We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Billed as a great Steak place, and probably once was” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilltop Steak House - CLOSED

Hilltop Steak House
855 Broadway (Rte 1), Saugus, MA 01906-3296
(781) 324-9200
Improve this listing
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Williamstown, Australia
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Billed as a great Steak place, and probably once was”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

We were served by Betty who was a treasure, and while the restaurant was old and a little tired, it sort of added to it's charm - but the Steak just didn't add up to the promise.... A "rare to medium rare" came out as medium, but the quality of the steak was tough and chewy, nothing suggested the fine cut of meat I expect from a Steak house.
So, if you are staying at the Holiday Inn a short walk away, a good solid meal, but think diner quality of food.
Cheerio

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    22
    32
    30
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Maine, United States
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Old school place that doesn't dent your wallet”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We FINALLY stopped in to the Hilltop Steak House after driving by it for years and years on our way to Boston. Yes the place has been around for a long time so everything isn't brand new but overall we found the atmosphere to be just fine for dinner. I had a burger and she had the fish and chips. Both were fine, my burger probably being the better of the two plates. I would suggest going with meat if you dine here - that seems to be their specialty. We found the prices to be low, the service to be quick and the people to be friendly. It didn't change our lives but our meal was sufficient. We probably would not return and just try something else in the area but I'm glad we finally have Hilltop crossed off the bucket list!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durham, nh
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Definitely a faded gem!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Hilltop has been around for eons (or seems like it anyway), and has definitely seen better days. But it's still a fun place to go with a group. The food is consistent, which means it easily matches all the chain restaurants, but you won't be amazed by your dining experience. If you go with a hankering for steak and potatoes along with a big salad, you'll be pleased with the experience. Not great, but certainly not a bad meal either. Our waitress was awesome - a 14 year veteran of Hilltop, and loads of fun! My steak was good - cooked correctly, flavorful, decent cut and decently priced. The place could certainly use a makeover, but then it wouldn't be the Hilltop! Enjoy it for what it is - a faded but fun return to yester-year!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Always a great meal here!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I have been coming here for 20 years and we still love it. Although the portions are not as big as in the past, we love the food! Take a bottle of the house dressing home.. delicious!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Worst ever!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

the food was horrible! I ordered the lobster casserole. I got a 4 inch plate of lobster meat that was so tough, that cutting it was like trying to cut through a piece of old chuck steak! I left my cell phone in the car, otherwise, I would have taken a picture of the 5 inch meal that I received. Years ago, I had the lobster pie, it was scrumptous! Along with the meal came 10 green beans, no bread, no butter. The service was horrible. I had to ask for things several times in a row before I got them. $31.95 for 4 pieces of tough lobster meat (It was so tough that I wondered if it really was lobster) and 10 green beans. If you cant produce the same quality food, then the lobster pie should be taken off the menu. When I saw how tiny it was, i thought, "i am sure that this is going to wow my tastebuds for it to cost so much!" Boy was I dissapointed. The staff should know that for meals that cost over $30.00, make sure that you give bread and butter. If I had stuffed my face with bread and butter, I would not have felt so hungry and mad that the Hilltop took me to the cleaners. After that measly meal, I got in my car and went to Kelly's Roast beef and for $17.95 I had a clam dinner that was on the money! Hilltop management should walk over to Kelly's and hire some of the staff over to work for them. What a ripoff!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hilltop Steak House also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilltop Steak House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.