We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun Time” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Gateway Restaurant and Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Gateway Restaurant and Lodge to your Saves list
Gateway Restaurant and Lodge
2.5 of 5 Lodge   |   45978 Sierra Drive, Three Rivers, CA 93271   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Natchez, Mississippi
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Fun Time”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

We stayed at the Gateway March 27 & 28th. Everyone was very nice and welcoming. The rooms had just been redone and was very nice. Has a beautiful dining area along the creek. We were told to make ourselves at home and had a nice stay. Would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    7
    4
    9
    17
See reviews for
18
19
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Tehachapi, California
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

We booked 2 nights and had a terrific time. Everyone went out of there way to see our stay was a great experience. Met the owner Glen, who showed up at our door with a free bottle of champagne. The river was outside our back door with all the sounds of nature. We took our 2 small dogs and they were welcomed. Also, met Glens wife at the Gateway Restaurant. She went out of her way to meet all of our needs. What a great couple. The Gateway Restaurant is fantastic. The ambience is incredible, as well as the food. I give the Lodge and Restaurant 5 STARS*****. Great place to stay to explore the National Park and river. Can't wait to go back. We stayed in cabin 6. It had a dry sauna in room. Nice!

Room Tip: Cabin 6 is honeymoon suite with dry sauna and river at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travelers1954, Owner at Gateway Restaurant and Lodge, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to write such a nice review. We have spent over $100,000 in room renovations this year, so all our rooms have a fresh new look. If you want to come and have a great time with great food and drinks, this is the place to stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Stayed here for a family trip to Sequoia. Looked good on the internet, but when we got there it was terrible. Rooms are old. Shower wouldn't drain. A guy tried to plunge it and left, never came back. Couldn't find anyone it the morning to check out. Maybe they were prejudice, or just didn't care because they had my money already. Restaurant was expensive and mediocre at best. Family still razzes me about it. Could have stayed at a AAA rated place next door, if I had known. Don't waste your time.

Room Tip: Pick the AAA rated motel next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travelers1954, Owner at Gateway Restaurant and Lodge, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
We understand your concerns. We have just completed a $100,000 renovation of all of our rooms. Floors, ceilings, walls, sinks, counter tops, art, fixtures and even light switched and plugs. The Gateway was originally built in the 1920's and prior owners did only what they could to keep things going. My wife, Susan has gracefully redecorated all of our rooms and we welcome your return visit. In fact, since you were so displeased I would kindly offer you a free night stay during your next visit. just email me at info@gateway-sequoia.com. Our rooms are now the nicest and newest in the whole Sequoia National Park area.
As far as our food, I don't know of a place where you can get a better steak with or without the majestic views from our dining room or river terrace.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

We ended up at the Gateway when, thanks to Obamacare, the Sequoia National Park was shut and we could not get in to the lodge we had booked in the park. Glenn saved our bacon, and we had one of the best nights in our 3 week trip to the States. Admittedly the rooms are not the Bellagio, but Glenn's hospitality was outstanding. The meal he prepared was absolutely top class and the bar was one of the best stocked I have seen. A musical soiree followed with Glenn on the pianola and the whole bar in good voice. I would go back without hesitation, and recommend it to anyone who likes a fun evening and excellent value

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redondo Beach, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

The gateway lodge is a great relaxing place to stay and eat. We
stayed in the honeymoon cabin #6 which had a large patio facing
the beautiful river. The room had refrigerator, microwave, air
conditioning, coffee maker, hair dyer and sauna (we did not need
sauna in August). I could check my email with their Free Wifi and
watch cable on the flat screen TV. Our little dog, Lucy was
welcome, because the lodge is pet friendly. The staff was very
friendly and made you feel like family.
We ate at the restaurant, where my wife had the best New
York Steak ever. The steak was tender and covered with delicious
peppercorn wine sauce and mushrooms. I had the excellent shrimp
scampi. Our table had an awesome view of the river. Very
romantic!.
The lodge was 3 minutes to the Sequoia national park, where
we saw crystal cave and 3 breath taking water falls near the
cave entrance. The next day we visited the General Sherman
tree, it is among the tallest, widest and longest-lived of all
trees on the planet. The final day we floated on the river on
our inner tube. The Gateway lodge and restaurant gets 5 stars.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We just returned from a 12 day trip to California (San Francisco, San Jose, Sequoia, Yosemite, Tahoe and Napa). We planned to stay 2 days at the Gateway but it was a dump - no cell phone service, no internet service, no land line phone in the room - and NO STAFF OR MANAGEMENT present from 10pm - 10am! The only way to get a "breathtaking view" of the river was to walk behind the lodge restaurant through a pile of smelly trash and trash cans - it was gross. The small window a/c had a very tough time keeping our room under 80 degrees. The food was horrible - my entire group agreed this place was the worst lodging and food of the entire trip. We left after one day and forfeited our next day charge (even though the staff told us we would get a refund). We loved California but I made a big mistake when i booked here - would have been better off at the Bates Motel.

Room Tip: Go 20 miles east, west, south or north
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

The Gateway Lodge is not fit for humans. It should be condemned. It was the most disgusting room I have ever stayed in. The room had a collection of furniture that must of been retrieved from a landfill. Dirty blankets, refrigerator not defrosted, no shower pressure, no chair at writing desk. The patio consisted of a filthy plastic resin table and dirty cushions on the chairs. There were discarded beer bottles from the previous guests and cigarette butts on the ground. The A/C sounded like a freight train coming through the room. The toilet when flushed would shoot water from the side of the tank onto the side wall. There was no customer service. We had to check-in at the restaurant and the bar maid threw the key on the bar at us. I refused to eat at the restaurant.

Room Tip: Any place but Gateway
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gateway Restaurant and Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway Restaurant and Lodge

Address: 45978 Sierra Drive, Three Rivers, CA 93271
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Three Rivers
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Three Rivers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Gateway Restaurant and Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lodging renovation completed March 2014. The Gateway Restaurant and Lodge is located just 1/4 mile from the Main Entrance to Sequoia National Park on Highway 198. If offers a full service bar and restaurant along with a lodge containing 5 standard rooms, a cozy honeymoon cottage on the river with a dry sauna room and a two bedroom river house that sleeps up to 8 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Gateway Restaurant and Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gateway Restaurant and Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.