We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rio Sierra Riverhouse

Save Saved
You added Rio Sierra Riverhouse to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Rio Sierra Riverhouse
2.0 of 5 Inn   |   41997 Sierra Dr, Three Rivers, CA 93271   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Winchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Such a beautiful spot on the river. The Riverhouse is amazing - everything you could possibly need. Utterly charming hosts (Thanks Mars, Chuck and Tom). Totally relaxing two days spent on the river, very close to Sequoia National Park. Handy amenities in town. Large room with comfy bed, shower, fridge, coffee maker, A/C, balcony/deck with incredible views, the best swimming spot! There can be no better place for relaxing and doing nothing. We stayed here in August 2013 as part of our honemoon road trip - we couldn't have chosen better. Any advice? yep - just go - you won't be disappointed. Tim & Claire, UK.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    66
    6
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
29
37
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We booked the Wildwood rv for our two night stay towards the end of a three week road trip around the south west. Arriving in the afternoon after a long, hot drive from Las Vegas, the setting was incredibly peaceful, and the river absolutely amazing for swimming! The grounds have been thoughtfully laid out, with lots of seating areas and fire pits dotted around. The rv is in a secluded setting on the river, with beautiful views upstream, and while very small inside, has everything you need for a couple of nights. Some people may find it a little cramped, but we were perfectly happy to rough it for a couple of nights after the noise and crowds of Vegas, and tended to sit outside in the evenings relaxing by the fire with a cold beer. We used the barbeque one evening, having stocked up with supplies from the local supermarket, and would definitely recommend the breakfast picnic that can be ordered on arrival- we took it up into the park to enjoy before we set off on a hike. Owner very helpful and friendly. Wifi available in some areas of the property. Loved this place mainly for the unique river setting, beautiful swimming, and get away from it all feel. Recommended!

Room Tip: rv is small but fun
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We were so looking forward to staying here after all the previous reviews. Sadly, we wished we had stayed at the Lazy J 2 nights instead of moving over here. It is on the river and it has potential but our room was very dirty. I had to wipe the crumbs and dirt off the chairs before we could sit on them. Neither of us removed our socks while walking around because the floor was filthy. The ceiling in our room was filled with cobwebs and dirt. Just really disappointing for the price.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Just a perfect place. Even if the National parks weren't close by, you can spend a wondderful weekend or even longer here, since the location direct on the riverside ist just perfect!!! You actually can swim in the river pools! It really is a very, very nice place with nicely decorated rooms.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

It's difficult to understand how anyone could be critical of this place. We have traveled extensively and stayed everywhere from 5 star locations to cabins in the woods. I agree with other reviewers---what Mars and Thomas have worked to create here is an outdoor paradise. Visitors coming to this area recognize they are going to one of the most beautiful natural areas of the country--not New York city! Our room wasn't "fancy" but was very clean and comfortable. The only visitors who would complain would be those who haven't done much traveling to unique places. We had everything we needed and more. Upon arrival Thomas greeted us with enthusiasm and showed us all the beautiful areas of the property-- his attention to detail and his hard working attitude was appreciated and should be mentioned. Thomas had fires in all the fire pits in the evening, which was very enjoyable--enough space to sit at one alone or join others for conversation, if desired. Mars has established a unique and tranquil place to spend some time. Although we were in the area to attend a wedding, having such a beautiful location for our stay was a wonderful addition to our trip. I would not hesitate to recommend this place to anyone. Thanks Mars and Thomas.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony if available. It is definitely worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

I just spent two nights in the River Studio with my wife and 3-year-old son and was very, very happy about it. Mars and Thomas were wonderful hosts, friendly and perfectly attentive to our needs. The river and grounds are beautiful, with fires and candles lit in the evenings. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Riverview studio is just amazing. Dont judge by their web site just come here and enjoy. In the evening you just sit by the river next to bonfire, look at the stars and enjoy glass of wine. Overall I really loved thiz cozy place. Defintely will recommend it to my friends.

Room Tip: With the river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rio Sierra Riverhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rio Sierra Riverhouse

Also Known As:
Rio Sierra Riverhouse Hotel Three Rivers
Rio Sierra Riverhouse Hotel
Address: 41997 Sierra Dr, Three Rivers, CA 93271
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Three Rivers
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Three Rivers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Rio Sierra Riverhouse 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rio Sierra Riverhouse is a landmark riverfront property in California's Sierra foothills. We're located located 6 miles from Sequoia National Park. Five comfortable rental units are each furnished with refrigerator, coffeemaker, microwave, TV, telephone, and wireless internet access.Outside, guests enjoy access to a scenic river beach and, in summer, the town's locally famous swimming hole, known as Slicky.Pull up a beach chair. Hang out in a cabana.Come Stay on the River. Let Nature Do the Rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo and Priceline so you can book your Rio Sierra Riverhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rio Sierra Riverhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.