We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“COLD Thanksgiving meal at Gateway Restaurant , bad : (” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Gateway Restaurant and Lodge

Save Saved
You added Gateway Restaurant and Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Gateway Restaurant and Lodge
2.5 of 5 Lodge   |   45978 Sierra Drive, Three Rivers, CA 93271   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Southern California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“COLD Thanksgiving meal at Gateway Restaurant , bad : (”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2008

We just spent our Thanksgiving weekend in Three Rivers, CA to visit Sequoia National Park. For Thanksgiving dinner we ate at the Gateway restaurant. And it was a TERRIBLE mistake. The dinner cost about $30 per person (we figured for thanksgiving why not). But it turned out a NOT-SO-PLEASANT experience.

The waiter seated us at the end of restaurant; it was like a separated building. There were only few people and many empty tables, and there was no music, which feels very quiet and almost awkward. I mentioned that to the host and asked her if she can turn on some background music, but nothing happened. It took 40 minutes until appetizers arrived. All our food was COLD and not especially good for a Thanksgiving dinner. There was also a mix up with our order. On top of that they ran out of main items on the menu (it also happened to the table next to us), which is really bad planning for such a busy day - " NO HAM & TURKEY ON THANKSGIVING??". I also do not like it that they added automatically 20% tip to the check. This is really pushing it.

I will NEVER eat at Gateway restaurant again! Therefore would not recommend this restaurant.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    6
    2
    7
    15
See reviews for
15
15
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, AZ
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2008

We rented a two bedroom suite for $230. I do not remember ever staying in a more neglected or dirtier place. The signs of poor hygiene were everywhere - spider webs in corners of doors and windows, layers of dust on unnecessary knick-knacks and plastic flowers, the kitchen garbage can was filthy, layers of muck by the refrigerator, mold in the bathroom, red splatters all over the kitchen ceiling. Patio had a gorgeous view but it was disgusting – looked like it was not cleaned from the previous guests - an old beer bucket and toothpicks were littering the floor, patio table was dirty, (as were our socks after walking on the carpets just once). The rags we used to clean the table turned black afterward. In the "master" (small room crammed with two beds with questionable looking covers) had a broken and exposed outlet which seemed quite dangerous. The entrance patio had a non-working gate, was littered with cigarette butts and seemingly discarded furniture. We went to the common laundry room and were surprised to see that this disorganized shack served not only as a laundry room, but as a mechanic storage room, as well as hotel’s clean linen storage -all clean sheets and towels were exposed and piled on random cardboard boxes and overflowing on the dirty floor. The website photos made a place look rustic and cute - it was anything but that. With such a great location, close to the Sequia park and with unparallel views of the river, I could totally see charging $230 for a two bedroom suite even if it was just simple and clean... but this place was in dirty disarray. Another concern was that at the bottom of the patio, leading into the river there was a pipe coming from the hotel, and around it there was a collection of dirty scum bubbles - I do not know if it was anything environmentally unsafe or not, but it was unsavory looking for sure. I have included few pictures but they do not even portray how yucky this place was! I am not even sure how is it allowed to remain open!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — everything else
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
schmidtable
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2008

The owners were so kind and friendly and not to mention trustworthy....I did not do my homework which is my mistake. We arrived and we received a warm welcome....But when we went to the largest room/house there #7 to be exact....I ran right out the door into a huge spiderweb....Who wants to look at trash when your in the mountains!!!!! Who wants to stay in a dirty room...The patio was great but filthy as was the barbecue.. The refunded our money and were really great about it. We did eat there and it was very good but if your going to sell rooms do it right!!!!! If you know you have a great location treat it that way. Stay at the Rio Sierra or Lake Elowin......The Rio Sierra is five star!!!!!!!!! I have really high standards.

  • Liked — The food
  • Disliked — It was dirty
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
momsoccer3
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2008

I`ve never been to such a cute and warm little neck of the woods.After spending a beautiful day in the Sequoia National Park We drove up to this place and was WOWED the whole time from the SUPER FREINDLY staff . To the INCREDIBLE view ON THE RIVER to the wonderful steak. Our server (I forget his name he was from the east coast) provided one of the funniest and fastest service my husband and I have ever experienced . BRAVO ... bring a camera and maybe a swimsuit ;-)

  • Liked — staff
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2008

We booked thru the Nat'l Park Reservations. When we (a family of 4, 2 are children!) arrived after a 5-6 hour drive - they did not have a reservation for us! They were rather indifferent about it as well. He did call a few places seeing if they had a room. Finally, there was ONE room available in all of Three Rivers - and it was a mere $140 MORE. I didn't know what to do - not going to make the kids sleep in the car!! So, we were took the room. The 2nd night in Three Rivers, we did come back to Gateway. We went to our room, the door was unlocked and the TV on. The room was a dump. Found out why the tv was on - power button pushed in on TV. Found the remote - batteries dead. Front window won't close or lock! The room smelled. Felt dirty. Wasn't sure we even wanted to sleep IN the bed! NEVER AGAIN! Checked out, and he acted discusted when I asked for a discount (since they were the ones that screwed up the reservations the night before). He offered a mere $20 off. Oh so kind considering their screw up costs us $140 over the original $99 for the room the first night. Too bad really - great location. And with a little TLC, this could be a great place. Oh - and forget the restaurant. Meals ar $30-40 a piece!!

  • Liked — the location (only)
  • Disliked — EVERYTHING else
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2008

We booked The Gateway at the last minute as most other accommodation was fully booked. The lodge was in need of upgrading and for the price you were really paying for the location and not the standard of accommodation. The lodge was not too clean either and I did check the sheets before climbing into bed.
There was a barbecue but no gas. Food in the restaurant was overpriced and not too good, but again you were paying for the location.

  • Liked — The views from the lodge
  • Disliked — Cleanliness
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newbury,england
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2008

If you are really desperate then stay here!

the rooms were very basic, dark, gloomy and stuffy - exactly what you don't want after a 600 mile journey.

Less than welcoming at reception- indifferent at best.

It's true the setting and location looked great but you need to take out 2nd mortgage to eat at the restaurant - there's nothing else for about 5 miles.

In fairness when we cancelled the next 2 nights they didn't charge us -as they could have done. Real shame as this could be a fantastic place with a bit of thought and sensitivity.

  • Stayed July 2008
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Gateway Restaurant and Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway Restaurant and Lodge

Address: 45978 Sierra Drive, Three Rivers, CA 93271
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Three Rivers
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Specialty lodging in Three Rivers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Gateway Restaurant and Lodge 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lodging renovation completed March 2014. The Gateway Restaurant and Lodge is located just 1/4 mile from the Main Entrance to Sequoia National Park on Highway 198. If offers a full service bar and restaurant along with a lodge containing 5 standard rooms, a cozy honeymoon cottage on the river with a dry sauna room and a two bedroom river house that sleeps up to 8 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Gateway Restaurant and Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gateway Restaurant and Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.