We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Breath of Fresh Air” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Log House Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Log House Lodge to your Saves list
The Log House Lodge
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   42182 Mynatt Dr., Three Rivers, CA 93271   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 10 Three Rivers B&B and Inns
Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A Breath of Fresh Air”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

My husband and I took a last minute trip to California with a mission to visit Sequoia National Park. We hadn't booked any hotels, so two hours out I started searching and came across The Log House Lodge. I called the owner, Mauriene, and asked if she had any availability. As luck would have it, both of their rooms were available! (Please know that we were traveling in March which is the off season...if you are going in the summer, she books up so be sure to call in advance.) We showed up with our 16 month old son and had a wonderful evening. After eating at a local restaurant, we went back to the lodge and put our son to bed. They left us a nice bottle of wine, so we headed to the deck to enjoy the gorgeous starry sky and the wine. It was so nice to be able to be comfortable with our kiddo asleep just upstairs in a home-like environment. The next morning, Mauriene made us a fabulous breakfast that included fresh berries and Greek yogurt, an egg souffle, coffee and this fabulous orange juice drink that tasted much like an orange julius! It was a great experience!
Also, keep in mind that there are only two rooms and a shared bathroom. There was no one else there so we were fine, and if there were, we still probably would be. Just know that going in, but it was a great place and only about 20 minutes from the entrance to Sequoia National Park.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    1
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
14
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011 via mobile

It was only a short stay but we were very well looked after with a lovely room and nice cool AC when it was over 100 outside. Wifi all through the house was nicely complemented with a bottle of red provided for us. Excellent breakfast set us up for the day. Staying at the Log House was a superb decision on my wife's part.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2010

We had booked this via Hotels.com, indicating that we would be 2 adults and 2 children. Unfortunately, this was not communicated to the hosts and they were surprised to see 4 rather than 2 people. BUT: within half an hour, they had made their own bedroom available, so our kids could stay in their own room - impressive! This showed their attitude, making every effort to ensure that their guests had a pleasant stay. Indeed, this is not a normal mass market hotel, but a very individualised home with cosy rooms with a lot of attention to detail. Maureen prepared wonderful breakfasts (and even if you leave early she will get up even earlier to prepare it for you). While we did not see any bears we did hear them during the night (it is not as scary as it sounds as they are quite shy). Also our children loved the kittens and cats. They also gave us very useful tips about what to do in the area. So if you like a cozy atmosphere and a love for detail and personal attention, you cannot go wrong here. But if you are travelling with children, contact them directly rather than though another website to ensure that they know how many people will be coming.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2010

have just spent 3 wonderful days at Log House Lodge - beautiful surroundings, fabulous food, incredible hostess, romantic bedroom, such attention to detail! We have travelled extensively in South Africa and Europe and cannot remember staying in a better place. Cannot wait to go back!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2010

We had a lovely stay in this B&B, the owners are very nice, the house is great, and very good location for the Sequoia Park.
The breakfast was excellent, and completely home made.
We were just surprised to find out we had to share the bathroom as this was not specified at the time of the booking

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2009

This is a very nice B&B that actually is as beautiful as it looks on the internet. We stayed in the High Sierra room and it was lovely. The hosts are so nice. They are both very friendly and accommodating. The breakfast is delicious and there is usually a treat at night too. The view from the deck is wonderful and we sat outside every night and enjoyed the silence. This is a great get-a-away from LA. It's close to lots of hiking trails and close to Sequoia Park. The bathroom is shared with one other room, but no one was there the 3 nights we stayed, so it was very private.
They also have a really cute and friendly little dog.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Log House Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Log House Lodge

Address: 42182 Mynatt Dr., Three Rivers, CA 93271
Location: United States > California > Three Rivers
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Three Rivers
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Log House Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the quaint village of Three Rivers California, this spectacular log house is your ultimate escape from the rigors of the 21st century. Just ten minutes from Sequoia National Park, five minutes from Lake Kaweah, and a mere stroll from the Kaweah River, your stay at the Log House Lodge puts you in the center of a laid-back atmosphere that’s perfect for relaxing or as a base for outdoor adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your The Log House Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Log House Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.