We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a special place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rio Sierra Riverhouse

Save Saved
You added Rio Sierra Riverhouse to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Rio Sierra Riverhouse
2.0 of 5 Inn   |   41997 Sierra Dr, Three Rivers, CA 93271   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“This is a special place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

It's difficult to understand how anyone could be critical of this place. We have traveled extensively and stayed everywhere from 5 star locations to cabins in the woods. I agree with other reviewers---what Mars and Thomas have worked to create here is an outdoor paradise. Visitors coming to this area recognize they are going to one of the most beautiful natural areas of the country--not New York city! Our room wasn't "fancy" but was very clean and comfortable. The only visitors who would complain would be those who haven't done much traveling to unique places. We had everything we needed and more. Upon arrival Thomas greeted us with enthusiasm and showed us all the beautiful areas of the property-- his attention to detail and his hard working attitude was appreciated and should be mentioned. Thomas had fires in all the fire pits in the evening, which was very enjoyable--enough space to sit at one alone or join others for conversation, if desired. Mars has established a unique and tranquil place to spend some time. Although we were in the area to attend a wedding, having such a beautiful location for our stay was a wonderful addition to our trip. I would not hesitate to recommend this place to anyone. Thanks Mars and Thomas.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony if available. It is definitely worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    66
    6
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
29
37
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

I just spent two nights in the River Studio with my wife and 3-year-old son and was very, very happy about it. Mars and Thomas were wonderful hosts, friendly and perfectly attentive to our needs. The river and grounds are beautiful, with fires and candles lit in the evenings. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Riverview studio is just amazing. Dont judge by their web site just come here and enjoy. In the evening you just sit by the river next to bonfire, look at the stars and enjoy glass of wine. Overall I really loved thiz cozy place. Defintely will recommend it to my friends.

Room Tip: With the river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

We had a wonderful 2 night stay with our 2 children in the Panorana Room. The website photos do not do this place justice. Such a peaceful good feeling about the riverhouse. Mars was a fantastic host. Definitely get the picnic lunch from her to take with you in the Sequoias. My only regret, we couldn't stay longer. Thanks Mars.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

I wish we had planned to stay longer! Mars is a great host; she took care of everything. The River Studio has a wall of windows overlooking the river (as well as a truly great hot shower and upgraded bathroom; real coffee cups and wine glasses, great books to read, etc.) and the grounds are really beautiful. The staff were both attentive and out-of-sight at the same time! They lit candles outside, laid out blankets in case we got cold, and started a bonfire for us down by the river. We were so relaxed and will definitely go back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shropshire
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

What a beautiful Guest House in an unbelievable setting. We stayed for two nights and it was just a haven of calm. To sit out by the river, or on the balcony and soak up the scenery was idyllic.
Thank you Mars for your hospitality - we will tell all our friends about your little bit of paradise.
If you are looking to get away from the modern hotels with music and amusements this is the place for you. Ideal for Sequoia and Kings Canyon.
Dining is limited in the area but what is there is very good

Room Tip: Any room will do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

I can't say enough about how wonderful our stay was at the Rio Sierra Riverhouse. We had the Hideaway for a couple of nights and it was great. The staff was fantastic for many of reasons people have already listed. Our place and grounds were clean, the firepit was freshened up every day, etc. We loved the atmosphere with just the amount of privacy to attention. My girl friend and I cooked and grilled all of our meals and whenever we needed something, the staff was a short walk away to help us out.

Only drawback was that the little space heater made the place really toasty so make sure you play around with the settings well before you sleep or you're going to wake up in a hot sweat.


Tips: Make sure you turn the fan on if you're cooking some delicious bacon or you'll set the fire detector off.

Room Tip: If you want more privacy, choose the hideaway. It's a bit tight in there, but you have the whole...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rio Sierra Riverhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rio Sierra Riverhouse

Also Known As:
Rio Sierra Riverhouse Hotel Three Rivers
Rio Sierra Riverhouse Hotel
Address: 41997 Sierra Dr, Three Rivers, CA 93271
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Three Rivers
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Three Rivers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Rio Sierra Riverhouse 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rio Sierra Riverhouse is a landmark riverfront property in California's Sierra foothills. We're located located 6 miles from Sequoia National Park. Five comfortable rental units are each furnished with refrigerator, coffeemaker, microwave, TV, telephone, and wireless internet access.Outside, guests enjoy access to a scenic river beach and, in summer, the town's locally famous swimming hole, known as Slicky.Pull up a beach chair. Hang out in a cabana.Come Stay on the River. Let Nature Do the Rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Rio Sierra Riverhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rio Sierra Riverhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.