We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderfull place to enjoy a good dinner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gateway Restaurant and Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Gateway Restaurant and Lodge to your Saves list
Gateway Restaurant and Lodge
2.5 of 5 Lodge   |   45978 Sierra Drive, Three Rivers, CA 93271   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Groningen
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A wonderfull place to enjoy a good dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

When weather allows, which usually is the case in California, you can dine on the back terrace ('patio') of the restaurant. The view of the river is really wonderfull with the colours of sunset behind the bridge. On the other side are the mountains of Sequioa NatPark! The restaurant is very near the entrance of the park, so a nice place to eat after visiting. There is NO annoying music just the rumble of the water right below. Service if quick but not hasty. Dinner is fine, good quality foods combined with the soft Californian wine. Not cheap but not exclusively expensive as well. When we would have stayed longer in this area I would most certainly get back here - or when are nearby ever again.

Room Tip: We did not stay in the hotel just dined in the restaurant
See more room tips
Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    7
    6
    9
    18
See reviews for
19
22
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Fresno, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Food was excellent. And we enjoyed it very much ! The shrimp was excellent and more than I could eat We would go back for sure and the service was above average. A great spot for couples and familes. It is a bit pricey.

Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
forest falls
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2015

We stayed in Room #6. When we first checked in, we were surprised to find our door open. It was tiny and a bit dated. We walked outside to the back deck and notice the screen was off of the slider and was broken. Lucky for us the weather was nice and no bugs out. There was a clock on the side table that could not be plugged in because there was no outlet-lock chain on the door, but you couldn't lock it..it was just left to dangle...small shower only, no phone, only two pillows for bed, plastic cups, coffee pot that was stained (thought it was dirty). At first we were kind of negative about the room because of the few things wrong with it. Simple stuff that can be fixed..we felt as if it wasn't worth what we paid for it. We realized what we were paying for was the view the back deck had to offer and one mile drive to enter the Sequoia National Park. We made adjustments to the rest of the room and overall stay was nice. The place is very quiet at night -lights outside are bright at night and shines in your room keeping it bright. Not sure what time they go off but, they do. Bring extra pillows..unless you like sleeping with the couch pillow(we didnt). Sauna in room was nice. Refrig-coffee pot was nice. Fake fire-heater on wall (looks like a flat screen tv) was nice and warm.Free Wi fi...but VERY VERY SLOW! Our cell phone did not work at all... It was clean-towels were nice. Overall..not a bad place...probably would stay again, but will check out other places in town before booking again. Can't beat the close drive to the park. The restaurant was pricey-steak was good..but salad was warm. Potatoes, and veggies were cold. They only give you a dinner roll each..funny?? My white wine was warm... Only place in town and they seem pretty busy at dinner time. You check in at the restaurant.

Room Tip: bring extra pillows. Room 6 has a few extras..but tiny
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014

Night stop for our visit. Not a chain standard but basic drive in motel but comfortable and adequate for location and price. Beautiful location with the occasional black bear as a visitor and close to the national park. Staff are very friendly and made for a pleasant stay and okay for a short stopover

Room Tip: The family chalet or honeymoon suite overlook the River
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

This is your 5th year at the Gateway Lodge. We come every year
to relax and enjoy the beautiful river outside the honeymoon
cabin balcony. We love swimming in the river pool 200 feet from
the cablin. This year all the rooms were upgraded with new paint,
flat screen tv and new furniture. The honeymoon cabin has a new
sofa that folds into a bed. The honeymoon cabin has a small
refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, air conditioning and free
wifi/parking. The cabin has a small back yard with a 3 person
chair swing facing the river. The lodge is pet friendly. The
Lodge has an excellent staff, who is very helpful and friendly.

The Gateway Restaurtant is a great place to eat and drink. See
our review under "Restaurtants".

The lodge is 3 minutes to the Sequoia National Park. The park
has crystal cave with breath taking water falls near the cave
entrance. We take our inner tubes to float on the river in the
park next to the Sequoia National Park Indian Sign.

The Gateway is a relaxing place to stay. We will be back next
year.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coalinga, California, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

The wife and were pointed to the Gateway by some good friends 12 years ago and we have never been disappointed by the hotel or the restuaraunt. The prices are in line with the proximity of the Sequoia Park and the food is NOT overpriced. Try Harris ranch if want to experience OVERPRICED. I highly recommened this place!

Room Tip: No bad rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

The motel is just a few minutes away from the entrance to the Sequoia National Park. As such, it is a good alternative to the motels in the park. The location is right next to a creek, where bears apparently visit sometimes in the evenings. The lobby is also the bar and restaurant, which might be a bit confusing. Very friendly staff and the food served was very good. The room is on the small side, in our case with one double bed and one extra single bed. Good sized TV with satellite and PPV. WiFi available but quite weak.

Room Tip: Most likely, rooms 6 and 7 face the creek. The others face the parking ot on one side and the back o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gateway Restaurant and Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway Restaurant and Lodge

Address: 45978 Sierra Drive, Three Rivers, CA 93271
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Three Rivers
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Three Rivers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Gateway Restaurant and Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lodging renovation completed March 2014. The Gateway Restaurant and Lodge is located just 1/4 mile from the Main Entrance to Sequoia National Park on Highway 198. If offers a full service bar and restaurant along with a lodge containing 5 standard rooms, a cozy honeymoon cottage on the river with a dry sauna room and a two bedroom river house that sleeps up to 8 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Gateway Restaurant and Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gateway Restaurant and Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.