! We slept so well.
We popped down to the nearby Pizza restaurant and bought takeout pizzas which we ate on our balcony along with sipping one of our Sonoma wines. The grounds were lovely with little seating areas dotted everywhere and lovely lighting. The owner had a fire-pit going and was entertaining a few of the other guests. We had been asked down too but we took advantage of just watching the stars from our own balcony which we hoped didn't seem anti social, as we really aren't!
This is a lovely place and we would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for one night in Rio Sierra. I wish we could have stayed longer, it was great! We booked via another website and there were was directly nice emailcontact with the owner. We were on honeymoon, and therefore they upgraded our room to the mastersuite while we booked the gardensuite. It was amazing! Also there was a basket with fruit and congrats for us. The room was huge and very cosy. The staff was very friendly and helpfull.
In the evening we sat on the campfire. It was an overall great experience and i would recommend everyone who will go to Sequioa to stay here.
If we will be there another time, I will certainly book a room here again.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Arizona
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Do not take the Garden Room. Very small. Only one double bed. Hardly enough room to move around. Only about 50 ft from main highway, very noisy. Lot of noise from above you. If you ever take this place make SURE you get a room overlooking the river, not one facing the road.
Very over priced for their accommodations!

Room Tip: Not on front
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rio Sierra Riverhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rio Sierra Riverhouse

Address: 41997 Sierra Dr, Three Rivers, CA 93271
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Three Rivers
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Three Rivers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Rio Sierra Riverhouse 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rio Sierra Riverhouse is a landmark riverfront property in California's Sierra foothills. We're located located 6 miles from Sequoia National Park. Five comfortable rental units are each furnished with refrigerator, coffeemaker, microwave, TV, telephone, and wireless internet access.Outside, guests enjoy access to a scenic river beach and, in summer, the town's locally famous swimming hole, known as Slicky.Pull up a beach chair. Hang out in a cabana.Come Stay on the River. Let Nature Do the Rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Rio Sierra Riverhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rio Sierra Riverhouse Hotel Three Rivers

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rio Sierra Riverhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.