We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rio Sierra Riverhouse

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Rio Sierra Riverhouse to your Saves list
Rio Sierra Riverhouse
2.0 of 5 Inn   |   41997 Sierra Dr, Three Rivers, CA 93271   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 10 Three Rivers B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Amsterdam
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

+ BBQ, privacy, Beach chairs, big room, surrounding, service

- The owner is really friendly and helpfull but a little too overprotective off her guests, cleanliness could have been better, the price (though it was worth it)

Do stay at this great little place! It feels like a holiday at the beach

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    10
    1
    3
    1
See reviews for
35
43
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
ryderonthestorm
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

Very relaxed. Enjoyed the soothings sounds and sights of the rivers. Our host, Mars, was very friendly. This place was a great respite and a very welcoming place to come back to after a day exploring and hiking in Sequoia.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

Our stay in the Rio Sierra was absolutely amazing. The location of the house is right by the river with private access to the water - amazing to go for a splash after a day in the hot weather!
The room we had, with a view over the river, was very good, with a comfortable bed, good bathroom and seating area. We didn't feel we needed the room with the private balcony as there is plenty of seating available by the river front and there are only a small number of rooms - so there are never too many guests.

Mars, the owner, was very welcoming and helpful and gave us great advise on the local amenities as well as good hikes in Sequioa NP. Beach towels were ready for us to use by the river and she made us camp fires both nights even though we were the only guest staying - that made our stay very special.

We stayed for two nights and had take away breakfast and dinner by the river every day - the location and was too good not to enjoy as much as possible. The local restaurants are not particularly exciting, but the pizza place was great for take away and sitting by the fire at the rio sierra with a bottle of wine was just spectacular.
Access to the park was very easy and quick and having also stayed in one of the park accommodations I would definitely recommended staying in Three Rivers and driving in. It is much better value for money.

I would definitely recommend this place to anyone, great for couples in particular - very romantic.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

My family stayed at Rio Sierra only one night but would have loved to stay longer. We had an amazing suite that had it's own patio overlooking the river. The accomodations were great and the owner is such a nice lady. There are several tables and chairs down by the river and a couple of fire pits to enjoy at night. We enjoyed every meal outside and falling asleep to the roar of the river was so relaxing. I recommend this place for couples, families, and even lone travelers. There is something for everyone here!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

I've stayed at Four Seasons and other top class resorts around the world and Mars at Rio Sierra provides the same level of 5 star service in Three Rivers all on her own. The setting is spectacular, a quite spot with a calm river running through it. There are always fresh towels out, fires at night and a cozy room to retire to after hiking among the sequoias. Mars is always there but never seen unless you want her. I could fill this review with superlatives, but I think you get the picture. The icing on the cake: you can get up early and be in the park for bear spotting at dawn. An experience I won't soon forget.

Room Tip: The Garden room was perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

We stayed 4 nights at Rio Sierra and we loved it

After hiking in the Sequoia NP, stay on a sun warmed rock by the river just a few steps down your room ...you feel just great! Then, jump in the water ... you feel like in paradise. Then end your evening chatting by the fire … Does it sound like a cool place? It is indeed!

The owner, Mars, is really nice and helpful, providing good advice about the park, guides and maps were at our disposal during our stay. Please note no breakfast but Antoinette's, 2 minutes away, offers perfect start for an outdoor day.

Even if you have to drive 45 minutes to be in the middle of the huge sequoias, this place is really worth the money we paid for it!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

The Rio Sierra Riverhouse is one of a Kind! The Service is Excellent and the rooms are nice and clean. Hidden from the main road, the property fonts the Kaweah River. There is a significant amount of beach access from the property, providing excellent wading and swimming areas. There is also ample areas for picnics/brunch and barbeques, not to mention fire pits perfect for relaxing while listing to the river or even cooking s'mores. The owner was extremely friendly and accomadating - we will be back!

Jim

San Clemente, CA

Room Tip: All Rooms face the River - Can't go wrong with any of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Rio Sierra Riverhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rio Sierra Riverhouse

Address: 41997 Sierra Dr, Three Rivers, CA 93271
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Three Rivers
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Three Rivers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Rio Sierra Riverhouse 2*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rio Sierra Riverhouse is a landmark riverfront property in California's Sierra foothills. We're located located 6 miles from Sequoia National Park. Five comfortable rental units are each furnished with refrigerator, coffeemaker, microwave, TV, telephone, and wireless internet access.Outside, guests enjoy access to a scenic river beach and, in summer, the town's locally famous swimming hole, known as Slicky.Pull up a beach chair. Hang out in a cabana.Come Stay on the River. Let Nature Do the Rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Rio Sierra Riverhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rio Sierra Riverhouse Hotel Three Rivers

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rio Sierra Riverhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.