We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great 4th of July Vacation at Gateway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gateway Restaurant and Lodge

Save Saved
You added Gateway Restaurant and Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Gateway Restaurant and Lodge
2.5 of 5 Lodge   |   45978 Sierra Drive, Three Rivers, CA 93271   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Redondo Beach, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great 4th of July Vacation at Gateway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is your 5th year at the Gateway Lodge. We come every year
to relax and enjoy the beautiful river outside the honeymoon
cabin balcony. We love swimming in the river pool 200 feet from
the cablin. This year all the rooms were upgraded with new paint,
flat screen tv and new furniture. The honeymoon cabin has a new
sofa that folds into a bed. The honeymoon cabin has a small
refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, air conditioning and free
wifi/parking. The cabin has a small back yard with a 3 person
chair swing facing the river. The lodge is pet friendly. The
Lodge has an excellent staff, who is very helpful and friendly.

The Gateway Restaurtant is a great place to eat and drink. See
our review under "Restaurtants".

The lodge is 3 minutes to the Sequoia National Park. The park
has crystal cave with breath taking water falls near the cave
entrance. We take our inner tubes to float on the river in the
park next to the Sequoia National Park Indian Sign.

The Gateway is a relaxing place to stay. We will be back next
year.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    7
    2
    8
    17
See reviews for
17
18
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Coalinga, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The wife and were pointed to the Gateway by some good friends 12 years ago and we have never been disappointed by the hotel or the restuaraunt. The prices are in line with the proximity of the Sequoia Park and the food is NOT overpriced. Try Harris ranch if want to experience OVERPRICED. I highly recommened this place!

Room Tip: No bad rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

The motel is just a few minutes away from the entrance to the Sequoia National Park. As such, it is a good alternative to the motels in the park. The location is right next to a creek, where bears apparently visit sometimes in the evenings. The lobby is also the bar and restaurant, which might be a bit confusing. Very friendly staff and the food served was very good. The room is on the small side, in our case with one double bed and one extra single bed. Good sized TV with satellite and PPV. WiFi available but quite weak.

Room Tip: Most likely, rooms 6 and 7 face the creek. The others face the parking ot on one side and the back o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Luckily we only stayed at this well over priced dump for 1 night.The location is with out a doubt a lovely setting but the old ramshackled lodges that you have to bed down in are Dreadfull! Our AC worked but it was beyond belief how much noise it gave off.Also,the food is very average but very expensive because they can.Its miles from anywhere else!PS.Book early but not here!! Free WIFI but lousy strength!!

Room Tip: Choose some where else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
naples, fl
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Fortunately we only had to stay one night. We were embarrassed that foreign travelers might think that this place is the best we have to offer. Grounds had discarded items scattered about, room with two beds meant you could not get to the closet without climbing over the bed. The night we were there, there was a band which started about 8PM and ending sometime after 11, so if you were there to rest, that was not an option along with the noisy a/c. The "upgrade" in our room may have been the new pipes which were installed on the interior wall of the shower (they were not in the wall, but in the shower). If you needed to plug in coffee pot, you would have to move out the desk and refrigerator first. Definitely would not recommend. We did try the restaurant, which was another disappointment, overpriced and terrible food and service......

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

I just stayed there for three nights. We were in the cabin with the river view off the big back patio. We caught trout on the river below. We saw a Mother black bear and her two cubs right below our patio. We ate breakfast everyday over the river and had BBQ steaks on the patio one night also. The location is excellent, it's very close to most of the main attractions at Sequia National Park. The owner Glenn is very nice and gave us great advice on where to go. It's not fancy but it's clean and fully equipted. The view out back is great.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

It’s a sin.

This hotel is located in such a perfect spot: just a mile or two from the southern entrance of Sequoia National Park, alongside the gorgeous Kaweah River. The problem is that this lodge is old & crappy.

If the owners were to raze this mess and create a cozy and vibrant new “Gateway” to Sequoia National Park, they could have a true gem on their hands. I suppose because of the proximity to the park, they already get plenty of business as it is, so there’s no reason to start over. To give the owners credit, they have mentioned that they’ve shelled out over $100,000 for recent renovations, but I didn’t see it.

I’ll admit that I didn’t stay in the “Honeymoon” cabin which is probably much nicer than the standard room I stayed in. My room just screamed tired, worn-out & dank, with a cramped bathroom and a shoddy air-conditioning unit. I’m not a picky person who expects luxury accommodations whenever I travel (I usually stay at your basic Hampton Inn), but for the price I paid, I was definitely disappointed in the look and feel of the room. Yes, I guess its nearness to the park entrance warrants a higher per night cost than what I would expect for a hotel in this blah condition, but the value was still sorely lacking. Perhaps if they were to throw in a complimentary breakfast, they could boost the perception of their customers closer to feeling as if they were getting their money’s worth.

Maybe the attraction here is the restaurant, which does get higher billing in the establishment’s name. I will admit that I did not eat at the restaurant. It is possible that enjoying a fine meal while overlooking the beautiful babbling waters of the river below would make up for the less-than-satisfying room.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gateway Restaurant and Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway Restaurant and Lodge

Address: 45978 Sierra Drive, Three Rivers, CA 93271
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Three Rivers
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Three Rivers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Gateway Restaurant and Lodge 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lodging renovation completed March 2014. The Gateway Restaurant and Lodge is located just 1/4 mile from the Main Entrance to Sequoia National Park on Highway 198. If offers a full service bar and restaurant along with a lodge containing 5 standard rooms, a cozy honeymoon cottage on the river with a dry sauna room and a two bedroom river house that sleeps up to 8 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Gateway Restaurant and Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gateway Restaurant and Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.