We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Log House Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Log House Lodge to your Saves list
The Log House Lodge
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   42182 Mynatt Dr., Three Rivers, CA 93271   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 10 Three Rivers B&B and Inns
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Excellent accommodation close to the Giant Sequoia National Park. We were given the basement apartment, which had TV, two pull-out beds, kitchen, bedroom, huge balcony, washing facilities etc. etc. Wonderful hostess, who left us to our own devices, but was on hand should we need her. We were tempted to stay at the lodge instead of going to the national park because it was so relaxing there! A real gem of a stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    1
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
14
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We stayed for one night and wished we had much longer at Log House Lodge, about an hour's drive from the Giant redwood forest this was a great place to stay.

Maureen was a fantastic host and had really considered everything to make our stay comfortable and homely, we were even give. A bottle of wine in our room.

Great breakfast too, highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Stayed one night before heading off to Sequoia, about 30 min away. Very warm welcome from Maureen and Tim who had covered all bases in a flexible but efficient manner. The decoration of the house and the rooms has been done beautifully and with much love. You'll hesitate a moment before making yourself at home in your room just to take it all in. An in-house FM radio station plays appropriate old fashioned music. Lots of little touches. Yes the bathroom is shared but it was very clean, a good shower and extractor fan and there was a basin in our room. Best breakfast I've had in a long time - Maureen is a fantastic chef. Proper European style coffee. This place is a rare gem, will definitely be staying here longer next time I'm near Three Rivers.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

I had been on a roadtrip for almost a month, going from a motel to another, used to neutral hotel rooms and bland breakfasts. This had been booked by my company, never did I expect such a place... An amazing log house with fascinating details everywhere, vintage books and toys, a little Victorian inspiration. It took me 20mn just looking at everything in the room before sitting down on the bed. So beautiful et so, so comfortable too. Maureen and her husband are the perfect hosts, making you feel, litterally at home, telling you about the region, fantastic anecdotes. And the breakfast oh, what a joy, homecooked, original, delicious and satisfying on a superbly laid table. An amazing couple both super talented. I tip my hat to them. Thank you - just the break from the routine we needed...

Room Tip: I had the Rosebud, superb!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We stayed with Maureen and Tim for 2 nights in the middle of October as a part of our 3 week trip around California and Nevada.

We were specifically looking for somewhere in the Sequoia area that had an authentic feel with a homely touch. We couldn't of asked for more from The Log House Lodge. It ticked every box for us. The house has been painstakingly dressed to look the part and Maureen and Tim's attention to detail is impeccable. The rooms are vey comfortable and spacious and you have free access to a sitting room and deck area which was lovely. There is no TV (not that you would every need it here) but excellent wifi. Please do not expect The Log House Lodge to be a polished 5* hotel with all of the mod cons because it isn't. It's better than that. Its a home that Maureen and Tim have lovingly made into a wonderful place to stay and enjoy the Sequoia National Park.

Although it is their home you never feel as though you are imposing. Maureen is also a dab hand at cooking and served us up some of the most delicious breakfasts we had on our trip. Maureen also left us out some small treats which our daughter quickly helped us with.

We have and will carry on recommending The Log House Lodge to our friends and family should they be in the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Spent three nights at end of the govt. shutdown. Maureen the innkeeper is friendly and an excellent cook. Breakfasts were delicious. They don't have TV but do have internet access. Rooms are comfortable although a bit fussy with lots of western memorabilia and decorations. The bed was good and an open window at night allowed the room to cool down at night (in October). Driveway is very steep, and both guest rooms in the main house are up a flight of stairs. Neither handicapped nor elderly friendly. Unfortunately, the upstairs shower had a hot water malfunction ( there wasn't any) during my husband's attempt to take a shower. When we mentioned it to Maureen she said it just takes awhile for the hot to come up from the basement. So the next night I tried, wrong, it was the coldest shower I ever took.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardCollier, Owner at The Log House Lodge, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Yep, we had a plumbing problem while this guest was here. These things happen unfortunately.
It was fixed as quickly as humanly possible but still not quickly enough to prevent the unfortunate cold shower mentioned here. (If I'd had that experience I'd probably give an even more negative review.) We did offer to refund the guest's money but they declined. We'd like to think that the other reviews on this page give a more accurate portrayal of the experience we strive to give our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Stayed one evening. Maureen the innkeeper is warm and a very good cook. Breakfast was very nice and original. Other guest didn't show so there was no problem with sharing bathroom. However, our room was very warm even with the AC on and a fan blowing on us at the foot of the bed. Driveway is very steep and narrow. House was clean but could use some updating.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichardCollier, Owner at The Log House Lodge, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
AC has been updated since this review was written. As to the decor, we boldly proclaim on our website our offer of "rustic, nostalgic comfort" and find it curious as to why those with apparent preference for sterile steel and glass designs would book with us and then complain about it. We suggest travelers check out some of the other reviews on this page before they draw too many conclusions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Log House Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Log House Lodge

Address: 42182 Mynatt Dr., Three Rivers, CA 93271
Location: United States > California > Three Rivers
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Three Rivers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Log House Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the quaint village of Three Rivers California, this spectacular log house is your ultimate escape from the rigors of the 21st century. Just ten minutes from Sequoia National Park, five minutes from Lake Kaweah, and a mere stroll from the Kaweah River, your stay at the Log House Lodge puts you in the center of a laid-back atmosphere that’s perfect for relaxing or as a base for outdoor adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your The Log House Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Log House Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.